ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 10:01 PM   #73531
1989THEARK
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1989THEARK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Moreno Valley Ca
Oddometer: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob.G View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob.G View Post
Yep that'd be a problem. Not to start a war, but ever consider an iPhone?

Reason is, the Android phones change so frequently that there is little motivation for case companies to make GOOD cases for 'em... no way they would ever sell enough of them to justify the R&D.

I have the Lifeproof case on my iPhone 4S (and there's an iPhone 5 version too)... it does everything you want. There's even a native handlebar mount, though it doesn't attempt power input. If you want that, there's a real nice semi-generic RAM mount that I've seen people use.

http://www.lifeproof.com/en/

Rob

Flame war activate.

although i hear what your saying. the simple answer is no.

i actually have an S4.
BUT its no longer a phone

its currently running ubuntu and i use it for many things im not going to mention.

impossible you say?'

........almost

its really slow and jittery
1989THEARK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:05 PM   #73532
rpet
Awesometown
 
rpet's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, California
Oddometer: 809
Not sure why you need Ubuntu on your handlebars, but good luck with that.
__________________
'76 Xl250 '04 XR250R '09 DR650 '10 TR450
Ride The West - OBDR, CDR & western TAT - July 2013
Instagram with plenty of bike pics.
Read my homie's underway Africa trip RR - Round Africa with a Surboard
WTB: Clarke tank for DR650 for cheap - any color but blue.
rpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:08 PM   #73533
1989THEARK
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1989THEARK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Moreno Valley Ca
Oddometer: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpet View Post
Not sure why you need Ubuntu on your handlebars, but good luck with that.
i dont.

I need my phone,gps,music player on my bars. (EVO LTE)

suggestions?

or just sarcastic replies?
1989THEARK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:12 PM   #73534
1989THEARK
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1989THEARK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Moreno Valley Ca
Oddometer: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisTech View Post
Going to require some work for wiring but I'm going to try one of these, AQUA BOX. There are a few different sizes and it's from Ram Mounts so it is mountable.

I contacted REVZILA about needing a phone solution for my bars and that is exactly what they suggested.

im seriously tempted to get it. I just dont like the non waterproof whole the wires have to go through.
BUT i could probably run my pre determined wires through it and seal it up with silicone

solving my water problem.

BUT how much water can this thing handle.

are we talking a full downpour at freeway speeds or just foggy weather or just a light drizzle.

if you get it please let me know how it worked for you.

I actually might order it myself

and i'll PM you with my experience
1989THEARK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:13 PM   #73535
TRAVELGUY
Old Traveler
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Georgetown, In / Costa Rica
Oddometer: 615
I tried a AQUA BOX a few years ago for a GPS. Was difficult to view screen or use touch commands.

TravelGuy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisTech View Post
Going to require some work for wiring but I'm going to try one of these, AQUA BOX. There are a few different sizes and it's from Ram Mounts so it is mountable.
__________________
TRAVELGUY
DL1000 '05 black
DL 650 '06 Red
DR650 '07
.

TRAVELGUY screwed with this post 02-07-2013 at 11:09 PM Reason: spelling
TRAVELGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:18 PM   #73536
1989THEARK
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1989THEARK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Moreno Valley Ca
Oddometer: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRAVELGUY View Post
I tired a AQUA BOX a few years ago for a GPS. Was difficult to view screen or use touch commands.

TravelGuy
what made it difficult to view the screen?

glare?
clarity?
etc etc

was it difficult to operate with gloves or without gloves?
1989THEARK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:31 PM   #73537
falcore
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: perth, western australia
Oddometer: 10
cyclegadgets have a range of mounts an cases that might suit for you to have a look at

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk 2
__________________
here for a good time
falcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:38 PM   #73538
1989THEARK
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1989THEARK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Moreno Valley Ca
Oddometer: 280
Cry

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcore View Post
cyclegadgets have a range of mounts an cases that might suit for you to have a look at

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk 2
they have bin shut down since early 2011
1989THEARK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:03 PM   #73539
DisTech
Studly Adventurer
 
DisTech's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1989THEARK View Post
I contacted REVZILA about needing a phone solution for my bars and that is exactly what they suggested.

im seriously tempted to get it. I just dont like the non waterproof whole the wires have to go through.
BUT i could probably run my pre determined wires through it and seal it up with silicone

solving my water problem.

