ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 03:30 PM   #76
Callisto224
Studly Adventurer
 
Callisto224's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjack View Post
lots more money involved than just we walking to the gas station for a gallon of fuel.
But it's not just a walk to the gas station. I ran out of gas on the freeway at 75mph, in rush hour traffic. It was dangerous trying to pull to the side of the highway right where another highway was merging onto the highway I was on (just my dumb luck where I ran out). With no power it was a pretty scary few moments trying not to get run over by a couple of semi trucks going full speed and honking their horns while I kept going slower and slower. Stupid me for trusting my gas gauge. I figured it was correct because the strip was replaced just a couple weeks before and my first one lasted 2 years. I'll never trust the gas gauge again, I only use the odometer now and even then fill up when I think I'm down to 2 gallons or so.

BMW should start this damn recall now before someone gets killed. They need to come up with a real solution. It's complete bullshit that they just ignore the problem.
__________________
Callisto224


2009 1200GS
Callisto224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 05:03 PM   #77
mikegc
Beastly Adventurer
 
mikegc's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: High Point, NC
Oddometer: 1,352
Fuel strip fix?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Callisto224 View Post

BMW should start this damn recall now before someone gets killed. They need to come up with a real solution. It's complete bullshit that they just ignore the problem.
Jeez! Glad you're okay!

Mike
__________________
IBA 25881


Duty- Honoring a Friend
mikegc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 06:37 AM   #78
Gianno
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Ohio
Oddometer: 18
Update to igniter repair

The initial zaps with the igniter last month did turn off the warning light and, after refueling, allowed the gauge to read full rather than empty.

But after a couple rides, I noticed that I seemed to have infinite fuel capacity, i.e., the gauge was not dropping below full.

So the other day, I zapped it again!

Lo and behold, on yesterday's ride, the gauge showed half full and the range counted down rather quickly to a reasonable number! Seems to be working fine again!

Keep your zapper handy!
__________________
2009 R1200GS
2013 KTM 300 XCW
2007 XR650L
Gianno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:48 AM   #79
Snarky
Vodka Infused.
 
Snarky's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Old El Paso and Swamp Houston
Oddometer: 1,332
Interesting that the solution to the fuel strip problem seems to be attaching an igniter to device in a fuel tank.
__________________
ALL ADDERS ARE PUFFS!
2012 BMW R1200 GSA, 2009 Kawasaki Versys (sold), 2001 Yamaha XT225 (sold)
PC Gamer? Support Star Citizen! Save PC Gaming and bring back Space Sims!
Pledge today! Service guarantees citizenship. @ http://www.robertsspaceindustries.com Thanks.
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 08:05 PM   #80
WOLVERINE
Keep her pinned!
 
WOLVERINE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: West of Sin City!
Oddometer: 612
2500kms and still going strong!
__________________
If you think you're free, there's no chance of escape!

2008 R1200GSA
WOLVERINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 10:33 AM   #81
Infidel
Adventure-Junkie
 
Infidel's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Oddometer: 2,050
Here we go...

My 2nd sensor went out this weekend- that's 2 in less than 10k miles. My 09 GSA is out of warranty so I'm going to see if they'll replace the strip since it's due for maintenance. The strip was replaced last year, so I hope it's covered under the 24 month replacement warranty- but I'm sure I'll get some moaning from the dealer.

I may try the lighter thing first. Are there sensors on both sides or is it just one? Anyone got a pin-out? I've never had a reason to look at the sensor connections before.

Thanks!
__________________
"Because FYYFF, that's why!"

Oh, and- No matter how good life is, It never ends well.
Infidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 10:45 AM   #82
Infidel
Adventure-Junkie
 
Infidel's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Oddometer: 2,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infidel View Post
My 2nd sensor went out this weekend- that's 2 in less than 10k miles. My 09 GSA is out of warranty so I'm going to see if they'll replace the strip since it's due for maintenance. The strip was replaced last year, so I hope it's covered under the 24 month replacement warranty- but I'm sure I'll get some moaning from the dealer.

I may try the lighter thing first. Are there sensors on both sides or is it just one? Anyone got a pin-out? I've never had a reason to look at the sensor connections before.

Thanks!
Out of warranty by 1 week. Iron Horse BMW wants close to $300 to replace it. So, I made my tool for about $8...



I KNOW that the physics behind this trick will not cause the bike to explode, but some how the thought of running a piezoelectric spark though 5 or 6 gallons of gas just didn't sit well in my brain. I began envisioning my tombstone:

"Here Lies Infidel.
A Stupid Fucker.
Successfully exploited over 800 IEDs in Afghanistan
Only to come home and attempt to run a spark thorough his gas tank
."


