ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 04:01 PM   #991
TrailCruiser
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Yakima, WA
Oddometer: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjen View Post
Are familiar with how to use a differential manometer.

JJ
Yes, though I'll refresh my memory by reading the manual and reviewing various videos on it. Thanks for the tips, will heed all notes.
TrailCruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:14 PM   #992
twinrider
pass the catnip
 
twinrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: 日本
Oddometer: 8,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjen View Post
Yes you can
IF you use a new battery
Pay attention to the sensitivity when starting the engine (turned down to min)
Make sure the TwinMax is operating properly (reverse the hoses and makes sure the reading reverses accurately)
Makes sure that the hoses don't leak (especially when using extensions)
Are familiar with how to use a differential manometer.

JJ
Sounds like a pita I'd just sell it in the flea market.
twinrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:42 PM   #993
johnjen
Mod-U-Later
 
johnjen's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 15,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinrider View Post
Sounds like a pita I'd just sell it in the flea market.
Yeah, it is a PIA in comparison.

The Harmonizer is WAY easier, more accurate, less subject to 'external' influences (especially battery drain) and much more repeatable in the real world.

The TwinMax was a useful tool if you knew how to use it and get around it's foibles.

But that was then, this is now.

The Harmonizer is WAY superior, in every way.

JJ
__________________
An illustrious quote from vermin:
"I lie to myself because I am the only one who continues to believe me."
johnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 05:31 PM   #994
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjen View Post
Yeah, it is a PIA in comparison.

The Harmonizer is WAY easier, more accurate, less subject to 'external' influences (especially battery drain) and much more repeatable in the real world.

The TwinMax was a useful tool if you knew how to use it and get around it's foibles.

But that was then, this is now.

The Harmonizer is WAY superior, in every way.

JJ
+1
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:04 PM   #995
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrailCruiser View Post
Guys, just bought a new '13 R1200RT and have a TwinMax left over from previous boxers years ago. I get that the Harmonizer is better, and I'm tempted to order one anyway, but I'm spending money like crazy farkling this new bike up and wanted to ask if I can get a decent sync job with the TwinMax. Any thoughts from those who have used a TwinMax?

ps. don't mean to hijack the thread.
Sincing with the Twinmax: http://www.bmwbmw.org/forums/viewtop...y+sync#p120643

You can do it with a Harmonizer, a Carbstix or a manometer. Basically all the same.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:07 PM   #996
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
Sincing with the Twinmax: http://www.bmwbmw.org/forums/viewtop...y+sync#p120643

You can do it with a Harmonizer, a Carbstix or a manometer. Basically all the same.

Jim
And monitor the RPM accurately at the same time? NOT!
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:04 PM   #997
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
And monitor the RPM accurately at the same time? NOT!
Difficult, but not impossible. The RPMs, as you know, do not have to be a precise number, just steady in the range. A throttle lock makes it simple.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:58 PM   #998
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
Difficult, but not impossible. The RPMs, as you know, do not have to be a precise number, just steady in the range. A throttle lock makes it simple.

Jim
Idle RPM must be set accurately.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 03:25 AM   #999
a2zworks
n00b
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 3
Ordered

I ordered yesterday from OZ, I wonder what the lead time is, does any one know?
a2zworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 03:54 AM   #1000
Zebedee
Studly Adventurer
 
Zebedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: ... I was born a ramblin' man
Oddometer: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2zworks View Post
I ordered yesterday from OZ, I wonder what the lead time is, does any one know?
I'm in NZ and my order was placed last Friday.

I'll let you know when it turns up, but the estimated delivery times seem realistic ...



John
__________________
The perverse must persevere
Zebedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 04:32 AM   #1001
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
Idle RPM must be set accurately.
I see, I thought you were talking off idle. On the R1100/1150 you can do that with the tach, on the R1200 you cannot set it at all. What am I missing?

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 01:14 PM   #1002
stevie88
That's gotta hurt
 
stevie88's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The place dad always warned me about
Oddometer: 17,472
Mine arrived today and the mere threat of it being used immediately made my bikes run better. As the woman of my dreams said to me, "what an impressive tool".
__________________
In Russia we have saying, "if it isn't broke, don't fix it". We also say, "if it is broke, don't fix it".

stevie88 screwed with this post 03-13-2013 at 01:34 PM
stevie88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 01:40 PM   #1003
Oggie
Adventurer
 
Oggie's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: NOVA
Oddometer: 93
Got mine today too



Sent from my Galaxy S2 using Tapatalk 2
Oggie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:05 PM   #1004
lanceputnam
Hayden's Dad
 
lanceputnam's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 433
Got mine, looks great!

Where can I go to see how to use all the features and perhaps download a manual? The website on the harmonizer doesn't work. Thanks!

Lance
__________________
So others may live...

2012 BMW R1200 GS-Rallye
lanceputnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:46 PM   #1005
a2zworks
n00b
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zebedee View Post
I'm in NZ and my order was placed last Friday.

I'll let you know when it turns up, but the estimated delivery times seem realistic ...



John
Thanks John
a2zworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014