ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 249 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 05-09-2013, 08:59 PM   #7741
Aanarchy
Beastly Adventurer
 
Aanarchy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Limbo
Oddometer: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Yeah, no kidding. Thank you Garmin.
__________________
Maybe it was Utah. - H.I. McDunnough
Aanarchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 01:48 AM   #7742
dvmvm
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Oddometer: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarchy
I have North American City Nav on my MT, got into a smallish town outside Dallas, couldn't get local street names to display. Do I have a "Settings" fail, or is it a limitation of City Nav?

Or have I failed to properly activate City Nav on the unit? The lines for the streets appeared, just no names.
You must be running a very recent firmware on your Montana.
Garmin has tweaked the firmware recently in favor of map drawing performance at the cost of some map detail, including street names.
I think this is referred to: fw4.7: "Improved map performance in densely-populated urban areas."
This was improved after complaints of mainly European users who suffered from huge map drawing times. European cities tend to be more compact and the larger ones often have separate buildings drawn (2D with shades, not 3D) in City Navigator maps instead of "building areas". After hard reset the drawing time was a few seconds, but this grew over some weeks into 1 minute or more. Navigation in these cities was sometimes not possibe without long map freeze times. Map drawing time is split into two parts: drawing the map and printing street names, each took half the time.
From 4.7 this bug is fixed; map drawing time doen't grow over time anymore and the street printing time is now much less than the map drawing time. Maybe Garmin searches the database now only for the names of the larger streets on the screen.

Questions:
1) Do you see the street names when you zoom-in more and/or pan the map?
2) Did you enable the street names (map|menu|advanced|zoom levels)?
3) Is the text size small enough (map|menu|advanced|text size)?

dvmvm screwed with this post 05-10-2013 at 01:58 AM
dvmvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 02:12 AM   #7743
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarchy View Post
Yeah, no kidding. Thank you Garmin.
but if we wait for garmin the montana would still be under development,it aint a nuvi
__________________
aka BMWST?
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 07:51 PM   #7744
Chip Stevens
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Yucaipa, Ca
Oddometer: 113
I need some help

I have loaded three maps from GPS depot on to an SD card. I then loaded them into BC The maps show up just fine in BC and on the 650t. The problem is when I go to the select map page in the GPSr all 3 maps show up as one map. This means I can't disable or enable the individual maps. JaVaWa device manager shows one file with 3 maps in it. How do I go about getting the maps loaded on the SD card as 3 files. I'm using a Mac. chip
Chip Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 08:12 PM   #7745
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip Stevens View Post
I have loaded three maps from GPS depot on to an SD card. I then loaded them into BC The maps show up just fine in BC and on the 650t. The problem is when I go to the select map page in the GPSr all 3 maps show up as one map. This means I can't disable or enable the individual maps. JaVaWa device manager shows one file with 3 maps in it. How do I go about getting the maps loaded on the SD card as 3 files. I'm using a Mac. chip
Are all three maps in one .img file? Can you not download them from GPSDepot as separate files?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 09:20 PM   #7746
Chip Stevens
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Yucaipa, Ca
Oddometer: 113
Thanks for your responce. The maps are 3 different files. I can't figure why they end up as one file. I can down load them each to a different SD card and they work but not all to one card as three different files. It is probibly a setting in OS 10 that I'm not understanding. chip
Chip Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 10:02 PM   #7747
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip Stevens View Post
I have loaded three maps from GPS depot on to an SD card. I then loaded them into BC The maps show up just fine in BC and on the 650t. The problem is when I go to the select map page in the GPSr all 3 maps show up as one map. This means I can't disable or enable the individual maps. JaVaWa device manager shows one file with 3 maps in it. How do I go about getting the maps loaded on the SD card as 3 files. I'm using a Mac. chip

How are you installing the maps to your Montana?

Are you using a process similar to these?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 08:27 AM   #7748
Chip Stevens
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Yucaipa, Ca
Oddometer: 113
1) From the GPS file depot I selected a map amd downloaded it to the desktop
2) It downloaded as a compressed file. I clicked on the downloaded file and safari expanded it. Now I have an icon on the screen that has the Garmin
Mapinstall icon superimposed over it. I click on the icon and a map manager window pops up and asks if I want to instal in this case Navada topo. I said install. The map manager now shows it. 3) I open BC all the maps show as individual maps in BC. 4) I used Mapinstall with the SD card in the SD slot on the Mac to load the maps onto the SD card. 5) I repeat this process for each map. 6) I load the card into the GPSr. The maps show up on the select map page with all the maps I have on the SD card on one line. I can enable or disable the whole set of maps on the card but not individual maps within the card. chip
Chip Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:02 AM   #7749
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip Stevens View Post
1) From the GPS file depot I selected a map amd downloaded it to the desktop
2) It downloaded as a compressed file. I clicked on the downloaded file and safari expanded it. Now I have an icon on the screen that has the Garmin
Mapinstall icon superimposed over it. I click on the icon and a map manager window pops up and asks if I want to instal in this case Navada topo. I said install. The map manager now shows it. 3) I open BC all the maps show as individual maps in BC. 4) I used Mapinstall with the SD card in the SD slot on the Mac to load the maps onto the SD card. 5) I repeat this process for each map. 6) I load the card into the GPSr. The maps show up on the select map page with all the maps I have on the SD card on one line. I can enable or disable the whole set of maps on the card but not individual maps within the card. chip
Perfectly detailed response, thank you!

