ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 231 votes, 4.88 average. Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 07:53 PM   #7051
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJS View Post
Same issue on my PC but can't find the update in my Downloads folder. Anyone know where Garmin Express is supposed to put the file?

Second question, since I bought the maps on DVD, how does the new Express updater work if I don't have the GPS connected? I used to be able to download updates direct from the My Garmin web page.
Did you do a file search for *.gmap ?

Also, if you can connect the gps, it generally works better.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:34 PM   #7052
bighopper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 183
I had the same issues as mentioned above with Express. On my PC it told me I had an error (I believe with connecting to the Montana) & Express kept telling me I had the latest update. Found the 2012.40 updates & installed manually & then had to do the Unlock process via Garmin web page. Got it to work on the PC & then transferred to the Montana.
But this was the 2nd time in doing map updates & 2 time it was a PAIN.

Shall call Garmin tomorrow.
__________________
I Just Like To Ride
'03 BMW R1150GSA
'06 BMW K1200LT
bighopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:34 AM   #7053
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,940
I used GarminMapUpdater_v3.1.20.exe to update to 2013.40, or I should say started to use it, but when I tried to alter the settings so it would update maps to the HD and the GPS, rather than just the GPS, that choice was greyed out, so I canceled. I then used GarminMapUpdater_v3.1.19.exe, and found that I was able to make the selection of updating both the HD and the unit. After completing the update, I verified that the new maps were in fact in place on both.

This was for a 350LM, for what it's worth.

On one of the umo or garmin forums (I forget which) a guy who says he knows people at Garmin says that the Express team are now aware of this bug and will be fixing it.

Personally, I will continue to use GarminMapUpdater_v3.1.19.exe to update my maps.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:36 AM   #7054
BruceWA
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
You need to do this yourself, through MapInstall.
Actually I used Basecamp and right clicked on the Montana folder to install to the montana.
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:59 AM   #7055
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceWA View Post
Actually I used Basecamp and right clicked on the Montana folder to install to the montana.
I think Basecamp makes a call to MapInstall when you do it that way but you can also run MI on its own.


Sent using strings and tin cans and Tapatalk
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:27 AM   #7056
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,301
I'm having similar problems installing using Garmin Express. What a pain!!


Tim in Burien, WA
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:42 AM   #7057
AVGeek94
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Oddometer: 128
Is anyone using the serial data lines from the rugged mount? I hold an amateur radio (ham) license, and have been researching APRS for tracking use on the bike.
AVGeek94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:44 PM   #7058
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVGeek94 View Post
Is anyone using the serial data lines from the rugged mount? I hold an amateur radio (ham) license, and have been researching APRS for tracking use on the bike.
I've not heard anyone say they do anything but cut them off in the whole time I've been reading this thread.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:22 AM   #7059
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 677
I didn't cut mine only because I knew as soon as I do I would want them for something.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:45 AM   #7060
BruceWA
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
I didn't cut mine only because I knew as soon as I do I would want them for something.
Exactly why I haven't either.
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:50 AM   #7061
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
I didn't cut mine only because I knew as soon as I do I would want them for something.
There's nothing that says you have to cut them off at the top. I cut mine off at the end of the covered part of the cable and if I find a reason to use the data wires, I only need to cut the cover back a few more inches.


Sent using strings and tin cans and Tapatalk
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:44 PM   #7062
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 677
No need. Mine are tucked out of the way. You'd never know anything was there at all without tearing the bike apart.

For me cutting the wire would be a solution to a problem that doesn't exist in my case.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:35 PM   #7063
rsaxvc
n00b
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Oddometer: 3
I've got mine hooked to a TH-D7A. The Montana updates the position so the TH-D7A reports are up to date, and points received from the TH-D7A are plotted on the Montana.

-KD0LIX
rsaxvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:48 PM   #7064
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsaxvc View Post
I've got mine hooked to a TH-D7A. The Montana updates the position so the TH-D7A reports are up to date, and points received from the TH-D7A are plotted on the Montana.

-KD0LIX
is this for a Spot type tracking function for people at home or is this for other people you're riding with?
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:07 PM   #7065
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVGeek94 View Post
Is anyone using the serial data lines from the rugged mount? I hold an amateur radio (ham) license, and have been researching APRS for tracking use on the bike.
Just noticed this article from GPSCentral about the Montana, APRS and HAM Radio.

http://www.gpscentral.ca/newsletter/february-2013.html
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014