BUT how much water can this thing handle.

are we talking a full downpour at freeway speeds or just foggy weather or just a light drizzle.

if you get it please let me know how it worked for you.

I actually might order it myself

and i'll PM you with my experience
I have one already, haven't mounted or wired it yet though. The construction leads me to believe it is water proof.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRAVELGUY
I tired a AQUA BOX a few years ago for a GPS. Was difficult to view screen or use touch commands.
The flexible screen that you operate the touch screen through probably does reduce sensitivity (ha!) but I'm not planning on using this as my main gps. Secondary gps, phone and music (maybe). Hoping for reduced need to interact with it. With my phone plugged in the full power screen is pretty bright so I think I will be able to see it. Have to see if I just end up confirming TG's findings.
__________________
DisTech - Suzuki (1993 DR350S & 1994 DR350, 1996 DR650/DR790), BMW (1999 R1100GS)
DisTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 01:24 AM   #73540
N.dica
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 109
Some DR parts listed in the flea market if anyone wants to farkle it up with stock gear. wooooot!
N.dica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 03:27 AM   #73541
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,125
I use a Sony Ericsson Xperia Active with a SportyPal bar mount.

Should be robust enough.
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 03:38 AM   #73542
falcore
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: perth, western australia
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1989THEARK View Post
they have bin shut down since early 2011
Oh crap. Well there you go

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
here for a good time
falcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 07:00 AM   #73543
neo1piv014
ADV in training
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by NordieBoy View Post
I use a Sony Ericsson Xperia Active with a SportyPal bar mount.

Should be robust enough.
Wasn't the Xperia Active already water proof and such?
__________________
_________________________
Ride videos
'01 DR650
"The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks."
neo1piv014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:37 AM   #73544
1989THEARK
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1989THEARK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Moreno Valley Ca
Oddometer: 280
Talking BIg Favor

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisTech View Post
I have one already, haven't mounted or wired it yet though. The construction leads me to believe it is water proof.


The flexible screen that you operate the touch screen through probably does reduce sensitivity (ha!) but I'm not planning on using this as my main gps. Secondary gps, phone and music (maybe). Hoping for reduced need to interact with it. With my phone plugged in the full power screen is pretty bright so I think I will be able to see it. Have to see if I just end up confirming TG's findings.

If you already have the case i have a favor to ask. Possibly a HUGE favor to ask.

Could you get the case put some paper towels in it and run some water over it for a few minutes while rotating. To make sure water doesn't get in.
this works for both of us. Ensuring that NO water gets in.. If it keeps water out without the back punched out. Then after i run wires through it i can silicone it sealed and it would be the same as if i never removed the back.
1989THEARK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:43 AM   #73545
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisTech View Post
Going to require some work for wiring but I'm going to try one of these, AQUA BOX. There are a few different sizes and it's from Ram Mounts so it is mountable.
I had two sizes of the RAM Aqua boxes and I hated them. They were too big and heavy for what they were and electronics inside the boxes heated up far more than they should be run at. And it wasn't even that hot on the days I tried.

This was the Aqua box with a Garmin 295W I had at the time.



And this is the Arkon box I also bought to try, and also hated. I had the 295W in it to show the relative sizes of things. This shot shows how the case is made.



Granted, the Aqua boxes were fairly waterproof when used with the baffled cable entry point under the box.

But I wouldn't waste any money on either one. Just happy I was able to get rid of them.

A good baggie with a RAM mount would be just as useful, IMHO.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 02-08-2013 at 09:51 AM
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014