ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
graniterover OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Oddometer: 29
No electrical power

2006 950 Adventure

Battery was dead (wouldn't hold a charge). Ordered a new one. A neighborhood kid has been helping me with some small projects. He put the new battery in and accidentally grounded the wrench on the aluminum plate above the battery.

No ignition, no power.

The ignition fuse (10amp) seems fine. With a tester there is no power to the fuse that I can see. Of course, at the same time, the battery on my multi meter died so I was only using a test lamp.

Either way, the manual has the power from the battery going to the 10amp fuse, then to the ignition.

Any suggestions on what I should test for next?

Thank you in advance. Hoping to get this going by Saturday so I can ride!

Mark
graniterover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 05:59 PM   #2
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,587
30 amp main fuse down next to the battery.

Teach the kid how to install a battery safely too. He could have been really hurt
spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 07:09 PM   #3
graniterover OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Oddometer: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by spafxer View Post
30 amp main fuse down next to the battery.

Teach the kid how to install a battery safely too. He could have been really hurt
Thank you for the quick reply.

Both 30 amp fuses looked good. To be certain, I went to the store and bought a box, installed two new ones, and.... nothing.

Going to go poke around the starter relay with a test light.
graniterover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 07:25 PM   #4
graniterover OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Oddometer: 29
Wouldn't the power have to go through the ignition regardless of the power to the starter relay switch?

I mean, the schematic shows a line from the battery to the ignition switch.

I bet I blew that. I don't see a fuse before the power gets to it, only a 10 amp after.
graniterover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:58 PM   #5
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,587
With a voltmeter it is easy to follow the 12 volts from the battery through the 30 amp fuse up to the steering head area. There is a copper piece that goes bad between the battery cable bolt and 30 amp fuse holder. (the second 30 amp fuse is a spare)


What I'm not sure of is, if the kid was shorting out the battery at the battery there is no fuse protection there.

The key switch has been known to go bad, but the ass u mption is this is related to the battery install, right?
spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:48 PM   #6
slackmeyer
Don't mean sheeit. .
 
slackmeyer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Berzerkeley, CA
Oddometer: 3,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by graniterover View Post
2006 950 Adventure

Battery was dead (wouldn't hold a charge). Ordered a new one. A neighborhood kid has been helping me with some small projects. He put the new battery in and accidentally grounded the wrench on the aluminum plate above the battery.

No ignition, no power.

The ignition fuse (10amp) seems fine. With a tester there is no power to the fuse that I can see. Of course, at the same time, the battery on my multi meter died so I was only using a test lamp.

Either way, the manual has the power from the battery going to the 10amp fuse, then to the ignition.

Any suggestions on what I should test for next?

Thank you in advance. Hoping to get this going by Saturday so I can ride!

Mark
Is the battery still good according to your test light? If so, I would suspect a terminal or a cable immediately around the battery, current shouldn't have traveled through many other places if the key was off at the time.
__________________
Zak

ktm
old bmw
others
slackmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:59 PM   #7
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,524
if the battery was momentarily shorted + to frame (-) at the battery the fuses will be just fine. I would go through all of the termination points of the major cables. A volt meter will help with the diagnosis, otherwise you will be doing a lot of chasing your tail.
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:50 AM   #8
graniterover OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Oddometer: 29
Working from home today. Bike is 20 feet away. I'm sure no one will notice as I fix it!
graniterover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:29 AM   #9
knobbyjoe
knobbyjoe
 
knobbyjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N by NW of The Biggest Little City
Oddometer: 478
Curious here... For future reference, what did you find and what did you do to fix it.
__________________
KTM 400 XCRW with Thumper Racing 450 kit and 450 cam 2007
KTM 450 XCRW with Christini AWD and Plated 2008 now has 520 Thumper Racing kit
KTM 990 Adventure 2008
knobbyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:33 AM   #10
graniterover OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Oddometer: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by knobbyjoe View Post
Curious here... For future reference, what did you find and what did you do to fix it.
Had to go in to work. Got as far as pulling the bike out of the garage.
graniterover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:28 PM   #11
graniterover OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Oddometer: 29
Thank you everyone for helping me. Finally got a few minutes to address this.

The previous owner had put an aux fuse box on the bike. It was so well done that I did not realize the MAIN stock + wire was not connected, but was in fact shoved behind the battery by my clever helper. I saw the aux wire and mistakenly thought it was the main stock wire.

Full disclosure: my friend Steve found the problem.

I think I'll take the whole bike apart soon so I know what goes where when future things crop up.
graniterover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:32 PM   #12
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by graniterover View Post
Thank you everyone for helping me. Finally got a few minutes to address this.

The previous owner had put an aux fuse box on the bike. It was so well done that I did not realize the MAIN stock + wire was not connected, but was in fact shoved behind the battery by my clever helper. I saw the aux wire and mistakenly thought it was the main stock wire.

Full disclosure: my friend Steve found the problem.

I think I'll take the whole bike apart soon so I know what goes where when future things crop up.
Yep. I've done that before.
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Gravity is a very fickle mistress." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014