ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 01:21 PM   #1
gsweave OP
Yinz, blinkers are on.
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: The Paris of Appalachia
Oddometer: 11,340
School me on Hydronic heating, concrete slabs

Building a 44'x28' garage/workshop.


thinking hydronic heat held at 60 degrees, Pennsylvania winters.

Some say a 40 gallon hot water tank would be sufficent, with a pump. I don't know?

4" concrete slab. aside from PEX and a suitible manifold for three zones, what do I need, what costs should I project.
__________________
1Paul 2:15
For it is God's will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish men. 16 Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil;... .
gsweave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 06:02 PM   #2
pvangel
Team AARP
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: South Salem, NY
Oddometer: 2,437
A 40 gallon tank is more than enough, really it is the recovery rate on the heat and what is most cost effective. If you have Natural Gas than a small even 6-10 gal gas fired heater works fine, electric maybe 15-20? You have to evaluate the energy costs in your area.

I have it in my garage and installed a mixing valve off my boiler so I could run the lowest possible temperature water out to the garage and a temp gauge on the supply and return so I could monitor it. My water going into the slab is 110 deg and comes back at about 90 so am only raising the water temp by about 20 deg.(maybe a little more)which is very efficient.

Once you get the slab up to temp it takes little energy to maintain. Whatever it ends up costing you just do it, best money you can spend on the garage!
pvangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:43 PM   #3
Motornoggin
Two-Bit Throttle Bum
 
Motornoggin's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Lightning Bugs, High Plains Chapter
Oddometer: 21,012
40 gallon should be plenty.

I run an outside slab (stupidly steep driveway) on a pump and boiler with no tank. Filled with antifreeze, I just flip a switch when I need to melt the ice off.
__________________
O.K. Joke's over. You can bring back the constitution now. Please.

My Wyoming has an East infection.

http://motornoggin.smugmug.com
Motornoggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:00 AM   #4
C Squared
Now with TURBO!
 
C Squared's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: FDL WI.
Oddometer: 6,902
That will work. I have a 32X32 foot 12 foot walls shop in WI.
Lots of ceiling insulation ( over 24") SIP walls

I use a 40 gallon Water heater (high efficiency) I have a blend valve etc. and I run the heater at 2 steps off lowest temp. 100? out and maybe 90 back.

I heat the shop to 60 deg. That is long sleeve shirt comfort.

I could take pics of the system if ya needed it.
__________________
I can explain it to you, but, I can't understand it for you.
C Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 04:43 AM   #5
DUNDERHEAD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: CT
Oddometer: 189
I have a 24 by 30 foot shop I built in 2005. Radiant in slab heat supplied by a wall mounted propane fired boiler made by Takagi. Amazing little unit measures 14 inches by 30 inches high, supplies hot water on demand. Poured slab over 2 inches styrafoam ( more would be better if budget allows ) over 10 inches crushed stone. R-21 walls and R-30 ceiling. I keep the thermostat at 58 year round here in CT. The most comfortable heat there is !
DUNDERHEAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:09 AM   #6
darkstarmoto
Am I evil? Yes I am
 
darkstarmoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: SEPA
Oddometer: 343
^^ Insulation...that is the key to a good radiant system. Must separate grade from slab and also remember to pull the radiant grid up into suspension in the concrete. Leaving it laying at the bottom against the insulation will not be as affective.
__________________
05 KTM 950ADV - 08 KTM 690 SMR - 07 Ducati MTS1100S - Redneck Engineering Mutant
darkstarmoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 11:29 AM   #7
DUNDERHEAD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: CT
Oddometer: 189
Remember when you order the concrete to tell the ready mix plant. Mine had Fiber-Mesh in the mix. I also recall pouring 5 inches thick. More mass is better !
DUNDERHEAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:54 PM   #8
3bangin
2010 Tiger 1050
 
3bangin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Tacoma wa
Oddometer: 234
My Step son owne's this company and there are pictures that give good examples.
http://mountainsideheat.com/project_photos

Bob
__________________
Ride Fast Ride Smart!
3bangin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 03:25 PM   #9
tommymerle
advwanabee
 
tommymerle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: frozen north (Lutsen, Minnesota)
Oddometer: 343
insulate the side of the slab too. I have infloor heat in my shop and house, love it.
__________________
2000 Aprilia Pegaso
tommymerle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:02 PM   #10
C Squared
Now with TURBO!
 
C Squared's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: FDL WI.
Oddometer: 6,902
Yup, I have 3" of insulation under my slab and also outside edges.

Same in the house and garage.
__________________
I can explain it to you, but, I can't understand it for you.
C Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014