ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2011, 08:29 AM   #1
Ramv OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Ramv's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Castle Rock, Co
Oddometer: 455
Ambient Temp Gauge

Reading the manual for 2012 A-R yesterday and noticed it had an ambient temperature guage. Do all the 990 Adventures have this feature? Oddly enough, that and the gear indicator are the only things I really think are cool with all the Ducati's whiz-bang electronics.
__________________
'10 Multistrada 1200 Std ('11 - current) for sale
http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...2#post23383292

'07 Super Enduro 950
'96 KLX250R - kind of street legal
Ramv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 10:58 AM   #2
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramv View Post
Reading the manual for 2012 A-R yesterday and noticed it had an ambient temperature guage. Do all the 990 Adventures have this feature? Oddly enough, that and the gear indicator are the only things I really think are cool with all the Ducati's whiz-bang electronics.
Yes. For the FI. It does not have a dash read out.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:22 AM   #3
Norco
Adventurer
 
Norco's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 33
Not sure when it started as far as model year (my 2010 has it), but yes it has a dash readout. Just hit mode until it shows the outside temp, nice thing is a little snow flake image pops up above it when it hits freezing to indicate possible ice. Kind of neat. On a side note, watch how it is attached to the brake lines under the headlight as it will break the tip off as happened to me (pic below). A new one is $12.00 but a simple zip tie re-route would prevent it, although it was still functional after the tip breaking. Hope this helps.

Norco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 12:13 PM   #4
SierraJeep
It's toast
 
SierraJeep's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Nevada City, CA
Oddometer: 624
Thanks for this picture. I discovered that short little "cable" and what looked like it had been "cut off" just about two weeks ago and was curious what it was. Mine had slipped out of the cable tie and was just dangling there, much like how yours looks in the photo. I didn't know it is supposed to have some sort of end cap (assuming that's what you're holding in your fingers)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norco View Post
On a side note, watch how it is attached to the brake lines under the headlight as it will break the tip off as happened to me (pic below). A new one is $12.00 but a simple zip tie re-route would prevent it, although it was still functional after the tip breaking. Hope this helps.

__________________
Tod

2010 KTM 990 Adventure
2010 KTM 450 EXC
SierraJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 12:38 PM   #5
Masa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Masa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: F1nland
Oddometer: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norco View Post
On a side note, watch how it is attached to the brake lines under the headlight as it will break the tip off as happened to me (pic below).
Same here, but it's working fine so I just zip tied it.
Masa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:10 PM   #6
Norco
Adventurer
 
Norco's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by SierraJeep View Post
Thanks for this picture. I discovered that short little "cable" and what looked like it had been "cut off" just about two weeks ago and was curious what it was. Mine had slipped out of the cable tie and was just dangling there, much like how yours looks in the photo. I didn't know it is supposed to have some sort of end cap (assuming that's what you're holding in your fingers)?
Yes the little cap is what broke on mine. As the other post stated above, it still works just my OCD made me order a "perfect" new part.
Norco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:24 PM   #7
SierraJeep
It's toast
 
SierraJeep's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Nevada City, CA
Oddometer: 624
As I stated, at the time I had no idea what that "cable" was for and my temperature gauge never stopped working, so I just put a new tie on to hold it in place. On a ride a couple of weeks ago, I saw another 990 (same year as mine) and checked to see if it had that "cut" cable and it did, so I simply assumed it wss normal and forgot about it. If it decides to quit someday, I will now know where it is and will buy a new part.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norco View Post
Yes the little cap is what broke on mine. As the other post stated above, it still works just my OCD made me order a "perfect" new part.
__________________
Tod

2010 KTM 990 Adventure
2010 KTM 450 EXC
SierraJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:24 AM   #8
Skinner
Mr.KTM
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Lake county Il
Oddometer: 5,562
My new 990 Baja ambient temperature gauge sows nothing? Anything I need to do to activate it?
__________________
You might be an ADVRider if:

You recognize your friends by the sound of their mufflers.
http://www.meetup.com/Chicagoland-Du...torcycle-Club/
www.jimstarwaltteam.com
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014