ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2013, 06:02 PM   #1
cbmoggia OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 19
Another fuel gauge question

My fuel gauge is toast. I don't mind using the odometer but I hate the yellow warning light. Is there a way to delete the gauge?
cbmoggia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 06:44 PM   #2
Callisto224
Studly Adventurer
 
Callisto224's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 635
Don't think there is a way to fool the computer. Why not just use the piezo lighter trick? It's well documented here (assuming you have a fuel strip).
__________________
Callisto224


2009 1200GS
Callisto224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 04:40 AM   #3
Rockmuncher
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockmuncher's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Western Canada
Oddometer: 756
What bike?
Rockmuncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 05:36 AM   #4
cbmoggia OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 19
06 gsa
cbmoggia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 04:46 PM   #5
jzeiler
ADWrencher
 
jzeiler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hazel Green, AL
Oddometer: 108
Dig back in the long "Faulty Fuel Strip" post and there is a collection of resistors you can put on the connector to fool the ZFE module. You want it to think it is seeing 2.7K ohms abut there needs to be another resistor from the power lead to "tickle" the fake out resistor. I could not get it to work so that is when I came up with the lighter method. That worked.
__________________
John
2009 R1200GS
2005 K1200LT
K4AN
jzeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:16 AM   #6
Rockmuncher
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockmuncher's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Western Canada
Oddometer: 756
Isn't there a bulb in the dash you could pull? Wondering this about my '04 because it quit working and I like it.
Rockmuncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 06:42 PM   #7
Frostback
Frostback
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Oddometer: 217
Simplest trick I know is a small piece of black electrical tape to obscure the light.

Lee
Frostback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:00 PM   #8
UrsaMobili
Left Coast Expat
 
UrsaMobili's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: South East Central
Oddometer: 61
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frostback View Post
Simplest trick I know is a small piece of black electrical tape to obscure the light.

Lee
+1. Works everywhere and every time. Cost $0.00005, time consumed < 30sec.
UrsaMobili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:47 AM   #9
cbmoggia OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 19
I guess tape is the way to do it. I hate having such an expensive bike and having things not work. I left KTM because of stuff breaking. I can't seem to get away from that.
cbmoggia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 06:24 AM   #10
Rockmuncher
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockmuncher's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Western Canada
Oddometer: 756
The dash is easy to get at from the front side.
1 - Remove windshield.
2 - two torx screws hold the cover on.
3 - two allen head bolts hold the instrument panel on, then you slide it up off of the lower rubber dealys holding it on.
4 - Undo the speedo cable and cut a wiring tie to access the bulbs.
5 - Pop the offending bulb out.
Rockmuncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014