ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 06:47 AM   #1
RoundOz OP
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 984
OBD2 scanning

How OBD2 compliant is the 990 ECU? Can you safely plug a scanner into the adapter cable (half of Powercells TuneEcu cable) and read codes etc?
It's the "etc" part I am interested in. I have heard about pulling real time analogs out of the ECU using an OBD2 Bluetooth adaptor to an android smartphone, but would like to hear from someone who has done it.

What about running TuneEcu via Bluetooth?
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:49 AM   #2
LocuL
Gnarly Infantry
 
LocuL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Denmark - Jutland
Oddometer: 1,242
Ive thought alot of doing the stuff. It should be doable vvith the "tourke" app. You can pull a lot of information vvith this.
__________________
KTM 950(1190) Adv-s, Soon to be Project 1190
KTM 530 EXC-R 08
LocuL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:05 PM   #3
RoundOz OP
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 984
Yes

I have the Torque app (free for the basic version) and a Bluetooth dongle that was around $23 and it is one of the best uses for a smart phone I have ever seen. Instant analogs and logging of many different parameters on my truck. It will even access the phones accelerometers and gps to do simulated dyno runs and economy trip runs with logged location points. I have only tried it on a vehicle equipped with a standard OBD2 plug so far, and am a bit leery of frying something on the bike that does not come from the factory that way.
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:18 AM   #4
RoundOz OP
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 984
Bump

itty-bump
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:24 PM   #5
pdxmotorhead
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 698
OBD ,, OBDII, III, OBDIV are all basically CAN bus. Its low voltage serial communications.. They share common set of commands and structures, with each vehicle vendor layering their own "stuff" on top. If you rusing the USB probe off a laptop, any risk is miniscule. (Not enough current to damage anything.) and there are a bunch of proprietary codes for each vendors ECU required to write data. (Its the part people have to reverse engineer to program ecu's with write capability) if its OBD* usually there are a few standard read commands that puke out the standard required data from the ecu to meet the OBD smog reporting requirements.

Hope this helps on the research side.. :)

Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:43 PM   #6
RoundOz OP
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 984
Thanks Dave, it sounds like the risk is zero if using a Bluetooth adaptor then...any voltage present will be coming from the ECU, and the pinouts on a system that has a standard should be standard, right? ( he says, hopefully)
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 07:25 AM   #7
Kafn8td
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Oddometer: 169
Interesting. I think I'm going to order one up and give it a try.
Kafn8td is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 05:19 PM   #8
pdxmotorhead
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 698
There is a LOT of info out on the web on how CAN buss works,,, and gives the voltage specs etc.. MOst USB ports cant provide much in the way of current, and the OBD2 gadget is not going to pass anything out off spec unless its a really bad one..

Have fun..

Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:52 AM   #9
RoundOz OP
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 984
Still no definitive answers to this, other than a few comments on other threads that it does not work on a 990. I have been a little busy to try it myself. Maybe the TuneEcu cable does not bring out all connections?
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:09 AM   #10
BykBoy
Meshuganeh
 
BykBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Reston, VA
Oddometer: 542
I got the $23 OBDII Bluetooth scan tool and the free Tourqe app for Android. I connected the OBDII BT to my 2011 KTM 990 and it looked like it was connected. The Tourqe app was able to communicate with the OBDII BT, but did not "understand" the KTM codes. The Tourqe app did not display any engine info.

If anyone figures out how to make it work, please let me know.
__________________
Save $5 when you open a SmugMug account. Use the following coupon: 4l1hicJzWvYNE
BykBoy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:48 AM   #11
LocuL
Gnarly Infantry
 
LocuL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Denmark - Jutland
Oddometer: 1,242
Maybe you could get in touch with the developers of the app. When my project runs I would like this to.
__________________
KTM 950(1190) Adv-s, Soon to be Project 1190
KTM 530 EXC-R 08
LocuL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 12:29 PM   #12
hubrus
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by BykBoy View Post
I got the $23 OBDII Bluetooth scan tool and the free Tourqe app for Android. I connected the OBDII BT to my 2011 KTM 990 and it looked like it was connected. The Tourqe app was able to communicate with the OBDII BT, but did not "understand" the KTM codes. The Tourqe app did not display any engine info.

If anyone figures out how to make it work, please let me know.

This thread is over a year old, but just perhaps you still interested to know, check it out:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=966994
hubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 08:46 AM   #13
hutch990r
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Location: Lyman, ME
Oddometer: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubrus View Post
This thread is over a year old, but just perhaps you still interested to know, check it out:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=966994

That is actually a pretty recent thread (started on 4/3/2014) . the APP is free and funtions very well. Pretty much a torque App specific for KTM. I was impressed
hutch990r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014