ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 09:27 AM   #1
MrPulldown OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 2,437
wirelss bike computer as speedo

Figured that the thumper guys are the only ones that might even consider using a bike computer as a speedo. Has anyone tried using a wireless one. Seems like it would be easier to deal with. But I was wondering if the electronics from the bike would interfere with the signal. Anyone have an experiance they would like to share.
__________________
94 DR 350 SE
No Load LED Flash Relay and Diode Kits for Sale

MrPulldown screwed with this post 03-24-2013 at 09:38 AM
MrPulldown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:36 AM   #2
bisbonian
Studly Adventurer
 
bisbonian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Bisbee, AZ & Banamichi, Sonora
Oddometer: 967
I looked into the wireless ones last year when my speedo went out on my Moto Guzzi.

If I remember it right there was a lot of opinion that the wireless may not work very well due to electrical interference.

I ended up using a standard bike computer but ordered up the extra long recumbent wire and mount to make sure it would cover the distance.

This has been working fine for almost a year for me.
__________________
My 2009 Alaska Adventure

bisbonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 12:03 PM   #3
Grreatdog
Beastly Adventurer
 
Grreatdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis, MD
Oddometer: 9,165
Why go wireless? The wire on a Trailtech, Acewell or similar speedo is about unobtrusive as you can get. I can't remember the brand, but the little speedo/odo on my MXC is powered by watch batteries and goes for months. The only wire is the one down to the sensor.
__________________
640E, MXC200, XT200
Grreatdog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:25 PM   #4
SkiBumBrian
DualSport Crazy !!
 
SkiBumBrian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Redding, CA
Oddometer: 1,042
A trailtech can run battery only, or hard wired....
__________________
"Where ever you are, there you go..."
SkiBumBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 05:32 PM   #5
k-moe
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 2,089
I've used one, and they are......interesting. I used a http://www.walmart.com/ip/Bell-20-Fu...meter/17254766. At first it functioned well, though there is some lag between indicated speed and actual speed. It took mine about 2 seconds to settle in once I got to a constant speed. After a few months it would no longer give an accurate indication of speed above 30 MPH; it still worked fine below that. The inexpensive bike speedometers rely on a magnetic reed switch, instead of a Hall Effect sensor like the Trail Tech does. I think that on mine the reed switch simply began to fail due to flexing much more rapidly than the manufacturer intended.
k-moe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:35 PM   #6
victor441
Studly Adventurer
 
victor441's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Sonoma, Calif.
Oddometer: 789
From what I've read many brands will not work at motorcycle speeds but Sigma's generally do....have not tried a Sigma on an MC but they have worked great on my bicycles. Another option I have tried is a Garmin GPS bicycle speedo and it works well, also records your track if you want to download it to a computer, Google maps, etc after the ride. Will run for many hours on its internal rechargeable battery but will probably wire up a mini USB feed on mine so battery life is not a concern...

victor441 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 08:40 PM   #7
bisbonian
Studly Adventurer
 
bisbonian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Bisbee, AZ & Banamichi, Sonora
Oddometer: 967
This is the one I've been running for almost a year now:



It's a Cateye Velo 5, this has been discontinued now but I think it was discontinued when I picked it up at my local bike store for about $25.

The specs say the max speed is 185mph, I have no fear of outrunning that.
__________________
My 2009 Alaska Adventure

bisbonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:47 PM   #8
Kelly_O
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Rifle, Colorado
Oddometer: 316
I use a Sigma wired unit. Watch battery once a year is all the service it requires. VERY accurate. About $17.
Kelly_O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 10:22 AM   #9
MrPulldown OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 2,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisbonian View Post
This is the one I've been running for almost a year now:



It's a Cateye Velo 5, this has been discontinued now but I think it was discontinued when I picked it up at my local bike store for about $25.

The specs say the max speed is 185mph, I have no fear of outrunning that.
What is wronge with the stock speedo?
I think that I am going to get a cheepo wired one, based on all of your comments. I have a wireless computer on the wifes bike (bicycle) and it is finiky.
No back light though. I guess I don't run at night too often.
__________________
94 DR 350 SE
No Load LED Flash Relay and Diode Kits for Sale
MrPulldown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 01:20 PM   #10
bisbonian
Studly Adventurer
 
bisbonian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Bisbee, AZ & Banamichi, Sonora
Oddometer: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPulldown View Post
What is wronge with the stock speedo?

The original dash crapped out but I came up with a replacement. However the replacement dash is metric. While I can do the math sometimes I'm lazy and the bicycle speedometer was a cheap and easy addition.
__________________
My 2009 Alaska Adventure

bisbonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:01 PM   #11
MrPulldown OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 2,437
I would really want to run a vapor but funds are low right now. I think I found a cheap Ebay unit with a backlight and air temp.
__________________
94 DR 350 SE
No Load LED Flash Relay and Diode Kits for Sale
MrPulldown is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014