ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2013, 01:23 PM   #1
mxdreaming OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 13
XRR electrical gremlins in spanaway

might be in the wrong forum my apologies in advance, kinda had a hard time figuring where it would go with all the whimsical names gaven to them. on saturday i decided to get around to upgrading the stator (got sick of casting a motorcycle shaped shadow from the headlights on the car behind me) i have left over wires, and stupid me did not take pictures before hand. can anyone else with a BRP help me out im at a loss.

the wires in question are the male green, female green,female brown, and male white/yellow. any help somone can provide would be greatly appreciated need the bike to comute to work tomorrow morning




mxdreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,617
maybe this'll help

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/539...chematic-here/
__________________
colonel angus sez, "sometimes you just gotta superman that ho"
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 03:02 PM   #3
mxdreaming OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 13
I have seen this one, and i have the honda shop manual.I have all the wires from the stator plugged in. but the wires in question comes down from under the gas tank. they dont seem to correspond to the stock schematics, and the baja designs classic kit doesnt seem to be showing it either.
mxdreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:05 PM   #4
dohcfox
meh
 
dohcfox's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 138
Any way you could throw your BRP in a truck and drive it up to south Seattle? We can compare wiring on yours to that of my BRP and solve the problem! Let me know! JT
__________________
Ser decente no cuesta un culo y queda uno putamente bien!
dohcfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:26 PM   #5
Capt. Egregious
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Capt. Egregious's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Where the sewer meets the sea, Edmonds Wa
Oddometer: 345
There are some wires that aren't used on the XRR when DS it. I can't remember right off hand what wires they were but I did rewind my stator afew months ago and those do look familiar. (I am running 2 redundant 12DC circuits)
Capt. Egregious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:01 PM   #6
dohcfox
meh
 
dohcfox's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 138
Egregious! How are you sir? Remember me? You gave me a counter shaft seal when I blew mine on a ride. Anyways, looks like mx and I are going to get together next weekend and fix his bike. Wanna join? I'll supply beer!
__________________
Ser decente no cuesta un culo y queda uno putamente bien!
dohcfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:14 AM   #7
mxdreaming OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 13
what brand, i can pick up some shock top
mxdreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:52 AM   #8
Capt. Egregious
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Capt. Egregious's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Where the sewer meets the sea, Edmonds Wa
Oddometer: 345
Hello DOHCFOX, thanks for the invite but I will be driving to Idaho to pick up something Orange.
Capt. Egregious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:38 AM   #9
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,494
They look like 2 of the wires that went to the voltage regulator but I see that it's not there anymore. Unfortunately when an XRR is dualsported, it's hard to tell from pictures how it was done, what's left and what isn't. We can speculate but that's all it is speculation. If it's not working right, it's time to get smart about the wiring and figure out what each wire does.
RideFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:58 AM   #10
mxdreaming OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 13
thats the issue it goes into the wrapped loom and i really dont want to resort to cutting it to find exactly where it goes. but if i have to i guess i will. hopefully dofcfox has a similar setup.
mxdreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:48 PM   #11
dohcfox
meh
 
dohcfox's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 138
MX...

What brand stator did you buy, and which dual sport kit do you have on the bike (wait, sounds like you have a Baja Designs kit...)? I like IPA's
__________________
Ser decente no cuesta un culo y queda uno putamente bien!
dohcfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:50 PM   #12
dohcfox
meh
 
dohcfox's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Egregious View Post
Hello DOHCFOX, thanks for the invite but I will be driving to Idaho to pick up something Orange.
Cheet! Another time then! Drive safely!
__________________
Ser decente no cuesta un culo y queda uno putamente bien!
dohcfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:11 PM   #13
mxdreaming OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 13
yes baja designs installed in 2002, so i guess its what they refer to the classic kit. and I installed the ricky stator kit. which i hear great and horrible things. so we shall see
mxdreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014