ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts > The British Invasion: Triumph Tigers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2013, 10:55 AM   #17011
technikiller
Adventurer
 
technikiller's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson
Oddometer: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
Looks like there is a screw adjust in that mechanism...can I set my idle up a little? It's a little too slow. I find myself holding a little more idle at stop lights and such.
Does it stall out if you don't give it throttle? If not I wouldn't sweat it.
__________________
"Faster, faster, faster, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death"
Hunter S. Thompson
technikiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 12:33 PM   #17012
blacktiger
Tigers R great.
 
blacktiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: St.Leonards on Sea, England.
Oddometer: 3,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
Looks like there is a screw adjust in that mechanism...can I set my idle up a little? It's a little too slow. I find myself holding a little more idle at stop lights and such.
My guess is that the screw is to set the gap correctly. AFAIK the idle speed is controlled by the ECU.
__________________
2002 black Tiger955i, 72000 miles and counting.
2012 black Tiger800XC, The other British Land Rover. 40000 miles and counting.
2013 black Tiger800XC, The other British Land Rover. 500 miles and counting.
blacktiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 12:37 PM   #17013
browneye
PIN IT & BANG GEARS
 
browneye's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Oddometer: 5,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by technikiller View Post
Does it stall out if you don't give it throttle? If not I wouldn't sweat it.
Quote:
My guess is that the screw is to set the gap correctly. AFAIK the idle speed is controlled by the ECU.
No, it doesn't stall, it's just quite low. My guess was also that the ecu controlled it, would have to tweak with a programmer.
__________________
Chris Brown - "The Browneye"
"Without Motorcycles, People Live Very Boring Lives." - Malcolm Smith
Camp Nelson 2014 RR Laguna Seca 2012 RR Sequoia 3-Day Campout Thanksgiving 2012
browneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 04:30 PM   #17014
swimmer
armchair asshole
 
swimmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: tucson
Oddometer: 4,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
No, it doesn't stall, it's just quite low. My guess was also that the ecu controlled it, would have to tweak with a programmer.
You can adjust idle with TuneECU.
swimmer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:11 PM   #17015
browneye
PIN IT & BANG GEARS
 
browneye's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Oddometer: 5,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer View Post
You can adjust idle with TuneECU.

Who has one of these in so-Cal????
__________________
Chris Brown - "The Browneye"
"Without Motorcycles, People Live Very Boring Lives." - Malcolm Smith
Camp Nelson 2014 RR Laguna Seca 2012 RR Sequoia 3-Day Campout Thanksgiving 2012
browneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:14 PM   #17016
swimmer
armchair asshole
 
swimmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: tucson
Oddometer: 4,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
Who has one of these in so-Cal????

The software is free, you just buy the cable off ebay for like $20. I'll try to find the seller I bought mine from. He was actually in my own town.

Edit, I bought this one. http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-cable-fo...072d1e&vxp=mtr
swimmer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:17 PM   #17017
browneye
PIN IT & BANG GEARS
 
browneye's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Oddometer: 5,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer View Post
The software is free, you just buy the cable off ebay for like $20. I'll try to find the seller I bought mine from. He was actually in my own town.
Really? Load it on a laptop and connect it to the bike?
What else does it do? Reads DTC's I'm sure, anything else?
__________________
Chris Brown - "The Browneye"
"Without Motorcycles, People Live Very Boring Lives." - Malcolm Smith
Camp Nelson 2014 RR Laguna Seca 2012 RR Sequoia 3-Day Campout Thanksgiving 2012
browneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:20 PM   #17018
swimmer
armchair asshole
 
swimmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: tucson
Oddometer: 4,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
Really? Load it on a laptop and connect it to the bike?
What else does it do? Reads DTC's I'm sure, anything else?
http://www.tuneecu.com/


You can look at throttle body pressures to sync those. Update your map. Check error codes and clear them. Adjust temp your fan comes on I think. Correct speedo error. Maybe some other minor things. You can't reset your service indicator though. You need dealertool for that.
swimmer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 08:05 PM   #17019
browneye
PIN IT & BANG GEARS
 
browneye's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Oddometer: 5,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer View Post
http://www.tuneecu.com/


You can look at throttle body pressures to sync those. Update your map. Check error codes and clear them. Adjust temp your fan comes on I think. Correct speedo error. Maybe some other minor things. You can't reset your service indicator though. You need dealertool for that.

Pretty cool. Downloaded the instructions, it's quite comprehensive. Not too complicated. Looks like you can change settings all the way through the throttle range. Stock map and arrow map available. I guess you need to load one of them in order to read a map on the bike. I'll re-read the instructions.

Lots of warnings...could blow up your motor.

Two sources for cables on ebay, ship from China - $18...worrisome. CJ Designs has them as well, $40 shipped.

Anybody have experience with either?

