ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 01:11 PM   #16171
achile
Gnarly Adventurer
 
achile's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Brasov, Romania
Oddometer: 289
Fork tool by-pass

Hey, guys!

I just did the drilling, shimming and oil change on my piggy's front fork. I wanted to make the fork tool, but a seasoned grease monkey instructed me on by-passing the tool.


You don't need any special tools if you don't want to change the seals. Just folow these steps:
- set the adjusters to fully open
- go to a vice
- turn the fork leg upside-down
- wrap a piece of cloth around it and tighten the vice leaving, about 10 cm between the floor and the upper cap
- take 32mm socket an put it under the cap's hexagon to protect the adjuster screw; compress the fork by pulling twards the vice and put something underneath the socket to keep it compressed
- untighten the lower cap(upper, when it's upside-down); the compression will keep it from rotating(so, no special tool)
-drain the oil
-take out the leg from the vice and do your stuff.

Put it back using the same technique. You can do it whitout a vice compressing it with your body weight, but the vice saves you time and it's damn handy.

Another way of avoiding the fork tool is to use a pneumatic wrench with adjustable torque.
#when screwing it back on, do it by hand at first;
-then tighten it to the appropiate torque(54Nm)

Have fun!
Dragos
achile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:06 PM   #16172
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 143
Yeah I tried to use a normal screwdriver on my JIS screws in my carb. They almost all stripped. I had to use a dremel to slot them and get them out. I have replaced them all.

I now also own a JIS screw driver.
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:22 PM   #16173
Sean-0
Closed
 
Sean-0's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Oztraya Mate
Oddometer: 4,108
Think jis is standard here in Aus ....mine fit fine
Sean-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:26 PM   #16174
Cpt. Ron
Advrider #128
 
Cpt. Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 2,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by slickwill View Post
MCN?

No, I've just worked on enough Japanese bikes to have learned the difference.

I've also learned that JIS screws are made of a material similar in consistency to swiss cheese.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
Motorcycle Consumer News had an article on using JIS screwdrivers on Japanese-made motorcycles (and other machinery/vehicles, I would presume). I believe it is the March 2013 edition, right on the back page. I just read it on Friday, so your statement was very timely. Mine, not so much....
__________________
Cpt. Ron

"I don't know what you do, but I know what I do, and I don't do that." --Uncle Doug, R.I.P.
"Without the possibility of death, adventure is not possible"--Reinhold Messner
Cpt. Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:16 PM   #16175
mitchn06
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mitchn06's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SoDak
Oddometer: 486
getting my parts list for 2013 ready, including the oil sight tube. for anybody who has done it, would the rotating swageloc fitting fit the bill, or would it cause issues? Here is the LINK to the fitting.
__________________
2000 Honda XR650R (Under the Knife) LINK
mitchn06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:25 PM   #16176
zoro
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Darwin, Australia
Oddometer: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchn06 View Post
getting my parts list for 2013 ready, including the oil sight tube. for anybody who has done it, would the rotating swageloc fitting fit the bill, or would it cause issues? Here is the LINK to the fitting.

Mitchn06, I have 13 years experience with hydraulic/ pneumatic equipment and IMO I would prefer to use a tapered fitting ( BSPT or NPT) for this application. Using the parallel thread that you have shown in the link would be great if you could ensure the sealing surface it was going to mate to was indeed flat. A tapered thread will be cheaper as well.
In all honesty I would use a brass fitting and tapered NPT or BSPT, these are a dime-a-dozen as opposed to the Swagelok fittings in SS316.
However when using compression fittings and clear nylon tube as seen in this modification it would be wise to use a spigot. It is basically a small tube type design that slides up the internal ID of the tubing and this allows the compression olive to bite into the tubing a bit better, provides a backbone to the connection.
These compression fittings are usually used with steel tubing, when an olive compresses onto the tube it will not deform like a piece of flexible clear nylon tube will. Thus allowing the olive to bite into the tubing more effectively.

Just my opinion, but save yourself some $$$'s and use a tapered brass fitting with a spigot.
zoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:07 PM   #16177
phorensic
Adventurer
 
phorensic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Oddometer: 13
Just put on a Mikuni TM40. Oh my god. This carburetor fixes everything wrong with this bike. I have a quick tuning question.

When I first started my bike with the Mikuni it took a long time to warm up and let me touch the throttle even though it was 65F outside. The second I barely cracked the throttle the motor would die. It seemed to run way better on the choke until it got warm and then all of a sudden I could start to rev it like normal.

First though? Pilot is too lean. Well, my theory was wrong. It ran way worse with the pilot richened up 1/4 turn. It actually responded better with the pilot leaned out a 1/4 turn from stock (idle revs went up, responded better to quick blips of the throttle).

Now unfortunately my battery was dead from sitting and I think I was experiencing problems because I didn't have strong enough ignition until the battery charged up a bit....I think...

However, I have a slight hesitation when I barely crack the throttle open and hold it open at like 1/32th opening. It might be because of the way I tuned the accelerator pump. I adjusted it so the lever is about 1mm away from touching at idle, so it takes about 1mm of throttle opening before it actuates. From the factory the lever was actually touching at idle and I didn't think it should be that way but I don't know.

BTW, this carb came prejetted from power-barn specifically for the XR650R, but I'm not sure what is in it because I didn't crack anything open and take a look and they don't list it. Other than those two very minor problems this carb rips! It's perfect! It's hard to keep the front end on the ground!!!

