ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2013, 07:13 AM   #241
John Smallberries OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
John Smallberries's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Northville, Michigan
Oddometer: 1,209
Posi-Tite

Quote:
Originally Posted by ady-uk View Post
What if one of your items goes wrong or you just simply like upgrading and installing new products as they become available.

You have to chop the wires and resolder a new connection every time.
(sorry but no thank you, no way) I don't like excess wire so a few cuts and the cable is soon going to run out leaving be with a solid lump of resin and no wires left.

Besides every connector on a motorcycle has plugs / sockets.
At 12 volts / low amps, water splashes just don't cause that much of a problem.
My Fuzeblock, I currently use, has got throughly soaked and never caused a problem.
Too much emphasis is put on water and auto electrics. :(

I was trying to get clarification wether my findings were correct.
Have they really removed the plug in style wires.
It seems they have so I wouldn't buy a box that'll rapidly lose its useful lifespan, everytime the wires got cut!#

Sorry I'm really not interested in this anymore.
I was, still would be if it was what I saw in an early brochure (abeilt home programmable) but not now. not with non replacable fixed length wires that you can't affort to cut down or remove till required later and not without the corrosponding earth terminal option.

Shame that a product has moved backwards instead of forwards IMO

Sorry
These work great for a clean PDM60 install and avoid any wire consumption concerns: http://www.posi-lock.com/positite.html
__________________
'05 BMW 1200GS
'09 Honda CRF230
'10 Yamaha TW200
John Smallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:01 AM   #242
ady-uk
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smallberries View Post
These work great for a clean PDM60 install and avoid any wire consumption concerns: http://www.posi-lock.com/positite.html
Thank you but I don't like those either.
They are massive. 12 of those and you have a bunch of grapes to hide :(
ady-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:31 AM   #243
Dallara
Creaks When Walks...
 
Dallara's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: South Texas
Oddometer: 1,710
Cool2 Geez...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ady-uk View Post
What if one of your items goes wrong or you just simply like upgrading and installing new products as they become available.

You have to chop the wires and resolder a new connection every time.
(sorry but no thank you, no way) I don't like excess wire so a few cuts and the cable is soon going to run out leaving be with a solid lump of resin and no wires left.

Besides every connector on a motorcycle has plugs / sockets.
At 12 volts / low amps, water splashes just don't cause that much of a problem.
My Fuzeblock, I currently use, has got throughly soaked and never caused a problem.
Too much emphasis is put on water and auto electrics. :(

I was trying to get clarification wether my findings were correct.
Have they really removed the plug in style wires.
It seems they have so I wouldn't buy a box that'll rapidly lose its useful lifespan, everytime the wires got cut!#

Sorry I'm really not interested in this anymore.
I was, still would be if it was what I saw in an early brochure (abeilt home programmable) but not now. not with non replacable fixed length wires that you can't affort to cut down or remove till required later and not without the corrosponding earth terminal option.

Shame that a product has moved backwards instead of forwards IMO

Sorry


Lot of whining and whinging there for what amounts to a non-issue...

If the fixed length of wire is your big, oh-my-God worry then why not just put male-female bullet-connectors on each of the PDM60's wires and on whatever you wish to wire to it? Then if you want to move the PDM60 to another bike, or you change electrical farkles, you simply unplug it...

What's the problem?

Or were you just looking for a reason to post your own wish list and then diss the product here because it didn't meet your rather odd requirements? A simple perusal of the product's website and/or this thread would have quickly and easily told you it didn't currently match your rather narrow criteria, so why bother?

Dallara



~
__________________
~

You never see a motorcycle parked outside a psychiatrist's office

~
Dallara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:15 AM   #244
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbsingleton73 View Post
Installed a PDM60 on my F800GS. Install went well. Took my time over two-three days. Love it. Can't wait for the USB cable to program the unit myself.
I keep hearing the cable will be available in a few weeks but that's been for a while. Any more current info on when it will be available?
Talked with Rowe yesterday. I hate to quote dates, as things always seem to run longer than expected. That said - *this time* -- I really think it is a couple of weeks.

We have a supply of PDM60's that came in this week, sans USB cable. Our next batch, and all those going forward that Rowe supplies, will include the USB cable - and an upwards price adjustment.

We'll have a stock of cables to satisfy pent-up demand, as well.
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 12:50 PM   #245
JPCollinsworth
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: The Republic of Vermont
Oddometer: 47
Adam, please check your PM's

Thanks - John
JPCollinsworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 01:58 PM   #246
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPCollinsworth View Post
Adam, please check your PM's

Thanks - John
John:

I just replied. We've been flat-out++ here. I apologize for the delay.
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:10 PM   #247
BMW-K
F800GS FTW!
 
BMW-K's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Anaheim, CA
Oddometer: 1,166
I've spent ages wiring up relays, fuses, boxes, more relays and other crap over the years on my bikes. This time I did it different.

Ok, so I just installed one of these on my Ducati Monster.

