ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2013, 08:02 PM   #1
Duane1969 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR USA
Oddometer: 144
13' KTM 500 XCW new map needed for exhaust????

I just purchased a new 13' model 500 XCW and was looking into a new slip on exhaust or possibly a full system. I was curious as to other's experience with the FI issue.

I searched and there is some mention of having the dealer install and re-flash a "euro map" but the information on this is very unclear.

There is other mention of a JD Tuner module.

Does anyone know if the stock ECU will compensate for this modification or if further adjustment is necessary.

Thanks!
Duane1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:57 PM   #2
Gryphon12
Beastly Adventurer
 
Gryphon12's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Carnation, WA USA
Oddometer: 1,280
Read the 500 thread. All details, pros & cons, are there.
__________________
1990 Honda NT-650 Hawk-GT

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world;
indeed, it's the only thing that ever has. - Margaret Mead
Gryphon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:33 AM   #3
The Wolf
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 262
Sure you could read through 50,000 posts in the 500 threads, but it wouldnt hurt to just post the answer in this thread.

ive read through every post in the numerous threads, but im still unsure what the answer is. i am wondering if the tps mod could richen up the afr enough to make it run properly. unfortunately the ecu's are locked so the user setting tool ktm offers is worthless for tuning the bikes. ive tried to get my ecu unlocked to use it, but no dealer in california can do it. ktmna wants my vin and they will have to take away my green sticker making it a closed course only vehicle. i think the jd tuner doesnt do much more than say the tps mod. id like to hear what some other guys have to say about this.
The Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:41 PM   #4
motocityktm
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Oddometer: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
Sure you could read through 50,000 posts in the 500 threads, but it wouldnt hurt to just post the answer in this thread.

ive read through every post in the numerous threads, but im still unsure what the answer is. i am wondering if the tps mod could richen up the afr enough to make it run properly. unfortunately the ecu's are locked so the user setting tool ktm offers is worthless for tuning the bikes. ive tried to get my ecu unlocked to use it, but no dealer in california can do it. ktmna wants my vin and they will have to take away my green sticker making it a closed course only vehicle. i think the jd tuner doesnt do much more than say the tps mod. id like to hear what some other guys have to say about this.
I ran my personal bike, 2013 KTM 500 XC-W with the following, stock silencer, ECU re-flashed with "Euro" map, FMF Snap in the air boot, and a KTM under seat map switch set in the aggressive mode. That configuration worked very, very well for my race purposes and for dual sporting.
motocityktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:26 PM   #5
Duane1969 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR USA
Oddometer: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by motocityktm View Post
I ran my personal bike, 2013 KTM 500 XC-W with the following, stock silencer, ECU re-flashed with "Euro" map, FMF Snap in the air boot, and a KTM under seat map switch set in the aggressive mode. That configuration worked very, very well for my race purposes and for dual sporting.
Thank you for that info!

I am currently looking into the Bazzaz plug and play module and have hooked up with a guy here local who "claims" we can do a dyno run and tune a map with the software to meet expectations. I really don't like the idea of altering the original but am somewhat ignorant to FI capabilities.

Ill update the thread with further developments but anyone else with valid info.................feel free to chime in!!!!
Duane1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:42 PM   #6
JTucker
Beastly Adventurer
 
JTucker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: West By God Virginia
Oddometer: 2,276
The stock map will work fine with a pipe. You can put the euro map in if you want, I don't know that it's much different though. They have very few alternate maps for the 13 models. Map switch if you want, the bikes that already have a lot of power make the difference less noticeable, at least on the ones I've ridden, it's not like the 500 is lacking power.
__________________
http://www.ktm-parts.com
03 Aprilia Caponord 06DR650
13 GasGas EC300 05 WR450F 87 T-dub
JTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 06:39 AM   #7
Duane1969 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR USA
Oddometer: 144
I am certainly not trying to get any more power out of the 500. I am very satisfied with the torque and how you are able to use and apply it.

There is just an ever-so-slight hesitation off of full idle when you crack the throttle. This may be inherent to the FI VS Carb. bike, but I was hoping that a pipe may help this and just didn't want the bike running too lean trying to achieve this. This was the only concern for the mapping issue.

Plus.................I just think new exhaust systems are way cool!!!!!!!!
Duane1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:36 AM   #8
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 630
For less money than a plug in programmer you can just send the throttle body to bestdualsportbikes and have them modify it. My exc runs absolutely perfect with their mod and megabomb/Q exhaust.
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:02 AM   #9
team ftb
Befuddled Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Lost in the jungles of Thailand
Oddometer: 1,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duane1969 View Post
I am certainly not trying to get any more power out of the 500. I am very satisfied with the torque and how you are able to use and apply it.

There is just an ever-so-slight hesitation off of full idle when you crack the throttle. This may be inherent to the FI VS Carb. bike, but I was hoping that a pipe may help this and just didn't want the bike running too lean trying to achieve this. This was the only concern for the mapping issue.

Plus.................I just think new exhaust systems are way cool!!!!!!!!

Duane - The stock EXC ECU is tuned to pass all the emissions tests so is somewhat compromised for an optimum tune. By reflashing the ECU to the XCW or European competition map it just helps it run a little cleaner and crisper. It's by no means a night and day difference in terms of power output, just a cleaner running bike. that was my experience going from an EXC ECU to a remapped ECU with the European map. Like you I'm currently in California and just called Carson City kTM (http://www.carsonktm.com/index.htm ) and shipped it off to them to flash. It simply unplugs from underneath the seat. Ship it off to them and have no worries about your green sticker or plate getting yanked.

Also go through the desmog process outlined on I think it was page 15 (or 17 I forget) of the KTM 500 thread by Harcus located here: (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=682150) This will help to stop fuel collecting in the AIS canister.

The slight hesitation off idle you feel may be your TPS out of adjustment. This is what I found on my bike and adjusted it. That procedure is post #4097 of the thread. Adjusting your TPS will not adjust your rich or lean conditions across the range effectively.

Best of luck.
__________________
Cheers,
Team FTB
------------------
Team "Fingering The Bean"

Looking for the woman that takes the wheel when I'm seeing double.
team ftb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 07:11 AM   #10
Duane1969 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Little Rock, AR USA
Oddometer: 144
Thumb

Thank you!!
Duane1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014