ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 05:26 AM   #1
PackHorse OP
2012GS800Trophy
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Oddometer: 3
Removed charcoal cannister, bike won't start

I removed the charcoal cannister from my new 2012 F800GS Trophy, (which I have done on a number of other bikes that I have owned), but now it will not start unless you open the throttle while starting. As soon as you release the throttle it dies. Has anyone run in to this problem, any suggestions would be appreciated.
PackHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:00 AM   #2
Indy Unlimited
Beastly Adventurer
 
Indy Unlimited's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Oddometer: 1,290
You need to plug the line to the vacuum unit on the left side of the bike.
One of those hoses went to the vacuum sensor.
It is located behind the small black plastic triangular cover on the left side.
I used a rubber plug from Napa they sell them in an assorted pack for different line diameters.
__________________
Current Stable:

2013 Ducati Hypermotard SP, 2011 Husaberg FE570S, 2011 BMW S1000RR, 2010 BMW F800GS
2007 Husqvarna TE610 , 2003 KTM 525 MXC
Indy Unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:23 AM   #3
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy Unlimited View Post
You need to plug the line to the vacuum unit on the left side of the bike.
One of those hoses went to the vacuum sensor.
It is located behind the small black plastic triangular cover on the left side.
I used a rubber plug from Napa they sell them in an assorted pack for different line diameters.
+
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 11:24 AM   #4
PackHorse OP
2012GS800Trophy
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Oddometer: 3
I have removed all lines from the charcoal cannister and the throttle bodies, plugged the throttle bodies and the vacum switch, although the vacum switch has no lines going to it now. Any other suggestions?

Thanks
PackHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:02 PM   #5
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,673
Then you must have bumped something. You mentioned throttle bodies in plural, so I am assuming you pluged then directly, not after the purge valve, with just one plug. That is the only thing that would make the engine misbehave. Did you just take off the two side plastic triangles to plug both manifolds...... At this point..... I would retrace my steps, and investigate.
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:44 AM   #6
Indy Unlimited
Beastly Adventurer
 
Indy Unlimited's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Oddometer: 1,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by PackHorse View Post
I have removed all lines from the charcoal cannister and the throttle bodies, plugged the throttle bodies and the vacum switch, although the vacum switch has no lines going to it now. Any other suggestions?

Thanks
I did this about 3 years ago but I think I only used one plug.
__________________
Current Stable:

2013 Ducati Hypermotard SP, 2011 Husaberg FE570S, 2011 BMW S1000RR, 2010 BMW F800GS
2007 Husqvarna TE610 , 2003 KTM 525 MXC
Indy Unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:41 AM   #7
PackHorse OP
2012GS800Trophy
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrabaek View Post
Then you must have bumped something. You mentioned throttle bodies in plural, so I am assuming you pluged then directly, not after the purge valve, with just one plug. That is the only thing that would make the engine misbehave. Did you just take off the two side plastic triangles to plug both manifolds...... At this point..... I would retrace my steps, and investigate.

I did remove both triangles and plugged both throttle bodies directly, I've done this on several other bikes and everything worked fine, I'm in the process of checking to see if I did bump or disconnect something I should'nt have but I'm on my way out of town today so it will have to wait till next week. Just wanted to check to see if there was something I missed, thanks for the reply.
PackHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:08 AM   #8
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,673
Yeppers. My intention was not to pick on your skills, but merely to supply my 2 Cents. I makes those mistakes from time to time.... Most people doing this on the 8GS, just caps the manifold vacuum right upstream from the purge valve, rather than two plugs ( one on each manifold). Just a thought here.....and that is all it is. If you plugged each manifold downstream from the purge valve, you have now isolated it from it's normal vacuum supply, where most ....again.... is just capping it up stream with one plug. Perhaps since it is connected to the ECM.....by not receiving it's vacuum....perhaps the ECM now hiccups.... dunno, but if you find no other mistakes..... I would just single cap it at the upstream line from the purge valve to the CC, and re-install the T from the purge valve to each manifolds. Long shot, I know, but worth a try......
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014