ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2013, 11:35 AM   #1
polson OP
2 wheels !!!!
 
polson's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: dubuque, iowa
Oddometer: 235
MacBook air

Okay I need help. I finally broke down and purchased a MacBook air for myself. In the last I've used my kids computer to download all my tracks and routes to my garmin 60cx.

Now I want to put my city navigator northamerica 2010 on my new computer but there isn't a DVD slot on the MacBook air.

I have downloaded this previously to my kids computer, which I won't use anymore. I have basecamp loaded on my new computer and everything seems okay when connected to my 60cx but I am missing detailed maps on basecamp. I have in the edit unlock codes the correct unlock code and when in my garmin account, via the web, it shows that my north America maps are unlocked.

Do I have to by and download new detailed maps? Or am I missing something?

Thanks


Oh yeah! 2 wheels!
polson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 11:39 AM   #2
thetable
Beastly Adventurer
 
thetable's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Western Loudoun Co, VA
Oddometer: 1,180
I can pull the maps from the GPS while it is connected, but if you want to work with them while the GPS isn't connected, you'll need to buy or borrow a USB DVD drive, or you should be able to copy the contents of the disc to a USB thumb drive, or if you have another Mac with a optical drive, you should be able to share the contents of the DVD drive.
thetable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:45 PM   #3
polson OP
2 wheels !!!!
 
polson's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: dubuque, iowa
Oddometer: 235
Okay, I found a DVD with USB drive and downloaded the maps but they still aren't showing in basecamp.

What am I missing and why is garmin so difficult?



Oh yeah! 2 wheels!
polson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 02:03 PM   #4
thetable
Beastly Adventurer
 
thetable's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Western Loudoun Co, VA
Oddometer: 1,180
Have you tried importing them with map manager?
thetable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:37 PM   #5
polson OP
2 wheels !!!!
 
polson's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: dubuque, iowa
Oddometer: 235
Okay I figured it out. I was able to download the maps to the MacBook then I had to reinstalled maps to garmin 60cx. Once this was done it synced up and my detailed maps were showing on the MacBook.

What a pain.

Thanks


Oh yeah! 2 wheels!
polson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014