ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 11:22 AM   #1
ZAPLAJE OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ZAPLAJE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Chile SA/Miami FL
Oddometer: 281
KTM 950 ADV without spark

Hello.

I bought a toasted KTM 950 and change the engine for a newer one. Now I have all toghether and there's no spark on the sparkplugs, I checked the side stand switch, the ignition coils, neutral swich and all works well. The sparkplugs are new.

any ideas or suggestions? thanks very much
__________________
Going UP!!! don't wait for me
ZAPLAJE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 11:31 AM   #2
Dustodust
Studly Adventurer
 
Dustodust's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Hillsboro Oregon
Oddometer: 835
risk of asking pretentious question but are you sure the handlebar kill switch is ON ?
are you grounding the spark plug well ?
key switches are also a common problem
good ground from engine to battery
You say toasted, although not common on the 950, extreme overheating destroys the ignition section of stator coil and possibly pick up coil (hall effect sensor transistor)
__________________
04 KTM 950 S
04 KTM 525 EXC street plated

Dustodust screwed with this post 03-09-2013 at 11:38 AM
Dustodust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 12:42 PM   #3
ZAPLAJE OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ZAPLAJE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Chile SA/Miami FL
Oddometer: 281
The kill switch is on, the engine turns but doesn't start.
All the key switches were tested.
Engine ground is directly to the battery for now.
The previous engine was toasted, this is a suppously running engine.

All looks good but no sparks on the sparkplugs. We (a mechanic friend and I) will check the pulse generator now, is our last option
__________________
Going UP!!! don't wait for me
ZAPLAJE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 04:28 PM   #4
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,805
I had a similar problem.

The 990 sidestand sensor is different from the 950 one. I had to use my 950 s/s sensor to be compatible with the 950 wire loom. Did you keep your carbs?
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 05:00 PM   #5
ZAPLAJE OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ZAPLAJE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Chile SA/Miami FL
Oddometer: 281
yep, carbs keeped... the "new" engine is a 950 too
__________________
Going UP!!! don't wait for me
ZAPLAJE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014