ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > The Rockies It's all downhill from here...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 08:34 AM   #1
clang OP
Not lost, Exploring!
 
clang's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver/Aspen
Oddometer: 2,772
Anyone with 03 -07 Dodge Cummins in FTC or NoCo

I have a 2004.5 Ram 2500, heavily modded. I have a Smarty programmer that is throwing a connection error - can't communicate with the ECM. Truck runs great, no issues or codes, the ECM tests out fine, the Smarty just won't communicate with the control module.

I'm trying to figure out if it is my Smarty or something to do with all the mods on the truck. I would like to connect it to another truck to see if it can communicate with the ECM. That will at least tell me if the programmer has issues, or my truck is the issue.

I would need a truck running the OEM program.

Thanks

9 Seven 0 three 72 one 33 one
__________________
Sometimes it takes a whole tank full of fuel before you can think straight.
Ride for the soul!
'06 R12GS '92 R100GS '73 R75 /5 '01 F650GS
clang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:53 AM   #2
mtnbkrmatt
Adventurer
 
mtnbkrmatt's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Gunnison, CO
Oddometer: 40
I've got an 03, but I'm in gunnison. Double check all your fuses.
mtnbkrmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:57 AM   #3
clang OP
Not lost, Exploring!
 
clang's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver/Aspen
Oddometer: 2,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnbkrmatt View Post
I've got an 03, but I'm in gunnison. Double check all your fuses.
Thanks for the suggestion. I've been through the whole IPM, checked every fuse and relay, and cleaned every contact. Checked the wiring harnesses (did find two wires that had abraded areas and exposed copper, which helped fix an unrelated issue with the tranny).
__________________
Sometimes it takes a whole tank full of fuel before you can think straight.
Ride for the soul!
'06 R12GS '92 R100GS '73 R75 /5 '01 F650GS
clang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:46 AM   #4
mtnbkrmatt
Adventurer
 
mtnbkrmatt's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Gunnison, CO
Oddometer: 40
I figured you had, but thought I'd mention it. I worked on an 06 1500 once. It had blown a fuse, so the owner pulled the fuse labeled "spare" and stuck it where the blown one was. Then the radio wouldn't work. Turned out the radio ran through the spare fuse.
mtnbkrmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:50 AM   #5
jjustj
cum petris et choris
 
jjustj's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: 9157 ft Dillon CO
Oddometer: 5,321
2005 here 2500 bone stock

i get down to boulder and ft fun once a month or so what kind of time would that take?
__________________
Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime. Mark Twain
RIDE STEALTH,



http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=348508
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=489958 Sunday worship, a strap-on, and Does this water taste funny?
jjustj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:00 AM   #6
clang OP
Not lost, Exploring!
 
clang's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver/Aspen
Oddometer: 2,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjustj View Post
i get down to boulder and ft fun once a month or so what kind of time would that take?
About 10 minutes. I need to connect the Smarty to the OBD2 port and see if it will connect to the ECM. We don't need to change anything, just see if it will connect.
__________________
Sometimes it takes a whole tank full of fuel before you can think straight.
Ride for the soul!
'06 R12GS '92 R100GS '73 R75 /5 '01 F650GS
clang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:23 AM   #7
SaharaJp99
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Nunn
Oddometer: 633
Find a dealership with a used one and take it for a test drive!
SaharaJp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:34 AM   #8
_cy_
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by clang View Post
I have a 2004.5 Ram 2500, heavily modded. I have a Smarty programmer that is throwing a connection error - can't communicate with the ECM. Truck runs great, no issues or codes, the ECM tests out fine, the Smarty just won't communicate with the control module.

I'm trying to figure out if it is my Smarty or something to do with all the mods on the truck. I would like to connect it to another truck to see if it can communicate with the ECM. That will at least tell me if the programmer has issues, or my truck is the issue.

I would need a truck running the OEM program.

Thanks

9 Seven 0 three 72 one 33 one
you need to speak to Smarty's customer service. there's a possibility, how ever small of screwing up another truck's electronics.
_cy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:37 AM   #9
clang OP
Not lost, Exploring!
 
clang's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver/Aspen
Oddometer: 2,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by _cy_ View Post
you need to speak to Smarty's customer service. there's a possibility, how ever small of screwing up another truck's electronics.
It was the Smarty dealer that asked me to try it on another truck before sending it back to them.......
__________________
Sometimes it takes a whole tank full of fuel before you can think straight.
Ride for the soul!
'06 R12GS '92 R100GS '73 R75 /5 '01 F650GS

clang screwed with this post 01-30-2013 at 10:53 AM
clang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:34 PM   #10
_cy_
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by clang View Post
It was the Smarty dealer that asked me to try it on another truck before sending it back to them.......
talk to tech support at Smarty manufacturer .... not the dealer.
_cy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:59 PM   #11
thump_co
..ouch
 
thump_co's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: 8532'
Oddometer: 1,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by _cy_ View Post
you need to speak to Smarty's customer service. there's a possibility, how ever small of screwing up another truck's electronics.
That would be a really nasty bug. A decent programmer should have to get an error code free connection before they'll even read settings, and then will only write after doing a backup of the OEM fw and multiple confirmation prompts and key cycling.
__________________
Ride

AMA | COHVCO | Stay The Trail | BRC | TPA | BCTR | NCTR
thump_co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:57 AM   #12
clang OP
Not lost, Exploring!
 
clang's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver/Aspen
Oddometer: 2,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by thump_co View Post
That would be a really nasty bug. A decent programmer should have to get an error code free connection before they'll even read settings, and then will only write after doing a backup of the OEM fw and multiple confirmation prompts and key cycling.
This is the way the Smarty works. It first attempts to talk to the ECM on the truck. If it can, and it's not VIN locked to another vehicle it asks you what you want to do. It does nothing without many button presses and confirmations from the user.

At this point it can't seem to talk to the ECM on my truck. It throws a comm error that Smarty is telling me indicates the unit either can't talk to the ECM, or other electronic signals are interrupting the communication (or the unit is bad). My ECM is good. I have had it tested, and like I said the truck runs like a champ, no codes and no warning lights.

What I am wanting to do is just see if it can successfully communicate with the ECM on another truck. Mine is currently running the stock program, so the unit is not locked to my truck.

These are great programmers, I have had a couple for various year trucks, but they are known to have trouble connecting to 2004.5 and 2005 trucks. It has something to do with the way the ABS system communicates with the ECM, and disrupts the communication to the programmer. Any mods to the truck, like aftermarket fuel pumps, transmission control modules etc can make the problem worse. My truck has all of these.

If it works fine on another truck, I'm just going to wire a second minimal OBD2 port to the ECM specifically for the programmer.
__________________
Sometimes it takes a whole tank full of fuel before you can think straight.
Ride for the soul!
'06 R12GS '92 R100GS '73 R75 /5 '01 F650GS
clang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:25 PM   #13
LostAussie
Growing Old, Not Up!
 
LostAussie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Oddometer: 535
I have a stock 03 in Johnstown.
LostAussie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:57 AM   #14
clang OP
Not lost, Exploring!
 
clang's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver/Aspen
Oddometer: 2,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by LostAussie View Post
I have a stock 03 in Johnstown.
Is there a time this weekend I could swing by and give this a test?

You can call me any time.

9 Seven 0 three 72 one 33 one

Thanks
__________________
Sometimes it takes a whole tank full of fuel before you can think straight.
Ride for the soul!
'06 R12GS '92 R100GS '73 R75 /5 '01 F650GS
clang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:47 PM   #15
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,406
so?
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Cycle World Adventure Rally:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=956350
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014