ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 03:39 PM   #16
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 18,322
When you pull the route back from the GPS to the computer and look at it in a text editor, do you see all the [rtept] tags in there, in the order you want, within the [rte]?

I don't use routes often, but the times I have it's never been an issue.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:01 PM   #17
Bronco638 OP
Nobody Home
 
Bronco638's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Itasca, IL
Oddometer: 3,727
I have never tried that. Do you know how to locate the route file since I'm using Base Camp? Map Source wasn't too hard but BC is supposedly different with the way it stores files.
__________________
There are some simple thruths......and dogs know what they are - Joseph Duemer

Andy holds the lead. And he will, all the way to the Highway. Today is his day.
Bronco638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 07:52 PM   #18
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 18,322
Do you have Google Earth? I use LoadMyTracks, but that's for Mac.
What you're after is a "GPS Import", something that'll suck the user data (wpts, tracks, routes) out of the GPS and into the computer.
GPX is a little easier to look at, but KML will have the same data.
Open that GPX/KML in a text editor and look for the [rte] ("Route") tag, then look at the [rtept] ("Routepoints") in there. See if they're all there, and in the order you want them to be in.

If they're not in there, the problem's with BaseCamp.
If they are in there, the problem's with the GPS.

As others have suggested, putting [rtept]s too close may cause the GPS to think you've hit it, and skip over it in favor of something more distant.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 08:08 AM   #19
Bronco638 OP
Nobody Home
 
Bronco638's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Itasca, IL
Oddometer: 3,727
Well, I can use BaseCamp to "suck" the route file off the 60 but I don't think that's what we're trying to accomplish. I wonder if I could use Map Source to do it and then read the route with NotePad.

Interestingly, the one time I did get the second way point to be recognized by the 60, I had moved it closer to the first way point. So, I think i have the way points spaced far enough apart. But, when the last way point was skipped, it was pretty close to the end via point.
__________________
There are some simple thruths......and dogs know what they are - Joseph Duemer

Andy holds the lead. And he will, all the way to the Highway. Today is his day.
Bronco638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014