I live at under 1,000ft ASL, it was 65F, I have a K&N filter (which I want to replace with a UNI), fully uncorked, White Brothers E2, emissions stuff removed, still stock on everything else though.
phorensic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:29 PM   #16178
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
phorensic: I'm located in Riverside, CA and have the same mods as you... Here are my TM40 specs

Pilot - 27.5
Pilot Air - 1.2
Jet Needle - 9DJY1
Needle Jet - Y6
Clip - 2.5
Main - 140
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:39 PM   #16179
phorensic
Adventurer
 
phorensic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
phorensic: I'm located in Riverside, CA and have the same mods as you... Here are my TM40 specs

Pilot - 27.5
Pilot Air - 1.2
Jet Needle - 9DJY1
Needle Jet - Y6
Clip - 2.5
Main - 140
Thanks for the info!! Where have you adjusted the accelerator pump to? Does it touch the lever at fully closed throttle? And can you remember how many turns out your pilot is?

I had a feeling I need to put a 140 main in, they included a few mains with the kit. Although WOT top speed runs feel really, really, really strong, lol! It does shoot a bit of black smoke out when I rev it really hard over and over, but that may be because it is a pumper carb and it's not under load when I do that??
phorensic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:50 PM   #16180
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by phorensic View Post
Thanks for the info!! Where have you adjusted the accelerator pump to? Does it touch the lever at fully closed throttle? And can you remember how many turns out your pilot is?

I had a feeling I need to put a 140 main in, they included a few mains with the kit. Although WOT top speed runs feel really, really, really strong, lol! It does shoot a bit of black smoke out when I rev it really hard over and over, but that may be because it is a pumper carb and it's not under load when I do that??
Well... to be honest, i'm not convinced that the 140 is perfect for me. i just have not gotten around to dialing that part in yet. I got it good, and have been enjoying it.

I have the pumper coming on as you crack the throttle, but there is a very small delay.

I dont recall where my fuel screw is at, I think it was 2 or 2.5 out.
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:58 AM   #16181
BuRPsa
Finally growing up..
 
BuRPsa's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Pretoria
Oddometer: 548
Mitch,

refer Zoro's reply, he said it all. Tapered is indeed the way to go, the surfaces aren't flat at all. Also, use red locktite to 'glue' them in, you don't want them to sweat or leak. Clean screen & flush afterwards eh?
This mod gives enormous piece of mind oil-wise, seeing (whilst riding!) is believing.



On the TM40, I also have a little 'play' between rod & plunger, to leave a bit of delay before the squirting starts.
BuRPsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:26 AM   #16182
jtworldwide2
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Oddometer: 61
On the TM 40...
I have a bit of delay (1/16th throttle maybe?) before the squirt comes on. I was having the same issues as you are having right now.
jtworldwide2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:55 AM   #16183
Shibby!
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Currently - Canada
Oddometer: 1,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by phorensic View Post
).

Now unfortunately my battery was dead from sitting and I think I was experiencing problems because I didn't have strong enough ignition until the battery charged up a bit....I think....

IF you have a battery it won't affect how the bike runs. It's run strictly off the stator. The battery is there to even out voltage at idle and keep your lights on after the bike. Separate system from ignition.

I jetted mine (still needs tuning a bit) at 3500 ft, but have rode it lots at sea level all the way up to 12,000.

27.5, 140, 3rd clip I believe, forget about spacer location?, factory nozzle shipped on powerbarn units.

It'll at least get you running if you havent figured it out. I had similar issues with it not wanting to start and run as well when first bolted up. It was all jetting adjustments.
__________________
Tour of Idaho T1 Challenge - https://spotwalla.com/tripViewer.php...551f1642711d75
Eat. Sleep. Ride - The Great Divide: http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...4#post19193704
Go, Get Lost - Heading South: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=735690
Dirt Donkeys Do Baja: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=671095

Shibby! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 07:03 AM   #16184
phorensic
Adventurer
 
phorensic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtworldwide2 View Post
On the TM 40...
I have a bit of delay (1/16th throttle maybe?) before the squirt comes on. I was having the same issues as you are having right now.
Are you saying you fixed it by putting in more "delay"? Or that you still have the issue?
phorensic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 07:07 AM   #16185
phorensic
Adventurer
 
phorensic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shibby! View Post
IF you have a battery it won't affect how the bike runs. It's run strictly off the stator. The battery is there to even out voltage at idle and keep your lights on after the bike. Separate system from ignition.

I jetted mine (still needs tuning a bit) at 3500 ft, but have rode it lots at sea level all the way up to 12,000.

27.5, 140, 3rd clip I believe, forget about spacer location?, factory nozzle shipped on powerbarn units.

It'll at least get you running if you havent figured it out. I had similar issues with it not wanting to start and run as well when first bolted up. It was all jetting adjustments.
I first thought the ignition should be running solely off the stator when it starts. I couldn't explain why the bike wouldn't let me rev it for about 3 minutes even with heat billowing off the header and radiators already. My theory was that the battery was so dead the stator was putting most the juice into charging it and I had really weak ignition. It was idling like crap and wouldn't let me even breath on the throttle. Then all of a sudden after about 3 minutes I could blip the throttle super fast. I think I'm just going to play with the AP delay for now.
phorensic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014