Seriously, this was just so easy. I'm kinda kicking myself for not getting on the bandwagon and buying this thing sooner.

What a GREAT piece of kit.
__________________
2010 F800GS Anniversary - a return to Eden
2011 Yamaha WR250R, 2012 Ducati Monster
2007 R1200GS (Sold)

IBA # 20880. STFU and Ride.
BMW-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:18 PM   #248
ngng
Adventurer
 
ngng's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Cupertino, CA
Oddometer: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngng View Post
Random question...I have my PDM installed on my 09 GSA with one xenon ballast hooked up to an output. At high RPM, I notice the xenon flickering. Any idea why?
Bump!
__________________
06 DRZ400SM | 07 Race R6 | 08 1198S | 09 R1200GSA

…and those are just the bikes
ngng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:32 PM   #249
cpallen
Nearly Adventurer
 
cpallen's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngng View Post
Bump!
Vibration?
__________________
Courtney in Seattle
'13 BMW F800GT, '07 G650X Challenge
'09 Aprilia Scarabeo 500ie
cpallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:33 PM   #250
ngng
Adventurer
 
ngng's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Cupertino, CA
Oddometer: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpallen View Post
Vibration?
I don't think that's it, I have the same kit on my DRZ without any issues. My buddy has an 07 R1200GSA with the same xenon that I have on my 09 R1200GSA and he has zero issues.
__________________
06 DRZ400SM | 07 Race R6 | 08 1198S | 09 R1200GSA

…and those are just the bikes
ngng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 03:20 PM   #251
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 906
Thumb >> DRUM ROLL, please... The USB Programming Cables

...Are finally here!!! WOOT!!

Here's the deal - We are going to fulfill backorders for cables on Tuesday, and we have a good stock of 'em for anyone that wants one. We'll get these up on the website in the next few days. Retail price on the cable is $39.99.

Rowe has instituted a price increase with our latest PDM60 shipment that just came in. All of these new PDM60's have the USB cable in the package, $199.99 retail. The PDM60 will only be sold with the USB cable, going forward.

We have a handful of the PDM60's without the cables, but once we update the site, our remaining stock will only be sold with a USB programming cable.

Thought y'all'd wanna be the first to know.
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 02:32 AM   #252
John Smallberries OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
John Smallberries's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Northville, Michigan
Oddometer: 1,209
Stebel horn & PDM60: I give up!

I failed at my third attempt to run my Stebel horn thru my PDM60. I have estimated that the horn pulls 17 amps after ~1 second of full "blow". I joined together two 15-amp circuits (white and red) from my PDM60, thinking that each would feed the horn ~8.5 amps and I'd be good to go.

Well - it worked on the short test blasts. If you have one of these horns, you will understand that you DO NOT want to run it full-out in your garage, or anywhere that offends the neighbors. When I got the bike out on the road, away from people, I gave it the full-on 5-second blast - and it popped the circuit.

Has ANYONE out there successfully run a Stebel horn off a PDM60? If so - would you tell me exactly how yours is wired up?

Also - with the new programmable version - can I get a single circuit set to 20 amps?
__________________
'05 BMW 1200GS
'09 Honda CRF230
'10 Yamaha TW200
John Smallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:52 AM   #253
Squelch
Everyday People
 
Squelch's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Daegu, Korea
Oddometer: 1,103
I'm interested to hear the answer to the Stebel question too - I bought one but haven't installed it yet. I may run it off bike power instead if the PDM60 can't handle it.
Squelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:00 AM   #254
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 906
With the updated firmware on existing PDM60's (which we can update at our shop), or the newest PDM60's that have the USB programming cable option enabled, we've done Stebel horns in a 20A circuit. So far, so good.

Why yours is tripping the 2x 15A circuits, I cannot say - it shouldn't - but you know that, already. I'd suggest calling Blake at Rowe Electronics.
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:11 AM   #255
John Smallberries OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
John Smallberries's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Northville, Michigan
Oddometer: 1,209
20 amp!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketMoto View Post
With the updated firmware on existing PDM60's (which we can update at our shop), or the newest PDM60's that have the USB programming cable option enabled, we've done Stebel horns in a 20A circuit. So far, so good.

Why yours is tripping the 2x 15A circuits, I cannot say - it shouldn't - but you know that, already. I'd suggest calling Blake at Rowe Electronics.
Adam;
Very interesting. If I read your note correctly, you are able to calibrate a single channel on the new PDM60 to handle 20 amps. Did I get that right? This appears to be different than what I've seen written previously which implies a 15-amp limit to any individual channel.

From the RocketMoto website: "With custom programming, the current capacity of each circuit, up to 15Amps maximum, can be can be adjusted in .25A (1/4AMP) increments to meet your specific requirements."

If I can truly get a single channel at 20 amps - it may be worth the upgrade!
__________________
'05 BMW 1200GS
'09 Honda CRF230
'10 Yamaha TW200

John Smallberries screwed with this post 06-06-2013 at 11:28 AM
John Smallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014