ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Australia
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 05:22 AM   #346
DRjoe
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 5,023


Yes Podge but I'm only playing with them for a friend.
DRjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:03 PM   #347
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRjoe View Post
I recently pulled all the restrictors out if the exhaust and opened up the filter cage.
To get some more fuel down its gut I fitted a bazzaz z-fi fuel controller.

The bikes been geared up 2 teeth on the front and it was a bit dead but now the restrictors are pulled out and the mapping done it goes like stink.

The 12t front sprocket allows the rider to keep up with the big bikes on the transport sections (130kph easily doable) yet it wil still idle along in first gear at walking pace without any threat of stalling.

It's a great motor and gearbox.
DrJoe, please tell me more about the bazzaz z-fi, where from?, how much? I'm desperate to get my fueling right.
Do you have to get them fitted and tuned on a dyno ?

One67 screwed with this post 01-22-2013 at 11:24 PM Reason: more info
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:13 AM   #348
DRjoe
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 5,023
read through this site for more info
http://www.bazzaz.net/index.php/fuel...uel-controller

I bought it from ktmtwins.com

I bought and used the bazzaz z-afm to tune the bike by riding it but If you want you can just get it tuned on the dyno like any other ecu withput having to use the zafm.
DRjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:27 AM   #349
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
OK, I'm very interested, when you connect the Z-fi and the Z-afm and ride the bike ,

Does it make a record of the mixture at all revs and throttle openings, which you can upload onto your laptop and then change the figures to create your own map with the right mixtures ?
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:49 AM   #350
DRjoe
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 5,023
Yes.
You give the afm a target air file ratio and it will work out how much fuel it needs to add or takeaway from the stock map, you then retrieve the data and apply the changes.

You can edit any part of the map manually and there is an option to smooth out the map after you've made changes.
DRjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:02 AM   #351
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
OK, that sounds easy enough. I've used tuning software to upload different maps onto my Superduke, but never made my own map.

On Superduke.net guys who get custom maps made upload then onto the forum as a hex file, so that others with the same mods can use them by way of the tunecu mapping software.

I've just been looking at the Z-fi and can't find one for the Freeride, the closest one is for the EXC-F 350 which I'm sure has a completely different map to the Freeride.
Apparently you can change the map with the Z-fi and a laptop without the need for the Z-afm, is this right ?
Which one did you buy ?

One67 screwed with this post 01-23-2013 at 05:21 AM Reason: More info
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:40 AM   #352
DRjoe
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 5,023
Yes you do not need the zafm to change the map but unless you've got a dyno or AF meter it might be a bit hard to build an accurate map.

I used the 350exc unit, the bike runs well enough on the map provided to start setting up custom maps.

I had to change where the unit gets its power from but other than that it was plug and play.
The US 350's have some extra plug that they take power off that aus models dont have, there changing the harnes to suit the Australian models so it might be an idea to order the unit directly off bazzaz so that they know its going to aus
DRjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:22 PM   #353
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
Ok, thanks for that Joe, I think I'll get the Z-fi and take it to a dyno to get a map done properly, because I haven't done it before.
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:24 PM   #354
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
Hey Drjoe, I've just sent you a pm.
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 05:06 AM   #355
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
Just got my Freeride back from the dyno tuner and it feels so much better.

With the original map I could feel that it was lean with the pre filter off and gauze removed from the mufflers.
It was actually dangerously lean, 15 to 20% extra fuel had to be added in the low rev range, up to 5000rpm.
From 5000rpm upwards it got really bad ,and up to 50% extra fuel had to be added to get it up to a safe level.

When I picked up my bike new ,the dealer told me that they had just put in a new map that KTM had sent them.
My dyno tech told me that even with the filter box and gauze, it would have been too lean.
I don't know if the dealer techs stuffed up and put the wrong map on my bike (they would never admit it) but they are still telling freeride owners that it's ok to remove the pre filter.

Anyway here's the results of the custom re-map (fuel only, ignition map untouched)

Power 36bhp at the wheel

Torque 25 ft-lbs @7000rpm, 21ft-lbs @5000rpm
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:10 AM   #356
blakken
dirt napper
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: north sweden
Oddometer: 55
Holy moses:)
Thats god.
Tell us more on the feling off drive it after the remap.

Skickat från min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk 2
__________________
http://alvsbygrusspratters.blogspot.se/
2013 350 freeride
2011 990 adv r
2011 690 enduro r
2010 990 adv abs
blakken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:43 AM   #357
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
I only took it for a small ride today, but the engine feels so much smoother and easier to rev.

I do love the way this bike handles.

another thing I forgot to mention was that I used a die grinder to cut big holes in the plastic thing inside the foam filter before it went on the dyno.
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 04:17 AM   #358
blakken
dirt napper
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: north sweden
Oddometer: 55
Ok i get it!
My wife has one and i like the litle thing.
I have a 990 adv r and a 690 enduro r.
I think off trade the 690 to a freeride.
Becuse 990 and 690 ar too similar.

But i think the freeride engine was litle week.....until now :)
I tink the 990 and freeride would match etcather better. 690 is litle havy in hard terrian

Skickat från min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk 2
__________________
http://alvsbygrusspratters.blogspot.se/
2013 350 freeride
2011 990 adv r
2011 690 enduro r
2010 990 adv abs
blakken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 05:40 AM   #359
One67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
One67's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Manly West, Brisbane
Oddometer: 106
I'm the same, I have a 990 Superduke and the Freeride, life is good
One67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 06:14 AM   #360
blakken
dirt napper
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: north sweden
Oddometer: 55
Did you change the gearing on the freeride.
If it could go faster and still pull on low speed i would pull off a deal.

Skickat från min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk 2
__________________
http://alvsbygrusspratters.blogspot.se/
2013 350 freeride
2011 990 adv r
2011 690 enduro r
2010 990 adv abs
blakken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014