ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2013, 09:43 AM   #1
msg1979 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 4
Question How to install a Garmin montana 650 on a KTM 950 adventure?

Im about to install a Garmin montana 650 in my KTM 950 Adventure 2004 model.

I only have the GPS, so I need all the mounting devices!

But I really cant find out what I need?!

Touratech makes a mount that can be locked but they dont write what part that is needed to mount the mount?!

I want the GPS just behind the windscreen. I would prefer that the GOS is mounted vertical.

So can anyone tell me which parts I need to buy so I can get the montana mounted?

Thx
msg1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 10:19 AM   #2
FakeName
Wile E Coyote SuperGenius
 
FakeName's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,676
I mounted my Zumo like this http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...7&postcount=63

Could work the same for a Montana. There are lots of threads on this...
__________________
ADVdiscount Motorcycle Product Photography


2011 White 990 Adv S
2014 500EXC Black
FakeName is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 10:40 AM   #3
Ladukebob
lost in hood river
 
Ladukebob's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Hood River, Or.
Oddometer: 1,659
I just installed my 600 by using the existing two mounting holes where the previous owner had a TT bracket mounted. I made up a small aluminum plate and mounted it to the dash, drilled and tapped for this ball- http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx

Used a short Ram arm connected to the Garmin power mount for the 600 series- http://www.gpscity.com/garmin-montan...ike-mount.html

This is nice because it hard wires to your electrical system for power supply. You'll also need to but the ball for the back of this mount. Look on the Rammount.com site or call them and let them know what part you're looking for.

Pretty clean set up and way cheaper than TT's system

Sorry but I don't have any photo's of the set up.
__________________
2011 990 adv
2012 wr250r
You don't know what you don't know
findLadukebob
Ladukebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 11:36 AM   #4
msg1979 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 4
How do U charge the montana when U go ride then?

I was thinking getting that rammount and putting it on the GPS bracket for the 950 adv from KTM. But I cannot find out how the montana then charges?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladukebob View Post
I just installed my 600 by using the existing two mounting holes where the previous owner had a TT bracket mounted. I made up a small aluminum plate and mounted it to the dash, drilled and tapped for this ball- http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx

Used a short Ram arm connected to the Garmin power mount for the 600 series- http://www.gpscity.com/garmin-montan...ike-mount.html

This is nice because it hard wires to your electrical system for power supply. You'll also need to but the ball for the back of this mount. Look on the Rammount.com site or call them and let them know what part you're looking for.

Pretty clean set up and way cheaper than TT's system

Sorry but I don't have any photo's of the set up.
msg1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 01:19 PM   #5
Ladukebob
lost in hood river
 
Ladukebob's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Hood River, Or.
Oddometer: 1,659
Quote:
Originally Posted by msg1979 View Post
How do U charge the montana when U go ride then?

I was thinking getting that rammount and putting it on the GPS bracket for the 950 adv from KTM. But I cannot find out how the montana then charges?

My bad, gave you the wrong link. Try this one-

http://www.gpscity.com/garmin-montan...wer-cable.html
__________________
2011 990 adv
2012 wr250r
You don't know what you don't know
findLadukebob
Ladukebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 01:29 PM   #6
Boatman
Ride more, BS less!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 10,004
http://www.gpscity.com/ram-mount-gar...unt-steel.html

AMPS cradle with the RAM mount. If you have the stock triple clamps you can bolt it to the two stck holes right.in front of the bars. You will need to file the mount a bit to make the screws fit. This puts the gps right in the perfect spot. Wire the power to the accessory wires behind the headlight.

Sorry I don't have pics... my bike is in a different state than me right now.
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs
Boatman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 08:19 PM   #7
ciedema
мотоциклист
 
ciedema's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: On the road! Finally!
Oddometer: 1,912
Here is mine, RAM mount and RAM AMPS Base.









