ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Alaska
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 02:26 PM   #61
legion
Wait Til Friday
 
legion's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Alaska
Oddometer: 12,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by friar mike View Post
mind repeating that legion your new fancy-ass computer seems to be stuttering

Use of the word Windows on an apple or linux system makes the OS cough.

It'll get over it.

It'll get over it.
legion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 03:09 PM   #62
Tom S
Can I ride it?
 
Tom S's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Oddometer: 4,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by friar mike View Post
... it needs windows 98 to run the setup.
Anyone know if Windows 98 can be installed on one of those inexpensive external USB-plug-in hard drives & then work on newer ‘puters? How many gigs it would take? I don’t know why it wouldn’t work but WTF do I know about that stuff.
If so ....
Tom S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 04:39 PM   #63
legion
Wait Til Friday
 
legion's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Alaska
Oddometer: 12,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom S View Post
Anyone know if Windows 98 can be installed on one of those inexpensive external USB-plug-in hard drives & then work on newer ‘puters? How many gigs it would take? I don’t know why it wouldn’t work but WTF do I know about that stuff.
If so ....
Don't think so. I haven't been able to make that work anyway and I've tried by putting entire comp backups on a 500g pocket drive and then accessing files by plugging in to a different machine. I think it's the two OS'es that foul access. I'm not a comp geek though so am not the right guy to actually know. Only the guy to have actually tried.
legion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:30 PM   #64
FlyRescue
Support S&R, Get lost!
 
FlyRescue's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hollywood and Vine!! (Wasilla) Alaska
Oddometer: 745
Friar: anything newer than 98 can run it, most likely, in accessibility mode.

Re: Thumbdrive OS's: I haven't seen a windows port yet, but they make this:
http://www.foxnews.com/tech/2011/11/...b-thumb-drive/ , and I run a linux shell on a 4gig thumbdrive to access computers' file systems.
__________________
2010 BMW R1200GS Adventure; 1982 BMW R100S
Proud FükenGrüver
FlyRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:29 PM   #65
Tom S
Can I ride it?
 
Tom S's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Oddometer: 4,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by legion View Post
Don't think so. I haven't been able to make that work ...
Well, that’s not what I wanted to hear!
Just to make sure we are on the same page, or ‘window’ as the case may be. I am talking about loading Win 98 into an external HD then putting a Win 98 compatible program into that Win 98 system. Is that what you mean, or just that the older program would not work on a newer ‘puter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyRescue
Friar: anything newer than 98 can run it, most likely, in accessibility mode.
Fly, WTH is this “accessibility mode” &/or where do I find it?
I once tried to install an older A-CAD program on this Win 7 ‘puter thinking if anything I could then run it in ‘compatibility mode’. Win 7 wouldn’t even let the program install.
Tom S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:23 PM   #66
Tom S
Can I ride it?
 
Tom S's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Oddometer: 4,288
Ok, now I remember. This damn Win 7 is a 64 bit Operating System, (WTF ever that means), & my program is made for a 32 bit OS. I’m probably screwed.
Tom S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:03 AM   #67
friar mike
IronButtGruver
 
friar mike's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Wasilla Alaska
Oddometer: 4,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyRescue View Post
Friar: anything newer than 98 can run it, most likely, in accessibility mode.

Re: Thumbdrive OS's: I haven't seen a windows port yet, but they make this:
http://www.foxnews.com/tech/2011/11/...b-thumb-drive/ , and I run a linux shell on a 4gig thumbdrive to access computers' file systems.
I really don't know what is being said Iam a mechanic not a computer tech.
__________________
We,re on a mission from God. "blues brothers"
Don't go up there someone's going to die. "Walter"
A world without string is chaos
Good-Bad-Iam the guy with the gun "evil dead"
God's speed Rommel run free my dog
friar mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:11 PM   #68
legion
Wait Til Friday
 
legion's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Alaska
Oddometer: 12,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom S View Post
Well, that’s not what I wanted to hear!
Just to make sure we are on the same page, or ‘window’ as the case may be. I am talking about loading Win 98 into an external HD then putting a Win 98 compatible program into that Win 98 system. Is that what you mean, or just that the older program would not work on a newer ‘puter?
Correct. I've tried to get that to work and haven't been able to.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom S View Post
Ok, now I remember. This damn Win 7 is a 64 bit Operating System, (WTF ever that means), & my program is made for a 32 bit OS. I’m probably screwed.
Correct. You're probably screwed is my take. I've tried it before with the 500gig Western drives that will fit in a shirt pocket. Backed up entire systems thinking I'd be able to access files later but the multiple operating systems apparently conflict and I couldn't access squat. Still have two drives on my desk that have backups of long since reformatted old computers but I haven't put enough time into finding a work around. Whatever's on those things probably wasn't important anyway so it's not getting much of a prio.



Quote:
Originally Posted by friar mike View Post
I really don't know what is being said Iam a mechanic not a computer tech.
That's a cool little computer with no interface of it's own. No screen. No keyboard. No nothing. It's something you'd have to plug into another device and from that device you'd be able to access the computer functions.

Think of it as memory and a very small processor... but that's it. Depending on what version of it you bought you'd be able to plug it in and it would pirate the input controls of your host device (like plug it into your phone, etc.) so that you could get that little thumb drive looking computer to actually do something.
legion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014