ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2012, 01:22 PM   #61
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
Here is the set screws I ordered from Mcmaster a while ago:

http://www.mcmaster.com/#catalog/118/3076/=i3anj9

92015A151

I got the 50 mm studs, but I also drilled and tapped the holes a bit deeper because I stripped the threads on one side. I think I was able to drill and tap an additional 10mm. Can't remember if I used a bottoming tap.
__________________
'07 KTM 990 Adventure Long Road to Dug Bar
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:48 PM   #62
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 383
Wondering if anyone may happen to know how deep the screws thread in?
I'm going to go the stud route, but my threads are already mangled so I'd like to helicoil first.

Wondering what size I would need. M8 @ 1.25 pitch, but how long....

If anyone happens to know off the top of their head, that would be awesome.

Thanks
jconly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:22 PM   #63
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconly View Post
Wondering if anyone may happen to know how deep the screws thread in?
I'm going to go the stud route, but my threads are already mangled so I'd like to helicoil first.

Wondering what size I would need. M8 @ 1.25 pitch, but how long....

If anyone happens to know off the top of their head, that would be awesome.

Thanks
14mm long are the factory bolts (thread).
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:45 PM   #64
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 383
Thanks, not that I don't believe you though, but the parts diagram does show that the standard bolt (not that for the guards) is 16mm long. Do they factor the head into these figures? I didn't think so?

Due to the spacers, the ones supplied with the guards must be longer than in the OEM diagram though.

Regardless, I'm more interested in the depth of the threads on the mount... how much of the bolt is actually screwing in. I'm guessing it's about 10mm of thread? Leaving 30mm exposed (with the 40mm recommendation) for the cover, spacer, bar, wash and nut.

Also wondering where I can find a diagram of all the hardware included for the crash bars. Also looking for a bolt length figure for the lower tank mounts.
jconly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:56 PM   #65
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
I have 30mm exposed on the right (facing the bike). And 25 on the left.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to remove the cross race once the studs are in unless you unbolt the header. The shorter stud allows me to loosen up the header bolts without having to remove it and wiggle the brace out.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:03 PM   #66
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 383
Good to know, thanks.
Not sure I was planing on permanently affixing the studs. Was thinking I would just torque them in with medium loctite.

So with 25mm and 30mm exposed, do you remember what the actually length studs you used. 35 and 40mm?

I'm beginning to think its 10mm the bolt threads in to the mount. Thinking I'll be going with the M8 x 10 helicoil.
jconly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:24 AM   #67
Phil in K.C.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: just outta town
Oddometer: 455
Rule of thumb is you reach max strength on a bolt at 1 and one half times the dia. of the bolt...so it really does not matter how deep the hole is...as long as it is 1 1/2 times deeper that the dia.
__________________
'06 950 Adventure

Communism doesn't work because people like to own stuff......Frank Zappa

Phil in K.C. screwed with this post 06-30-2012 at 05:48 PM
Phil in K.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:21 AM   #68
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil in K.C. View Post
Rule of thumb is you reach max strength on a bolt at 1 and one half times the dia. of the bolt...so it really does not matter how deep the whole is...as long as it is 1 1/2 times deeper that the dia.

This is invaluable to me.
Going to go for 12 mm and call it a day.

Thank you both!
jconly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:44 PM   #69
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,819
I want to underline that stainless steel bolts would stick with aluminum

due to galvanic effect as I saw some people in here mentioned.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:11 PM   #70
FakeName
Wile E Coyote SuperGenius
 
FakeName's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabba View Post
and I found these online after a ton of digging. Thought I'd share-

http://www.fastenal.com/web/products...X2580040A20000
Thank you for this. Saved me a ton of digging, and worked perfectly. Skipped the entire wrestle-with-the-crashbars experience and did it the first time I had them off.

Easy-peasy.

Yes, I used two nuts.


__________________
ADVdiscount Motorcycle Product Photography


2011 White 990 Adv S
2014 500EXC Black

FakeName screwed with this post 03-16-2013 at 04:32 PM
FakeName is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:00 AM   #71
Skyclad
Original Bastard
 
Skyclad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Moran Nation, confused as a baby in a topless bar
Oddometer: 5,572
Another change that I made is to get rid of the threaded clips for the lower tank mounts. That was the most difficult bolt to get lined up for me. I finally got tired of it and just use a shouldered nut there now. Easy peasy to put the crash bars back on now
__________________
Ignorance breeds Fear. Fear breeds Hatred. Hatred breeds Ignorance. Break the chain.
cancer
For some, a glue stick would be a better option than Chapstick
Skyclad's Wanderings - Bald Eagle Bastards - The Mountains are Calling, and I Must Go
KCCO
Skyclad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 11:36 AM   #72
lowes48
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lowes48's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Oddometer: 227
Went to the local Fastenal and was able to score some M8 studs that are 30mm in length. Do you guys think these will be long enough?
lowes48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:15 PM   #73
Bowser
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: London
Oddometer: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by gefr View Post
due to galvanic effect as I saw some people in here mentioned.
No problem, use some zinc chromate paste, such as boat owners do to prevent saltwater and galvanic issues, I have used it for years on my GS and never had any problems with ali and stainless,
Bowser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 03:10 PM   #74
FakeName
Wile E Coyote SuperGenius
 
FakeName's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowes48 View Post
Went to the local Fastenal and was able to score some M8 studs that are 30mm in length. Do you guys think these will be long enough?
Definitely.

Maybe.

Possibly.

I wouldn't. The only way to make them work is to reduce the amount of stud in the boss. Given I'm prone to using my crashbars, that's a lot of force.

Just order the ones you need from Fastenal. They can bring them in from another store, or you can order them online.
__________________
ADVdiscount Motorcycle Product Photography


2011 White 990 Adv S
2014 500EXC Black
FakeName is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:17 PM   #75
KaytM
Just a fella.
 
KaytM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland.
Oddometer: 202
If someone sends me dimensions I can make one piece items.
IE- a cnc machined part - threaded each end with a hexagon in the middle.
I can run say 10 pairs off and will pass them on to whoever gives me the dimensions plus 9 others for the cost of postage.
(maybe I can get some titainium I'll have to talk to my gaffer.)
__________________
2006.5 990 ADVENTURE.
KaytM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014