ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-03-2011, 05:33 PM   #1
Dagwood_55 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,318
A Few How to Questions about BaseCamp

Concerning BaseCamp

How can I join conecting routes and/or tracks, to make one single track out of several connecting ones.

If I change a route or track, how can I cut out a portion that I don't want??

Thanks,
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 07:36 PM   #2
DennyIndy
Old F@rt
 
DennyIndy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Indiana
Oddometer: 349


select tracks.....
right click.......
choose - join tracks.....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac View Post
Fret about bigger issues, like whether a neighbor's dog is pooping in your yard.
Cheers, Denny
DennyIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 05:51 AM   #3
Dagwood_55 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,318
Thanks DI,
I'd seen the advanced tag on the pull down, but never after selecting 2 tracks.

Now if I can only get rid of those extra tails and mistakes.................
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:07 PM   #4
DennyIndy
Old F@rt
 
DennyIndy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Indiana
Oddometer: 349
In the same area of the screen where i selected the tracks.

Double click on one.

That opens the route or track properties.

In there under the waypoints tab you can delete waypoints, and track points.
Hopefully that will help out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac View Post
Fret about bigger issues, like whether a neighbor's dog is pooping in your yard.
Cheers, Denny
DennyIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 04:30 PM   #5
bajafool
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Oddometer: 30
DennyIndy,
Could you provide a little more information about removing Index Points from a track, as well as joining two tracks together?

I am using BaseCamp version 2.1.2 for Tiger (Macintosh). Yes, I know it is very dated, but if I update BaseCamp it locks my map I have the Selector, Waypoint, Route, Track and Measure Tools on my Tool Bar.

I have a 7 mile track that resulted after a lot of wandering around on a ride to Baja California last week. It should be about 5 miles long, if the backtracks were removed. I know which Indexes should be deleted. But, I can't figure out how to make it happen. I'm not sure if I can even edit the Track with this old version of BaseCamp. Your help would be appreciated.
bajafool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:23 PM   #6
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,146
What are "index points"?

Wouldn't the erase/delete/divide and etc tools, applied in the correct steps, work for the above?
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 02:51 AM   #7
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by bajafool View Post
I'm not sure if I can even edit the Track with this old version of BaseCamp.
I'm not sure either, I'm using BC version 4.1.2 for Windows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bajafool View Post
Could you provide a little more information about removing Index Points from a track, as well as joining two tracks together?
Try double clicking on your track in the map field and see if a properties box will open. Select a index point in the properties box and a orange circle should appear on the map at that point. As you move down though the index points the orange circle will move along the track. When you wish to remove one, just press the 'Delete' button on the keyboard. You can use 'Undo' to bring it back.

When joining tracks, first make sure all of them are headed in your direction of travel. Then select them one at a time starting at the starting point, selecting them in series until you reach your final destination point. The resulting joined track will take the color of the first track you selected.

Using the track properties box you can keep track, no pun intended, of the total number of index points the track contains. Some gps's have a limit on the number they can handle. The greater number of index points used will give a track a more detailed shape.

daryl

dlh62c screwed with this post 04-17-2013 at 08:19 AM
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:21 AM   #8
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,146
Thanks for all of this!
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:39 PM   #9
jimhaleyscomet
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Oddometer: 98
Double Maps on Basecamp

I also have a question about base camp. I am reading my city navigator map off of my Oregon, but I get double large roads. The "global map" road versions (say I80 for example) and the I80 inside of my city navigator map. Is there anyway to get rid of the global maps roads while I have the city navigator map selected. This also happens with TOPO maps downloaded from gpsfiledepot.com.
jimhaleyscomet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014