Now can you please download JaVaWa Device Manager for Mac, and run it with your GPSr connected?

Select the Manage Maps option for your uSD card, and take a screenshot similar to the images here, showing individual map ID information.

If you sent each map, one after the next, in the same session, I suspect perhaps MapInstall did not properly clear the previous map out, and consequently sent the maps all as one.

BTW, which version BaseCamp for MAC, and which version MapInstall on your Mac?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:06 AM   #7750
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,287
Or try renaming each map after you load it to the uSD, before loading the next one.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:26 AM   #7751
Chip Stevens
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Yucaipa, Ca
Oddometer: 113
I have JaVaWa Device Manager. I will have to figure out how to post a screen shot. I can tell you that it shows 1 file named gmapsupp.img on the card and it contains the three maps. I have some things I need to get to so I won't get back to this for a few hours. chip
Chip Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:31 AM   #7752
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip Stevens View Post
I have JaVaWa Device Manager. I will have to figure out how to post a screen shot. I can tell you that it shows 1 file named gmapsupp.img on the card and it contains the three maps. I have some things I need to get to so I won't get back to this for a few hours. chip
There's your problem. If you have one file called gmapsupp.img, then all the maps are in one file. I think you may be using an old version of MapInstall, if it's not giving the maps individual names. Or use 250senuf's advice and send the maps one at a time, renaming them once they are on the gps or uSD card.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:46 AM   #7753
Chip Stevens
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Yucaipa, Ca
Oddometer: 113
I give that a try. Thanks guys. I'll let you know How it goes when I can get back to it. chip
Chip Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:42 PM   #7754
Chip Stevens
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Yucaipa, Ca
Oddometer: 113
I think I have a work around for my problem. I tried 250Senuf idea. I downloaded the 1st map then went in to the SD card Garmin folder and renamed the file. Then I down loaded the 2ed file went to look in the Garmin folder and only found one file with two maps in it. After cogitating on it for a few hours I came to the conclusion that the problem was the way Garmin's Mapinstaller interfaces with the SD card. Here is how I handled it. 1) use Mapinstaller to put the 1st map on the SD card. 2) opened
the SD card go into the Garmin folder and take the file
gmapsupp.img and drage to the desk top which puts a copy on the desk top then delete the file from the SD card. 3) Down load the 2ed map the same way.
when I drug it to the desk top a window popped up saying that I already had a file of that name and what did I want to do with the file. I chose to keep both. The lion named the second file gmapsupp2.img when it copied it to the desk top.
4) I then delegated the 2ed file from the SD card. 5) I then closed Mapinstall
6) I then drug the two files into the Garmin folder in the SD card 7) I then put the SD card into the 650t. The maps were now in two different files that can be enabled or disabled at will. chip
Chip Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 04:13 AM   #7755
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip Stevens View Post
I think I have a work around for my problem. I tried 250Senuf idea. I downloaded the 1st map then went in to the SD card Garmin folder and renamed the file. Then I down loaded the 2ed file went to look in the Garmin folder and only found one file with two maps in it. After cogitating on it for a few hours I came to the conclusion that the problem was the way Garmin's Mapinstaller interfaces with the SD card. Here is how I handled it. 1) use Mapinstaller to put the 1st map on the SD card. 2) opened
the SD card go into the Garmin folder and take the file
gmapsupp.img and drage to the desk top which puts a copy on the desk top then delete the file from the SD card. 3) Down load the 2ed map the same way.
when I drug it to the desk top a window popped up saying that I already had a file of that name and what did I want to do with the file. I chose to keep both. The lion named the second file gmapsupp2.img when it copied it to the desk top.
4) I then delegated the 2ed file from the SD card. 5) I then closed Mapinstall
6) I then drug the two files into the Garmin folder in the SD card 7) I then put the SD card into the 650t. The maps were now in two different files that can be enabled or disabled at will. chip
Far more complicated than necessary. All you need to do is rename gmapsupp.img to map1.img or topo west.img or whatever, then send the second map, repeat the renaming, and do it as often as necessary.

No need to move the file back to your computer unless you want to back it up, which is not a bad idea. But renaming the file is easily done while it's on the uSD card.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014