ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 09:20 AM   #1
GS Addict OP
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,428
Tire Pressure Sensors - Hexheads

A couple of questions......
Ref: 2008 R1200GS
The Max fiche shows separate windows for front and rear yet the part numbers are the same.??
Is this a dealer programming thing after they are installed?
Further to this can they be moved around from bike to bike?
I am in in the process of replacing the batteries (lots of mining going on )
and preparing to install on a friends bike.

A pre thanks to all responders
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:34 AM   #2
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 3,404
Maybe?

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=728599

As I read this and other threads...you CAN add a 2nd set of sensors (to swap 2 different sets of tires) if you had TPS added at the factory..but NO...you can't ADD TPS after it's left the factory.
Adding the 2nd set of sensors requires Dealer assistance to program computer to recognize different TPS's.

Anybody else read this differently?

YMMV.
LaurelPerryOnLand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:43 AM   #3
El Gato
Studly Adventurer
 
El Gato's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Oddometer: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaurelPerryOnLand View Post
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=728599

As I read this and other threads...you CAN add a 2nd set of sensors (to swap 2 different sets of tires) if you had TPS added at the factory..but NO...you can't ADD TPS after it's left the factory.
Adding the 2nd set of sensors requires Dealer assistance to program computer to recognize different TPS's.

Anybody else read this differently?

YMMV.
This is correct. I just did this at the dealer yesterday. If the bike already had TPM from the factory, then the computer can be programmed to read a second set of sensors. The dealer has to program this. The P/N for the sensor is the same for front/rear and for forged and wire wheels.
__________________
---
El Gato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:58 AM   #4
Iron Rey
Oh shit, not him!
 
Iron Rey's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Crappleton, WI
Oddometer: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaurelPerryOnLand View Post
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=728599

As I read this and other threads...you CAN add a 2nd set of sensors (to swap 2 different sets of tires) if you had TPS added at the factory..but NO...you can't ADD TPS after it's left the factory.
Adding the 2nd set of sensors requires Dealer assistance to program computer to recognize different TPS's.

Anybody else read this differently?

YMMV.
Agree.

If you do not have it from the factory, you are sol but there are some good aftermarket solutions.
Iron Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:55 PM   #5
seniorasi
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Gato View Post
This is correct. I just did this at the dealer yesterday. If the bike already had TPM from the factory, then the computer can be programmed to read a second set of sensors. The dealer has to program this. The P/N for the sensor is the same for front/rear and for forged and wire wheels.
Is it possible to use a GS911 for this?
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:30 AM   #6
WOLVERINE
Keep her pinned!
 
WOLVERINE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: West of Sin City!
Oddometer: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by seniorasi View Post
Is it possible to use a GS911 for this?
Just did it yesterday with the new software update, 1211.5! Works like a charm. You don't have to go to the dealer anymore if you have a GS911 or know someone with one close by...
__________________
If you think you're free, there's no chance of escape!

2008 R1200GSA
WOLVERINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014