ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 12:00 PM   #1
GaM OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
GaM's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Oddometer: 1,877
Do Topo 24K (DVD)maps lock to one GPS?

I'm waiting for my Montana to get here, I have already received my maps and cradle. I have an etrex legend Cx that just has the base map. Somewhere I got the idea that the 24K Topo maps on DVD did not lock to one GPS; you can put it on more than one GPS. I haven't loaded the 24K Topo or the City Navigator onto the computer yet, I've been waiting for the Montana to get here. I'm worried about one of those Garmin "gotchas"- Like "Oh you put that topo on the Extrex? Well, you have to buy it again for the Montana." So if I install basecamp and put the Topo 24K on the Etrex, can I still put in on the Montana?
__________________
Something hidden. Go and find it. Go and look behind the Ranges - Something lost behind the Ranges. Lost and waiting for you. Go!
GaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:28 PM   #2
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
From the Garmin site (didn't trust my memory):

DVD/CD: Maps purchased in this format will require a computer to use but they will allow you to plan trips on your computer, print and transfer waypoints, routes and tracks to your GPS device2. The installation process will install the mapping and the MapSource or BaseCamp application to your computer. MapSource or BaseCamp can then be used to send maps to either your device or a blank datacard since most devices will not hold all of the data on the device. Please note that most mapping products in this format are unlocked to a single device and they are non-transferable. City Navigator maps in this format can be updated by purchasing a map update, when available

End quote.

RED and LARGER font my doing.

Some of their older products used to be unlocked.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:05 PM   #3
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaM View Post
I'm waiting for my Montana to get here, I have already received my maps and cradle. I have an etrex legend Cx that just has the base map. Somewhere I got the idea that the 24K Topo maps on DVD did not lock to one GPS; you can put it on more than one GPS. I haven't loaded the 24K Topo or the City Navigator onto the computer yet, I've been waiting for the Montana to get here. I'm worried about one of those Garmin "gotchas"- Like "Oh you put that topo on the Extrex? Well, you have to buy it again for the Montana." So if I install basecamp and put the Topo 24K on the Etrex, can I still put in on the Montana?
I think the 24K US Topos are not locked to one gps. I don't have them here, but I have read on a forum I trust the following: "The 24k topo's are not locked on DVD, so you could install on more than one GPS if desired."

This is the thread I read it in: http://forums.gpsreview.net/viewtopic.php?t=23796

I know for a fact that Canada Topo V4, the most recent Garmin topo for Canada, is not locked. I do own that one.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:19 PM   #4
GaM OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
GaM's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Oddometer: 1,877
I'll just wait and put it on the Montana first and then try to put it on the etrex.
__________________
Something hidden. Go and find it. Go and look behind the Ranges - Something lost behind the Ranges. Lost and waiting for you. Go!
GaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 06:03 PM   #5
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
That would be my choice too in this situation.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:20 PM   #6
RxZ
Legal Drug Dealer
 
RxZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Tyler, TX
Oddometer: 1,801
An uncle of mine had the topo24 maps for the western US, and he shared the DVD with myself and my father in law. It works fine on all three PCs and multiple GPS units

Unless they have locked it down recently. This was about 5 years ago when we tried while on a hiking trip out west.
__________________
2002 Yamaha FZ1
RxZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:31 PM   #7
mpatch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: N Colorado
Oddometer: 795
Nope the DVD TOPO maps arent unit locked but the City Nav DVD maps are. I have all of the 24k topos and can put them on any Garmin unit that will suppport them.
mpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:07 PM   #8
GaM OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
GaM's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Oddometer: 1,877
Yep, went on both without a problem, basecamp even updated the firmware on the extrex.
__________________
Something hidden. Go and find it. Go and look behind the Ranges - Something lost behind the Ranges. Lost and waiting for you. Go!
GaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014