Wired to the accessory plug.
__________________
Stories from the Seat Facebook My Photos Cannonball Charity Ride
Personal Attacks - the last refuge of the intellectually impaired.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XR650L_Dave View Post
The only guaranteed route to failure is the attempted solution of problems through the application of ideology.
ciedema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:03 AM   #8
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 629
I like the AMPS base as well, very solid mount for a very reasonable price, and it's powered. I mounted mine right in the middle of the dash just behind the windshield...like so:



I did use some thick SS washers below the plastic dash to help support the weight, it's been a year (20K miles) so far with no signs of stress. I've even taken it for a few laps on the MX track.
srad600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:35 AM   #9
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,728
Looks like a nice setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by srad600 View Post
I like the AMPS base as well, very solid mount for a very reasonable price, and it's powered. I mounted mine right in the middle of the dash just behind the windshield...like so:



I did use some thick SS washers below the plastic dash to help support the weight, it's been a year (20K miles) so far with no signs of stress. I've even taken it for a few laps on the MX track.
I guess you unmounted the GPS in the MX track? Any more detailed photos? How about sunglare?
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 04:24 AM   #10
kingrj
Gnarly Adventurer
 
kingrj's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Oddometer: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladukebob View Post
I just installed my 600 by using the existing two mounting holes where the previous owner had a TT bracket mounted. I made up a small aluminum plate and mounted it to the dash, drilled and tapped for this ball- http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx

Used a short Ram arm connected to the Garmin power mount for the 600 series- http://www.gpscity.com/garmin-montan...ike-mount.html

This is nice because it hard wires to your electrical system for power supply. You'll also need to but the ball for the back of this mount. Look on the Rammount.com site or call them and let them know what part you're looking for.

Pretty clean set up and way cheaper than TT's system

Sorry but I don't have any photo's of the set up.
What this fellow said!
kingrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 05:14 AM   #11
Boatman
Ride more, BS less!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 10,004
Just stumbled across this thread...

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...4#post21268094

They have a couple discount codes in the thread,,,, one for RAM mounts and another for a smoking deal on the Montana bundle.
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs
Boatman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 10:37 AM   #12
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by gefr View Post
I guess you unmounted the GPS in the MX track? Any more detailed photos? How about sunglare?
Actually I did not dismount it on the MX track. I wanted to see how it would hold up to stress over time, and I thought taking a few big jumps with it would give me some insight into that. Glare is not an issue most of the time, every once in a while when the sun is just right, it can wash out the screen a bit. I use the glare screen that came with the montana and that gets rid of 90% of the glare. Also you can adjust the angle pretty easily to eliminate any glare.

I also mapped the track just for kicks...



Unfortunately I didn't document the install, so I don't have many photos of it. It's mounted upside down here (power on top) but you get the idea.
srad600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:53 PM   #13
EdGear
Edventurer
 
EdGear's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Oddometer: 531
I have TT Zumo mounts for three bikes. The trail oriented bike I converted the TT mount to use the Montana AMPS mount.
Steps
1) Remove the Garmin Zumo cradle from the TT mount
2) Remove the sheet metal that held the Garmin Cradle
3) Use removed sheet metal as a form to bend an thin metal plate
4) Use removed sheet metal as an outline to mark the newly formed plate
5) Cut plate
6) Depending on how you mounted your Zumo previously you may have room to mount the Montana horizontally or vertically or both
7) Use the AMPS cradle to mark mounting holes in the new plate
8) Drill holes
9) Mount AMPS cradle to new plate
10) Put new plate back on TT mount

May look like this


I plan on using the AMPS locking screw to give a bit more security.
__________________
2010 KTM 690 Enduro R
2006 KTM 950 Adventure S
2002 KTM 400/453 EXC
EdGear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 06:31 AM   #14
Chinookmark
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: New Hartford, CT
Oddometer: 171
I used the KTM mount that goes above the dash. Instead of buying the expensive TT mount o go with it, I just bolted the AMPS rugged mount to a small 1/8" aluminum plate, and secured it to the mount with U-bolts. I also used some vacuum line to take up some space between the mount bar and the U-bolts.

Probably not ideal, but I works.

Chinookmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 05:09 PM   #15
JTMETZ54
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Parker, Colorado
Oddometer: 22
I am about half way ion to installing the Garmin marine type mount on the dash. It uses the same cradle as most but includes the base. It appears to be strong enough, but time will tell. I should be able to post pics and install tomorrow.
JTMETZ54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014