ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Australia
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 03:46 AM   #1
Aussie Steve OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Aussie Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Maitland
Oddometer: 1,389
Blade circuit breakers

Anyone had any experience with these:-



Taken from website here:- http://www.narva.com.au/products/browse/blade-manual

Am going to be doing some rewiring on the bike and wanted to know if anyone had tried them in a similar enviroment and how they handled it?
Aussie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:07 AM   #2
DRjoe
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 5,019
Interesting.
How do you think there'd go with a bit of bull dust in them, they don't look sealed
DRjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:14 AM   #3
rvt
Big Fat Trail Bikes
 
rvt's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Western Australia
Oddometer: 983
no but...

Looks taller and heavier than a fuse. Might vibrate out, or not fit under a plastic fuse box cover.
Interesting though.
__________________
Cheers, RVT

This week's ride: http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...Vcz6Icqrhsbbpq
rvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:19 PM   #4
DMME
Old Fart, Older Bike
 
DMME's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Newcastle NSW, ('STRAYIA)
Oddometer: 278
Higher initial cost (over a fuse) but never cost again
Sealing may be a problem if "in the open" and as rvt says may not close the lid on the cover.
I doubt whether they'd vibrate out , but it is another consideration.
But really lets face it, how often does a fuse go now a days, unless you are "tinkering"
DMME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:37 PM   #5
JohnG.
Beastly Adventurer
 
JohnG.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Tumbarumba, NSW at the foot of the snowies
Oddometer: 1,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvt View Post
Looks taller and heavier than a fuse. Might vibrate out, or not fit under a plastic fuse box cover.
Interesting though.
You could squeeze the fuse holder contacts closer and or fit a Oring around them...but sounds great
__________________
JohnG.
JohnG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:47 PM   #6
JohnG.
Beastly Adventurer
 
JohnG.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Tumbarumba, NSW at the foot of the snowies
Oddometer: 1,940
Posted the link elsewhere...
Apparently,power surges can cause havoc with them and are not recommended as a main fuse...
__________________
JohnG.
JohnG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:53 PM   #7
ferals5
f5eral
 
ferals5's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Goulburn, Australia
Oddometer: 1,020
Been around for awhile... Volvo trucks come to mind and some plant.

I sometimes use some for fault finding instead of letting the smoke out

I've never bothered to use them as primaries , so can't help with the dusty enviro use
ferals5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:39 PM   #8
neilaction
Slightly Less Adventurous
 
neilaction's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Perth, WA.
Oddometer: 6,819
Handy but?

Plus 1 ^

Maybe carry 1 or 2 with you but I wouldn't replace all my fuses with them.

If you do have a problem that is blowing a fuse, one of these would be very handy while you're trying to fix it. But how often do you really blow a fuse? I do get angry from time to time.......
__________________
If it can't be fixed with a hammer, its probably electrical.
2009 Honda CBF1000, 1980 Suzuki GS1000ST (Aus spec), Dr6fiddy,
neilaction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:50 PM   #9
rvt
Big Fat Trail Bikes
 
rvt's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Western Australia
Oddometer: 983
Good point

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilaction View Post
Plus 1 ^

Maybe carry 1 or 2 with you but I wouldn't replace all my fuses with them.

If you do have a problem that is blowing a fuse, one of these would be very handy while you're trying to fix it. But how often do you really blow a fuse? I do get angry from time to time.......
We went through all our spares out in the boonies on Cape York, with an intermittent short in a drz. A circuit breaker would have been handy there.
__________________
Cheers, RVT

This week's ride: http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...Vcz6Icqrhsbbpq
rvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:53 AM   #10
Aussie Steve OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Aussie Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Maitland
Oddometer: 1,389
Thanks for the info.

If they have issues with power surges then probably not worth the hassle of finding out how they handle vibrations, dust etc.
Aussie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014