ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 06:12 AM   #16
achesley OP
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post


There is a thread in here somewhere of someone fixing their LCD.

I've disassembled my 376c to replace the battery. There is a picture in this thread 2

I don't remember the exact connector, but I thought it was the flip up kind. I think I knocked it loose when working on the battery, but I could be mistaken. Whichever connector I did knock loose, I just flipped up, inserted the cable, then flipped back down again. Didn't have any problems.
Thanks for the url, I have it book marked for the future ;-)
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 39,000 miles, A '07 1250S 77,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 76,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 08:58 AM   #17
drewjb7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drewjb7's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: MA wishing I was in VT
Oddometer: 136
276C problems

One other possibility: I don't remember the exact error message I got but unit would shut itself down repeatedly. Turned out to be a bad data card. Easy to check out if you have a card you know is good. (This was on a 376C).

Drew


Quote:
Originally Posted by achesley View Post
Problem happen as I just saved track file. Unit went blank and has " Software Missing " on screen. Tried taking batt off and reattaching, turning it off and on a few times. 'When I push the power button it sounds a little tone and the message " Software Missing " shows , then , blank.
Any suggestions?
__________________
"You're confusing me with someone who gives a sh*t." - bad guy in "Kickass"
Ride report: Orange in the Greens
Web:http://dbanton77.wix.com/industrialstrengthpr#
Blog:http://theindustrialstrengthpress.wordpress.com/
drewjb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:13 AM   #18
achesley OP
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,428
The return message I received from Garmin yesterday.

Dear Andrus Chesley,


Thank you for contacting Garmin International.


You have done all the troubleshooting available for the device. Unfortunately, there is nothing left we can do. We can no longer repair the GPSMAP 276C due to a lack of parts. Please consider replacing it with another Garmin device. Here is a link to our current lineup: https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=147


With Best Regards,


Christopher Bl.

Product Support Specialist

Marine

Garmin International

913-397-8200

800-800-1020

913-440-8280 (fax) Att: Christopher Bl., Associate #5842

www.garmin.com


Additional solutions may be found at http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/sit.../searchsupport


I'll just keep it for parts.
And, think Montana in the furture . Darn I llked having a unit for each bike that I didn't have to swap when I got off one and on the other. ;-(
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 39,000 miles, A '07 1250S 77,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 76,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:31 AM   #19
Tim
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Oddometer: 2,358
I had a very similar (if not the same) message when I contacted Garmin Europe about getting my 276 fixed, seems like Garmin have turned their backs on the *76 range.
__________________
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying........."Damn..We F*cked Up" - Anon.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:07 AM   #20
achesley OP
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,428
Well heck. Was reading about reloading software in Garmin's website and it sent me to the same EXE program that Mark Big Dog had suggested to me several days back. I had attempted a few times to load the software and it looked like it went into the unit but nothing changed. So, went and got the unit out of the shop and plugged it back into the computer. Hot booted it and had one of the same messages on the screen " Charging Software Missing " this time. So , went ahead and left it on that and run the EXE file Mark had suggested and Garmin suggested again.
Well Hells Bells, It downloaded and the screen come to life. Looking for sats. Woopie! Took it outside and set it on a trashcan and let it work. Finally found it's self and loaded the map and updated it's self with correct time and date and switched to daylight mode. Hmmmmmmm. Rolled KLR out and plugged unit into it. Went ahead and turn the unit off and the " Battery Charged " message came up. Yea!! Turned the unit back on. Booted right up. Deleted data on data screen and it cleared all to zero. Back to the Map page. Turn Unit off again. Waited about 2 mins and turn back on again. Booted right up. Left it hooked up to the KLR outside where it can see the sats and turned it off. Still showing " Battery Charged " with picture on it.
So, that's were we stand now with that unit.
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 39,000 miles, A '07 1250S 77,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 76,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:46 AM   #21
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,876
Glad you made progress. Hopefully it continues working for you.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:19 PM   #22
achesley OP
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
Glad you made progress. Hopefully it continues working for you.
Thanks Dave,
I can't believe these things are still drawing pretty good money on Ebay. I'll just run my two 276c units till they die then probably go Montana unless they comeout with something better in the same price range.
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 39,000 miles, A '07 1250S 77,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 76,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:57 AM   #23
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by achesley View Post
Thanks Dave,
I can't believe these things are still drawing pretty good money on Ebay. I'll just run my two 276c units till they die then probably go Montana unless they comeout with something better in the same price range.
Yep. And the reason they draw $$ is because they are so useful. Lots of fans out there who prefer buttons to touch screens.

When my 376c dies, I will probably go for a 665 Zumo, but I hope that is a long way off.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:37 PM   #24
achesley OP
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,428
I had a 550 Zumo for a bit. Really didn't like how it worked. It finally broke and I sent it to Garmin for a replacement and when I got that in, made sure it worked and sold it. Just too spoiled to the *76 series.
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 39,000 miles, A '07 1250S 77,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 76,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:54 PM   #25
achesley OP
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,428
Well, that didn't last long. Unit worked good for about 4 runs and downloading track file when getting back home. 3 days ago, I got Mapsource up and running and plug the 276C I'd had problems with in and turn it on. SOFTWARE MISSING greeted me. sigh! I turn the unit off and unpluged it from the USB. Turned it on and it came on. Plugged it back in and downloaded the track file for the day and shut it off after unplugging it first. Yesterday, took off on the KLR , unit on and working fine. Just did take it off the KLR and bought it in to the room to download yesterdays tracks. SOFTWARE MISSING greets me. Hot boot won't even work. Tried loading the same file that had got me back working last time. Nothing. Took it to the bike and plugged it in to 12.5 volts, Nothing. Oh Well. Now, it's back in the parts mode again. LOL! Guess I'd best start learning how to use a Montana if the other goes out.
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 39,000 miles, A '07 1250S 77,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 76,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:01 PM   #26
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 15,388
Have you seen this PAGE?

I had to do the Master Reset and the Restore before on mine. After doing so, in each instance the unit worked again. It may not be applicable to your problem. But it may help the unit from being an expensive paper weight.
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 05:47 AM   #27
achesley OP
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,428
Well Heck Charlie,
After reading your post, I went to the web site. Held the unit in the Power .. Enter mode for about a minute. Nothing but a Software Missing message. Turned it off. Then, did the reboot again. Power ... Quit . Dang thing came on with the " User Data Delete Yes or No screen. Said no and it come on. Oh Well, Did get to download track file and erase trip computer and track file from it. Turned it off and will try it again later today in the truck.
Thanks for convincing me to try it again. I tried the reboot about a dozen times a few days ago with nothing happening.
Andy Chesley
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 39,000 miles, A '07 1250S 77,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 76,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014