ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
dvmweb OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Oddometer: 34
Can ktm run reg gas?

Just checking out the KTM website. Do any of the new bikes run on regular octane (87) gas?

Walt
MI/USA
dvmweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:36 PM   #2
Dan950ser
NW Shredder
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Oddometer: 405
I run it in baja with no problems.
__________________
2007 KTM 990 SuperDuperEnduroR

2014 KTM 250 XC-W
Dan950ser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:38 PM   #3
traveltoad
Aaron S
 
traveltoad's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: San Fernando Valley
Oddometer: 6,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan950ser View Post
i run it in baja with no problems.
+1
traveltoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:23 PM   #4
CRW
I dont want a pickle
 
CRW's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Cotati Ca. USA
Oddometer: 801
+2
__________________
06 KTM 950 ADV
2006 KTM 450 EXC
DMC FRAMED XR125
CRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:22 PM   #5
v8toilet
Nothing to see here.
 
v8toilet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Northwest U.S.
Oddometer: 1,712
Just for clarification do you guys use the fuel quality/ low octane wire when running 87?

Or is that more for when the fuel is of dubious quality or you detect some pinging/knocking. I've not activated it on 87 and had no issues or notified performance differences. I have not run 87 in high temps while lugging the engine or working it extra hard either though. I've only used 87 when other options were unavailable.

v8toilet screwed with this post 04-09-2013 at 10:30 PM
v8toilet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:31 PM   #6
CRW
I dont want a pickle
 
CRW's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Cotati Ca. USA
Oddometer: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8toilet View Post
Just for clarification do you guys use the fuel quality/ low octane wire when running 87?
nope not me. i would have to take my luggage (GL) off to get under the seat.
it ran fine not perfect, but no pinging. my old 640 would run worse on the low octane w/o the wire disconnected.
__________________
06 KTM 950 ADV
2006 KTM 450 EXC
DMC FRAMED XR125
CRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:47 PM   #7
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,540
just run it

when I can get it I run 92, but when the tank is nearing empty and in a remote area, I run what I can get. Tends to ping/knock a little early and maybe run a little warm, but other than that...... ride it like a race bike
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 12:41 AM   #8
Dan950ser
NW Shredder
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Oddometer: 405
[QUOTE=v8toilet;21150271]Just for clarification do you guys use the fuel quality/ low octane wire when running 87?

Nope just run it.
__________________
2007 KTM 990 SuperDuperEnduroR

2014 KTM 250 XC-W
Dan950ser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:35 PM   #9
MortimerSickle
Semi-Adventurer
 
MortimerSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Rainville, Orygun, where moss is a road hazard.
Oddometer: 12,063
I put a toggle switch in the circuit to eliminate the need to get to the wire to pull it.

Flip and go, with no worries of engine damage.
__________________


I miss round headlights.

"When I was a young man, I liked to race my horse...." -
G.H.W.S. 1878-1962
MortimerSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:36 AM   #10
Unruled
950S
 
Unruled's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Drugs, wooden shoes and windmills
Oddometer: 118
Toggle here too, put a whole array of switches in the compartment in front of the seat, this is one of them :)
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.
Unruled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:44 AM   #11
traveltoad
Aaron S
 
traveltoad's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: San Fernando Valley
Oddometer: 6,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by head2wind View Post
just run it
+1

If you get fuel out of Mexican milk jugs... probably a good idea to install an inline fuel filter.
traveltoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:13 AM   #12
MortimerSickle
Semi-Adventurer
 
MortimerSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Rainville, Orygun, where moss is a road hazard.
Oddometer: 12,063
What is the advantage of not using the low-octane ignition curve?

Though some riders report not experiencing engine damage, I would rather not run the risk.

To change the curve is as simple as flicking a switch, and I haven't noticed enough difference in performance to matter in a temporary situation.
__________________


I miss round headlights.

"When I was a young man, I liked to race my horse...." -
G.H.W.S. 1878-1962
MortimerSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:27 AM   #13
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 759
Not sure on the wire thing - - I've run 87 a few times at sea level and can't really tell any difference at all - no wire disconnect. I have never heard of anyone having some sort of issue by "not" disconnecting.....yet.
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:49 AM   #14
MortimerSickle
Semi-Adventurer
 
MortimerSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Rainville, Orygun, where moss is a road hazard.
Oddometer: 12,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrish4ku View Post
...
I have never heard of anyone having some sort of issue by "not" disconnecting.....yet.
Neither have I, but I don't want to be the first.

Maybe the hazard is only in extreme conditions, or maybe KTM is just being overly cautious in their recommendation. But, I see no reason to wonder: I can easily avoid the question by flipping a switch. Maybe if I were in a race, and a small advantage would make the difference of winning or losing, I would see it differently, but....
__________________


I miss round headlights.

"When I was a young man, I liked to race my horse...." -
G.H.W.S. 1878-1962
MortimerSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014