ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 09:51 PM   #1
bcguide OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Hudson's Hope BC
Oddometer: 39
Furnace help

I have installed a wood stove and now want to have my furnace fan run continusly to move the heat through the house
I belive this can be done with out using the thermosat.
my is a furnace American Standard Freedom 90 of 2003 vintage

Thanks
bcguide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:43 PM   #2
vwboomer
Buffoon
 
vwboomer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: WI
Oddometer: 9,273
dont know a thing about your furnace, but if you have a programmable thermostat, you can flip the switch to just run the blower. Bear in mind that not all furnaces are built for continuous running, but I should think yours is new enough it would be ok.

If you dont want to get a thermostat with the feature, you can probably jumper the terminals on your furnace board.
__________________
It's important to own a great adventure bike, and leave it in the garage because there's no time to adventure
vwboomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:25 AM   #3
bcguide OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Hudson's Hope BC
Oddometer: 39
I do not have programmable thermostat and have only 2 wires going to the thermostat. Jumpering the wires to make the fan run would be ok but I am away from home alot and would prefer to have the furnace set to so that the fan runs on low speed
but te furnace will still kick in when the wood stove is down.
bcguide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:50 AM   #4
slobinski
Inept adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Powell Butte, Oregon
Oddometer: 380
I did this in a house with a gas furnace once. Had to run a separate two-wire cable in parallel from the furnace's fan switch to a second (low voltage cooling) thermostat on the wall near the wood stove. This would run the fan separately as long as the wood stove was hot enough while leaving the original thermostat to operate the gas furnace as needed.
slobinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 07:32 AM   #5
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 11,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcguide View Post
I do not have programmable thermostat and have only 2 wires going to the thermostat.
I'd get some modern 5- or 7-wire cable and upgrade the thermostat. As long as the original wire isn't stapled down, you should be able to use it as a fish tape to pull the new cable. I was lucky and had to go only 4'.
troidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:33 AM   #6
bcguide OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Hudson's Hope BC
Oddometer: 39
The wires run through log a log wall and I don't want to chance mucking up a working system in the winter
Thanks for the ideas though
bcguide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:52 AM   #7
trailNtent
Gnarly Adventurer
 
trailNtent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Oddometer: 171
You need more than two wires to control the fan independent of the heat. For temporary you can just put a jumper with a switch across R and G at the furnace and switch it on when you want the fan.
trailNtent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:03 AM   #8
bcguide OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Hudson's Hope BC
Oddometer: 39
Just thinking the idea running 2 thermasts might be the best was. I am realy only tring to move the heat to to bottom floor. Ant ideas on how to wire this so that the furance will still work. Would I just use the G&R with a 2 wire thermmast
bcguide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:11 AM   #9
trailNtent
Gnarly Adventurer
 
trailNtent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Oddometer: 171
You can leave the existing thermostat as is. Two wires to the new location are all you need, you can use a thermostat, single pole switch, or a timer. Wire to R and G.
trailNtent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:15 AM   #10
bcguide OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Hudson's Hope BC
Oddometer: 39
Beauty thanks guys!
bcguide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014