ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 08:25 AM   #1
GeeK_InsiDe OP
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 282
Unmount the stock BMW cases stand

Hi all!

I want to unmount the stock BMW cases stand because I want to mount the TT one.

No problem for the upper part, my questions are for the lower part...

I made some pictures:



Here under the bike, I must unscrew the two screws which are holding the cases stand. Dummy question, must I rescrew the two screws after, or do they just hold the stand?

Here, on left side of the cases stand, there's the screw for the exhaust:



Is it OK to reuse the same screw after taking out the cases stand or will it be too long and I must have a shorter one?

Last one, here under the bike, behind the license plate:



We can see the cases stand going through the width of the bike. There's nothing like a screw I can see here, so is there a screw which hold the stand by the top (I mean under the rear BMW logo, where the luggage rack takes place)?

I hope my questions can be understood, my english isn't so good
Thank you in advance guys :)
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:35 AM   #2
Dorito
Dreamer and Doer
 
Dorito's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Oddometer: 5,098
This might help you...







__________________
BlastOff Adventures

Nothing (ad)ventured, Nothing Gained
Everything you want is on the other side of fear.
Dorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:40 AM   #3
Forrest39
Adventurer
 
Forrest39's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hollister, CA
Oddometer: 58
Rack removal

I removed the vario racks off of my wife's F700GS and put wolfman racks on. If I remember correctly, it was fairly straightforward. The center part of the mount has one or two bolts that are accessed from removing the top rack. The slip on exhaust also has to be removed but it looks like you figured that out already.
Good luck! -Kevin
Forrest39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:01 AM   #4
GeeK_InsiDe OP
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 282
Thank you Dorito and Forrest39, this is clear :)!

Forrest39, did you screw the 4 bolts under the bike after taking out the rack? Same question for the two upper screws, did you screw them?
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:45 AM   #5
Dorito
Dreamer and Doer
 
Dorito's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Oddometer: 5,098
I did not put the bolts back in. I did pack them with some foam I had around the garage, because I didn't want to dig mud out later to reuse the holes.

Hindsight, there are a few other holes that are down there that are left open from the factory, and those don't seem to clog with mud. So, do as you want.
__________________
BlastOff Adventures

Nothing (ad)ventured, Nothing Gained
Everything you want is on the other side of fear.
Dorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:49 AM   #6
Forrest39
Adventurer
 
Forrest39's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hollister, CA
Oddometer: 58
I replaced the hardware with new bolts included with the wolfman rack. If you are just removing the factory rack and not installing a replacement, I would suggest reinstalling the factory bolts with some removable thread locking compound. If the bolts bottom out (check this before using the thread locker...) then perhaps use some flat washers where the rack was. Reinstalling hardware in the holes will help protect the threads and might help keep water and debris out of the under seat area.
Cheers, -Kevin
Forrest39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:53 AM   #7
Forrest39
Adventurer
 
Forrest39's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hollister, CA
Oddometer: 58
Alternatively, if you are not planning on using the mount holes, you might use some silicone sealant / RTV or similar flexible sealing compound. It could always be removed later if you changed your mind...
-Kevin
Forrest39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:16 PM   #8
GeeK_InsiDe OP
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 282
Thank's!

I'll put a Touratech rack so the four holes under the bikes won't be used. I'll put the bolts back on the holes as you said, to avoid the holes being full of mud...
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:21 PM   #9
Reaver
Outta Here
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Homeless Adventurer
Oddometer: 2,844
When I went from Vario racks to the Aluminum, I put 4 "future use" bolts in the holes. Good place for spares.
__________________
Life is a Rollercoaster and I'm not strapped in!

Leaving it all behind 2014

.
Reaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:10 AM   #10
GeeK_InsiDe OP
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 282
Hi guys :)!

I made it, there's no BMW rack anymore!

For the information maybe it could help some others guys, if you don't have the tool to remove the exhaut springs (like me, ahem ), you can't remove the rack. But if you unscrew the two torx bolts under the bolt that hold the exhaust, you can move the "ring" of the exhaust and remove the rack ;)
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014