ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2007, 03:52 AM   #1
Beez OP
Given to fly
 
Beez's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Framingham, MA
Oddometer: 5,746
Question Rear brake light no worky - LC4

The rear brake is not activating the brake light on my 1997 620 RXC. The brake light works fine with the front brake and if I touch the two wires that connect to the rear brake pressure switch the light goes on. So I believe the problem lies in the pressure switch.

My question is how pressure switches work? Do they just go bad? The rear brake is long overdue for a fluid change, will a fresh bleed make the switch work again?
Beez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:11 AM   #2
Odysseus
Stoic Philosopher
 
Odysseus's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Aurora, CO
Oddometer: 4,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beez
The rear brake is not activating the brake light on my 1997 620 RXC. The brake light works fine with the front brake and if I touch the two wires that connect to the rear brake pressure switch the light goes on. So I believe the problem lies in the pressure switch.

My question is how pressure switches work? Do they just go bad? The rear brake is long overdue for a fluid change, will a fresh bleed make the switch work again?
A fluid change is cheap and easy to do, so it couldn't hurt. But it won't fix a broken pressure switch.

Have you done all the easy things like check all wires/connections, and the fuse? A check with a multimeter should tell you what the problem is very quickly.
__________________
Keep faith with our American heros:

Wounded Warrior Project www.woundedwarriorproject.org

Special Operations Warrior Foundation
www.specialops.org/
Odysseus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:20 AM   #3
Beez OP
Given to fly
 
Beez's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Framingham, MA
Oddometer: 5,746
I have checked the wires. I removed the two wires from the pressure switch, touched them together and the brake light goes on. I don't think it is a wiring failure.

I have a multimeter but don't really know how to use it other than checking the voltage of a battery. Ohms and resistance is BFM to me.*

*Black Fuckin' Magic
Beez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 07:15 AM   #4
KTMax m AL
Fagarwe tribal member AL
 
KTMax m AL's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: "Halfway" to heaven in Eastern Oregon.
Oddometer: 303
Wicked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beez
I have checked the wires. I removed the two wires from the pressure switch, touched them together and the brake light goes on. I don't think it is a wiring failure.

I have a multimeter but don't really know how to use it other than checking the voltage of a battery. Ohms and resistance is BFM to me.*

*Black Fuckin' Magic
You have solved your own problem - the switch is bad.

To use your multimeter to check the switch set the selector to ohms (ohms are a measure of resistance to electricty within a circuit - your brake light switch). With your wires removed from the switch set meter to a low value on the ohms section and hold a test lead on each post of the switch. The meter should show no change - now press your brake lever and if switch is good meter display will change to (0) zero. If switch is no good = no change on the meter.

Easy as cake. IMO

Good luck
KTMax m AL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:09 AM   #5
Beez OP
Given to fly
 
Beez's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Framingham, MA
Oddometer: 5,746
Thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMax m AL
Easy as cake.
I'm more of a pie man.

Thanks, I'll try that tonight!
Beez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:27 AM   #6
dorkpunch
Oops...
 
dorkpunch's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Blackfoot, ID
Oddometer: 5,028
while we're on the subject of brake lights... any idea why my signals/dash lights dont work unless BOTH front and rear brakes are pulled? The brake light will work with the front brake pulled, the back brake pulled, or both, but the signals etc dont work unless both are pulled.
__________________
http://www.mobilemrt.com http://www.dorkpunch.com

"I've been going to this high school for SEVEN YEARS. I'm no dummy!"
-Charles De Mar.
dorkpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 01:26 PM   #7
clintnz
Trans-Global Chook Chaser
 
clintnz's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Rotoiti, New Zealand
Oddometer: 3,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by dorkpunch
while we're on the subject of brake lights... any idea why my signals/dash lights dont work unless BOTH front and rear brakes are pulled? The brake light will work with the front brake pulled, the back brake pulled, or both, but the signals etc dont work unless both are pulled.
Funky shite like that is almost always an indication of a bad earth somewhere.

Cheers
Clint
__________________
'03 KTM 640 LC4 Enduro

The wilderness, the desert - why are they not crowded
.................................................. .....with pilgrims?
clintnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:29 PM   #8
twowheelneil
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Spokane, WA
Oddometer: 2
Bluhduh Headlight and brake light not working

Sorry in advance if I am on the wrong thread but this is the closest thing that I could find to the issues that I am having.

So about a month ago I bought a 1995 ktm lc4 620 RXC. It was sitting for 3 years before I bought it so I got it cheap. I cleaned the carb, adjusted the vavles, changed the oil and coolant, bought a new battery, bought a new petcock(old one was corroded) and some other things that are probably slipping my mind. Regardless, it runs perfect and I couldn't be more thrilled to have a solid dual purpose bike. But, for some reason the headlight (bought a new one) doesnt work and the brake light wont turn off even when I have taken the key out of the ignition which obviously is draining my new battery. The blinkers work perfectly along with the blinker light on the cluster. The horn works while the engine is at speed (Im assuming the stator isnt the strongest). The kill switch works as well. The neutral light wasnt turning on nor was the high beam indicator. Im just trying to think of anything that could be important. I own a voltage meter and have tested nearly everything that I could think of but havent figured anything out!

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
twowheelneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:54 PM   #9
gravityisnotmyfriend
Beastly Adventurer
 
gravityisnotmyfriend's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: ((kg*m)/s^2), IA, USA
Oddometer: 1,064
Feel free to start your own thread. No need to resurrect a 5 year old one.

I've got a '94 620, so I'm hoping it's similar enough to yours to help. How many positions does your ignition switch have? You can put the key in the "park position" and pull it out. This will cause the tail light an a small light in the headlight to remain on. One click clockwise from park is "off". You should be able to pull the key out in this position too - but the tail light should be off. If that's not the case, there's something wacky going on.


As for the headlight. My bike has a three position switch on teh LH grip. All lights off, headlight off (the rest of the lights on), and all lights on. Make sure it's in the right position.

My headlight only illuminates when the bike is running, so make sure you start it and then check the lights.

If all of that checks out, pull your headlight and check to make sure that it isn't burned out. I'm in the process of replacing the voltage regulator because my bike will blow a bulb as soon as it's started.
gravityisnotmyfriend is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 01:39 PM   #10
twowheelneil
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Spokane, WA
Oddometer: 2
Im definitely taking the key out in the 'off' position but I had no idea that the key could be taken out in the 'park' position. That would explain the parking light im assuming? I am going to look into that switch because the writing that would tell me where my light switch should be positioned is faded so I cannot read it. Hopefully that is the issue! Ill go ahead and start a new thread. Thanks for the direction and I hope that you get your issues sorted out.
twowheelneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:05 PM   #11
Queen of Spades
tall drink of water
 
Queen of Spades's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, GA
Oddometer: 831
Shit. Nevermind. Noticed the post dates. deleeeeted.
__________________
'99 KTM 640 LC4 Enduro http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fifXkDQpda4 (January 2014 snow ride)
Queen of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014