DealerTune for $100 on ebay as well.
__________________
Chris Brown - "The Browneye"
"Without Motorcycles, People Live Very Boring Lives." - Malcolm Smith
Camp Nelson 2014 RR Laguna Seca 2012 RR Sequoia 3-Day Campout Thanksgiving 2012
browneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 08:13 PM   #17020
swimmer
armchair asshole
 
swimmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: tucson
Oddometer: 4,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
Pretty cool. Downloaded the instructions, it's quite comprehensive. Not too complicated. Looks like you can change settings all the way through the throttle range. Stock map and arrow map available. I guess you need to load one of them in order to read a map on the bike. I'll re-read the instructions.

Lots of warnings...could blow up your motor.

Two sources for cables on ebay, ship from China - $18...worrisome. CJ Designs has them as well, $40 shipped.

Anybody have experience with either?

DealerTune for $100 on ebay as well.
The ebay link I posted above is where I got my cable. He is in Tucson. $20 shipped. Works fine.
swimmer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:21 PM   #17021
pilot3
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Oddometer: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
Pretty cool. Downloaded the instructions, it's quite comprehensive. Not too complicated. Looks like you can change settings all the way through the throttle range. Stock map and arrow map available. I guess you need to load one of them in order to read a map on the bike. I'll re-read the instructions.

Lots of warnings...could blow up your motor.

Two sources for cables on ebay, ship from China - $18...worrisome. CJ Designs has them as well, $40 shipped.

Anybody have experience with either?

DealerTune for $100 on ebay as well.
No experience with tuneecu but I do have DealerTool. I didn't have any desire to mess with the tune (Scorpion can w original tune) but I wanted the service options.

DT resets the service indicator, runs all kinds of diagnostic tests, allows tuning of the throttle bodies and best of all, opens the ABS valving to allow bleeding of the entire system.

Great service from DT and the initial purchase is linked to your VIN. Should you want it to work on multiple Triumph bikes, there is an additional fee from DT for unlimited VIN's.

Great product!
pilot3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:32 AM   #17022
KildareMan
Studly Adventurer
 
KildareMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: County Kildare, Ireland
Oddometer: 647
Have both dealertool and tuneecu. Prefer dt for servicing and just use tuneecu for map loading

Sent from my Tiger 800
KildareMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:22 AM   #17023
blacktiger
Tigers R great.
 
blacktiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: St.Leonards on Sea, England.
Oddometer: 3,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post
Pretty cool. Downloaded the instructions, it's quite comprehensive. Not too complicated. Looks like you can change settings all the way through the throttle range. Stock map and arrow map available. I guess you need to load one of them in order to read a map on the bike. I'll re-read the instructions.

Lots of warnings...could blow up your motor.

Two sources for cables on ebay, ship from China - $18...worrisome. CJ Designs has them as well, $40 shipped.

Anybody have experience with either?

DealerTune for $100 on ebay as well.
Any of the cables on ebay which is compatible with VAG cars will work. I get the impression that anything sold for bikes is twice the price of those sold for cars. I think mine only cost 6.
__________________
2002 black Tiger955i, 72000 miles and counting.
2012 black Tiger800XC, The other British Land Rover. 40000 miles and counting.
2013 black Tiger800XC, The other British Land Rover. 500 miles and counting.
blacktiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:34 AM   #17024
elan
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Gainesville, FL
Oddometer: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by browneye View Post

Lots of warnings...could blow up your motor.
Yep. Don't go all willy nilly changing stuff! And make a backup of your current rom/tune.

I used this to upload the latest tune. No need bothering with dealer.

*tip, pull your headlight/taillight fuses when moving roms around as it can take a while and you don't want your voltage falling below the threshold while you're moving a rom.
elan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:46 AM   #17025
bluesman
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Hoegaarden, Belgium
Oddometer: 3,301
I know it is mostly technical thread, but...
Just back from 2 weeks 6500 km rideout started in Belgium then France-Spain-Portugal and back to Belgium on my XC. Horrid weather half of the time (yes, snow in Spain, 0 degrees and rain, then rain and rain and bit of sunshine).
Tiger never even coughed wrong. Brilliant bike, not tiring, plenty fast, planted and generally best bike I had to the date. Only bike that had no technical problems in our group of 5 bikes.
Riding high speed in curvy road at full gale rain made me appreciate twice all of that endless controllable power and whole package.
I am not so pleased with stock Battlewings on my XC, but to be fair - I did not crash, so they worked. Time for Anakee 3 thou. Specially since I had caught seriously sized hardened screw into rear tyre flattening it almost instantly - ON HIGHWAY! At about 100-110 kmph. Was a bit of scary moment since I was in middle lane, but I stayed upright. BTW - 2 more cars stopped in same "pocket" on highway with same kind of screws in their tyres. I helped them to change wheels while waiting for my friend with help. :)
bluesman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014