ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2013, 01:55 AM   #1
fmxrider OP
LIVE FREE
 
fmxrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 17
Electronic instrument

Hello people,

I am thinking of buying an electronic instrument for my Adventure 990.

I saw the:

http://www.trailtechproducts.co.uk/a...r_Stealth.html.


Have you ever tried them? What do you suggest?

Thank you.
__________________
Remember Mother Nature is powerful. We all know the way...the detours....that set us FREE...

The Outbound Shed
http://www.outboundshed.com
fmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
sonoran
subsonic
 
sonoran's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Valle del Sol
Oddometer: 21,598
Not on my 990 but have on my 450. Trail Tech is good stuff. What is your thinking for putting it on a 990?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DireWolf View Post
You can't go to other parts of your city because you are a giant vagina in a Men's Warehouse suit.

the sun does not have no prisoners
sonoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:26 PM   #3
Mr_Snips
Husky BRAAAAAAAAP!
 
Mr_Snips's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Yucca Valley, CA
Oddometer: 352
I had one on my old race bike and it worked great minus the pickup for rpm wouldnt update fast enough at full throttle but i mean who really uses that to shift anyways?

It was solidly built and worked perfectly other than that. i'd reccomend it to a friend.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reprobate
Familiar. My stock response: "Most people die in bed. So, where do you sleep?"
Mr_Snips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:45 PM   #4
Todd-Squad
See Ya, Bye.
 
Todd-Squad's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The great state of Utah
Oddometer: 753
Trail Tech makes some quality stuff

My son had one on a CRF230 he used to own. It worked really well and was quite simple to install. The most complicated part is picking a spot on the brake disk to drill out for the magnetic pick up so the speedometer works.
__________________
A ride you say? When and Where?
My Favorite Pics
Todd-Squad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 03:19 AM   #5
fmxrider OP
LIVE FREE
 
fmxrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoran View Post
Not on my 990 but have on my 450. Trail Tech is good stuff. What is your thinking for putting it on a 990?
Hi Sonoran, I have a "small" problem. The default electronic instrument from KTM is not working properly (button stuck). I tried from another 990, everything was working great except the temperature indications. I don't know what is going wrong :( , that's why I am thinking of a cheaper electronic instrument.

Please let me know if you have something in mind.
__________________
Remember Mother Nature is powerful. We all know the way...the detours....that set us FREE...

The Outbound Shed
http://www.outboundshed.com
fmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 02:25 PM   #6
ybracing
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmxrider View Post
Hi Sonoran, I have a "small" problem. The default electronic instrument from KTM is not working properly (button stuck). I tried from another 990, everything was working great except the temperature indications. I don't know what is going wrong :( , that's why I am thinking of a cheaper electronic instrument.

Please let me know if you have something in mind.
I have the same problem with one of the buttons on my 950. The odometer works fine and the dummy lights all work so, I use my gps to track trip miles, time, fuel and such. Works great at no extra cost.
ybracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:01 PM   #7
KTMbageera
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Kingdom of Cambodia
Oddometer: 84
gages and gadgets

I use my Garmin Map60csx on both my 450MXC and my 990R. One unit does all. Durable, no magnetic pickup and cables to break. Wired in to the system means no batteries to change. Data stored. Navigation capable. Much more practical and useful than the endoro units for non enduro competition applications.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ybracing View Post
I have the same problem with one of the buttons on my 950. The odometer works fine and the dummy lights all work so, I use my gps to track trip miles, time, fuel and such. Works great at no extra cost.
KTMbageera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 09:36 AM   #8
fmxrider OP
LIVE FREE
 
fmxrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 17
So it's better to use a GPS unit? All in one ,right? Garmin is the best one? I have never used GPS before. Better a portable one? Are they waterproof or water resistant?
__________________
Remember Mother Nature is powerful. We all know the way...the detours....that set us FREE...

The Outbound Shed
http://www.outboundshed.com
fmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014