ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 12:33 PM   #1
norschweger OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
norschweger's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Bariloche
Oddometer: 242
ignition lock

What are the options if the ignition lock is worn out? The key has play and sometimes the display disappears. The engine does not run smoothly, hesitates and stalls. When I press the key down and hold it in place the engine runs well...Tried with ziptie, helped for a while...Have even taken it apart and soldered the contacts. Could it be an idea to take these dots off again?Maybe they are causing a gap...
norschweger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:42 PM   #2
dmn0507
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dmn0507's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Italy, NE, Not too far from Venice
Oddometer: 338
Most probably the "rotating contacts" inside the ingnition lock are dirty or worn out. I've seen somewhere the pic of ign. lock disassembled, so i think you can take it a part to have a look (perhaps it's just dirt) or replace it
dmn0507 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:54 PM   #3
norschweger OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
norschweger's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Bariloche
Oddometer: 242
that is what we did. soltered the contacts to minimize the gap, but not better...buying new seems to mean the whole unit including new keys, waiting for 3 weeks...what about eliminating the lock permanently?
norschweger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:36 PM   #4
dmn0507
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dmn0507's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Italy, NE, Not too far from Venice
Oddometer: 338
I misunderstood, i thought u didn't fully take it apart.
As long as you are fine with that you can remove the ign. lock, it's nothing more than a switch, maybe just until you get a new one.
You might want to check if some ign lock for another bike can fit (or get one from a crashed KTM) if you want to stay on the cheap side and still have a lock, but the oem one it's not extremely espensive as i thought.
dmn0507 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:36 PM   #5
norschweger OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
norschweger's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Bariloche
Oddometer: 242
took it apart again, cleaned and soltered again, seemed to be fine...for a while. bypassed the lock only using a wire, ran like a champ. Putting a switch at that spot worked first but not for very long. what are the odds that it is the fuel pump and it always works better after having changed sth with the energy? How do you feel that the pump starts to get bad?
norschweger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:15 PM   #6
dmn0507
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dmn0507's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Italy, NE, Not too far from Venice
Oddometer: 338
Perhaps the switch you used was too small or the contact not good enough for the amps required.
Have no idea about the "fuel pump feelings" you talk about because i have a 990 and in your profile i see you have a 950, so different kind of pump.
dmn0507 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:03 PM   #7
norschweger OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
norschweger's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Bariloche
Oddometer: 242
this is a good idea. It worked fine when I had bypassed it with a wire...will try again
norschweger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 05:02 AM   #8
Hipster
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hipster's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Mpls, Mn.
Oddometer: 1,692
My 640 uses a similar ignition switch and when I had issues with it, I dissembled it for cleaning and it worked for a while but, in the end I just replaced it. The switch wasn't that expensive.

Because the new ignition switched was keyed differently and I didn't want to carry the old key for the gas cap, I just filed the tumblers on the gas cap so the new key would work.
__________________
2008 KTM 990 Adv & 2007 KTM 640 Adv
Hipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:19 PM   #9
BigNastybrp
Big Nasty
 
BigNastybrp's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: high speed boogie land, Sunny Ca.
Oddometer: 646
I dont know if this will help, but my FZ1 was doing something like this so I put a rag under the ignition and flush it with wd40. works good for a long time cleans it all out. just a thought.
__________________
XR650R Dual Sport 46k+miles just a few mods, XR600R 2500 miles,
KTM ADV990R 7500,
XR1200cc
BigNastybrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:19 PM   #10
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigNastybrp View Post
I dont know if this will help, but my FZ1 was doing something like this so I put a rag under the ignition and flush it with wd40. works good for a long time cleans it all out. just a thought.

Do you light that on fire too. That may help....
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:28 PM   #11
BigNastybrp
Big Nasty
 
BigNastybrp's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: high speed boogie land, Sunny Ca.
Oddometer: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrish4ku View Post
Do you light that on fire too. That may help....
No that was my GSXR and I didn't light it on fire it just blow up I hit the carwait what did I light on fire?
__________________
XR650R Dual Sport 46k+miles just a few mods, XR600R 2500 miles,
KTM ADV990R 7500,
XR1200cc
BigNastybrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:25 PM   #12
acupuncture4u
Freedom by knobbies
 
acupuncture4u's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,372
Cheap switches

My 640 and my 950 have had this problem. Wth ktm. Did anyone ever find another switch other than oem?
__________________
(((((((((RIDE)))))))))
www.betterthanyoufoundit.org At Least 1 piece!


How is your Heart Health
acupuncture4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014