ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2011, 07:13 PM   #1
fly-n-brian OP
low and slow
 
fly-n-brian's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: West Richland, WA (aka TriCities)
Oddometer: 6
Eek Reseting the trips 1 and 2 on a 09 f800gs

Hey guys, I need a little help, reseting my trip meter. Per the manual while on trip 1 or 2, you hold down the #2 button on the OBC. It's not working. I can reset the clock with no problem. I called 3 different BMW dealers and they had never had that problem come up. I finally disconnected the battery and that did the trick, but not permanently, the #2 button still does not work. I have just over 6K miles on the bike and just had the brake line rerouted and fender removed. But I don't think that would have caused the problem... Any thoughts? The dealer is 2.5 hours away.
fly-n-brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 10:26 PM   #2
Effisland
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Effisland's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: B.C.CANADA
Oddometer: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by fly-n-brian View Post
Hey guys, I need a little help, reseting my trip meter. Per the manual while on trip 1 or 2, you hold down the #2 button on the OBC. It's not working. I can reset the clock with no problem. I called 3 different BMW dealers and they had never had that problem come up. I finally disconnected the battery and that did the trick, but not permanently, the #2 button still does not work. I have just over 6K miles on the bike and just had the brake line rerouted and fender removed. But I don't think that would have caused the problem... Any thoughts? The dealer is 2.5 hours away.
My guess is that the function button has been switched, I've had this problem before and its aggravating as hell. You need to enter the edit function and change the setting so that it's back to normal. Check your manual on how to do this, I can't seem to find mine at the moment. Should fix the problem. You can tell whether this is the problem by pressing the button by the left grip and instead of scrolling through the computer (temp, ave speed, ave fuel etc) it scrolls the timer and odometer.
__________________
***********
2010 BMW F800GS
Effisland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 02:19 PM   #3
fly-n-brian OP
low and slow
 
fly-n-brian's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: West Richland, WA (aka TriCities)
Oddometer: 6
Laugh Figured it out...

I couldn't get it back to the original settings, but did figure out how to reset the trips... When on trip 1 or 2 just hold down the info button and that will reset it.
I like being able to toggle thru odometer and the trips with the info button better, but I still would like to know how I got it there initially and to be able to go back to the original settings.
fly-n-brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 11:14 PM   #4
Effisland
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Effisland's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: B.C.CANADA
Oddometer: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by fly-n-brian View Post
I couldn't get it back to the original settings, but did figure out how to reset the trips... When on trip 1 or 2 just hold down the info button and that will reset it.
I like being able to toggle thru odometer and the trips with the info button better, but I still would like to know how I got it there initially and to be able to go back to the original settings.
Yep, sounds like you've got the alternative set up. It's a pain and I've been stuck there too.

Seems to me you need to hold down both buttons at once (on the dash) to enter edit mode, and then scroll through the options. I think it's on the same screen as 'Flash' for the redline monitor, and you just choose the setting it's not currently on (like on/off).

Sorry for the shit instructions, I still can't find my manual. Someone else can confirm this hopefully.
__________________
***********
2010 BMW F800GS
Effisland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:38 AM   #5
Ceri JC
UK GSer
 
Ceri JC's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: All over, usually Wales or England
Oddometer: 2,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Effisland View Post
Yep, sounds like you've got the alternative set up. It's a pain and I've been stuck there too.

Seems to me you need to hold down both buttons at once (on the dash) to enter edit mode, and then scroll through the options. I think it's on the same screen as 'Flash' for the redline monitor, and you just choose the setting it's not currently on (like on/off).

Sorry for the shit instructions, I still can't find my manual. Someone else can confirm this hopefully.
Yes, that's what it sounds like. I can never remember it off the top of my head, either. Occasionally when I collect mine from the dealers it is switched or when I have switched it to allow easier use of the lap timer. 30 seconds of fiddling with the buttons in various combinations and I stumble on it.
__________________
I like my bike because I can overtake 4x4s down farm tracks with a week's worth of shopping on the back.
Ceri JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 12:11 PM   #6
rideoregon
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Oddometer: 10
Unexpected twist

I ran into this problem...the info button was suddenly toggling odometer and trip meter settings instead of OBC settings (temp., fuel economy, etc.). The biggest aggravation was button #2 was not not resetting my trip meters (which I always do when I fuel up). What I came to learn (after owning the bike for 4 1/2 years) is that the OBC has an alternative button function which allows the use of the info button to record lap times (who uses the bike on a track?). At any rate I think I must have entered this alternative button function accidentally when resetting the clock (perhaps). I followed the spartan instructions in the manual to restore the original button function but it did not work with the ignition on and engine off. It was only after I got the idea to try the sequence with the engine running did the sequence work. The manual does not state that the engine must be running but in my case at least it did for it to work.

For anyone interested the sequence is: press buttons #1 and #2 simultaneously until FLASH appears; press button #2 until LAP appears; press button #1 until OFF appears; press and hold buttons #1 and #2 until display changes to save settings. Do this with engine running and it should restore buttons #1, #2, and INFO button to default factory settings.
rideoregon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 05:09 AM   #7
mitchapalooza
Rider is Air-cooled
 
mitchapalooza's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Bethesda, MD
Oddometer: 114
I have a lap timer?!











mitchapalooza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:23 AM   #8
Reaver
Outta Here
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Homeless Adventurer
Oddometer: 2,709
If you bought your bike without an owner's manual or lost it in the garage....you can get a free PDF of it HERE. I know, it's more fun to post a question but hey, there you go. You have options.
__________________
Life is a Rollercoaster and I'm not strapped in!

Leaving it all behind 2014

.
Reaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014