So I decided to extend the wire a few feet...




Clicked it 3 - 4 times and WHA-LA!!!! Success

Thanks for the nugget!
__________________
"Because FYYFF, that's why!"

Oh, and- No matter how good life is, It never ends well.
Infidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 10:56 AM   #83
Infidel
Adventure-Junkie
 
Infidel's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Oddometer: 2,050
Post Shock test Ride

After applying the shock, I took the bike to Bisbee for a cup of coffee and had the chance to meet Will- doing his bucket ride to the four corners on a GS-800..



His ride blog.

Great guy. Cool story.
__________________
"Because FYYFF, that's why!"

Oh, and- No matter how good life is, It never ends well.
Infidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 03:41 PM   #84
dyg
dyg it
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Big Island of Hawaii
Oddometer: 14
It's a miracle! Or is it?

A big mahalo (TY) to all those who left instructions and their experiences! I used an ignitor from Walmart ($12) and added some crimped ends that fit the prongs on the fuel pump sensor pins - flashed the middle pins 6x. Started up bike and ran the bike around the block and it wasn't working! Oooops - forgot to plug the fuel sensor wire back in - (stupid yes, but I was too excited NOT having blown myself up) and Voila! my 2008 R1200GS (28,800 miles) now has a working fuel gauge...........I am not a religious man but.............. I am still not!! Science triumphs again! But it's ok to believe if you want, no problem here. Thanks again all...
dyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 08:45 PM   #85
Anorak
Woolf Barnato
 
Anorak's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: OAK
Oddometer: 31,741
After 29,xxx miles and seven years, the level sensor on my K1200R failed. It's the same part number as the GS. I spent some time today in the garage with a grill igniter. No luck. Oh well.
__________________
'Gonna get me a six pack...push people off the highway!'

"they live off the carrion of our mutual distrust and bribe us with symbols that equate hatred with manhood."

"I mean at the end of the day, I was addicted to Starting Fluid for Christ's sake!"

"Yeah, that guy sure is terrible at touching moms"
Anorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 09:05 PM   #86
Infidel
Adventure-Junkie
 
Infidel's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Oddometer: 2,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anorak View Post
After 29,xxx miles and seven years, the level sensor on my K1200R failed. It's the same part number as the GS. I spent some time today in the garage with a grill igniter. No luck. Oh well.
were you holding your mouth right?

Posted from my iPad using TapatalkHD (probably while pooping)
__________________
"Because FYYFF, that's why!"

Oh, and- No matter how good life is, It never ends well.
Infidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 09:20 AM   #87
robday
n00b
 
Joined: May 2011
Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infidel View Post

"Here Lies Infidel.
A Stupid Fucker.
Successfully exploited over 800 IEDs in Afghanistan
Only to come home and attempt to run a spark thorough his gas tank
."


So I decided to extend the wire a few feet...




Clicked it 3 - 4 times and WHA-LA!!!! Success

Thanks for the nugget!
Best post so far in this thread!!!
Not because of any technical wizardry or earth-shattering discovery, but because I LAUGHED MY ASS OFF when I saw this pic. That's AWESOME. Especially considering your background.
Thanks for the post brother, I can only imagine what a passing neighbor might have thought you were doing. I'm so twisted, if I saw someone walking down the street I would have screamed, "LOOKOUT!!!" when they got near the bike. But that's just me.
Day off today, I think maybe I'll go buy an ignitor and have it at the ready.
robday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 09:27 AM   #88
Anorak
Woolf Barnato
 
Anorak's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: OAK
Oddometer: 31,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infidel View Post
were you holding your mouth right?

Posted from my iPad using TapatalkHD (probably while pooping)
I fixed it. I installed new one.
__________________
'Gonna get me a six pack...push people off the highway!'

"they live off the carrion of our mutual distrust and bribe us with symbols that equate hatred with manhood."

"I mean at the end of the day, I was addicted to Starting Fluid for Christ's sake!"

"Yeah, that guy sure is terrible at touching moms"
Anorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 03:13 PM   #89
JStancampiano
PhotoJoe
 
JStancampiano's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: N GA Mts
Oddometer: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadtrip22 View Post
I have a 2008 GSA. I was informed that my fuel strip had to be programmed to the bike and a simple plug an play was not an option. Was I mis-informed or can a gs911 perform this task??
Latest software beta for GS911 can calibrate fuel strip. That being said, many have just changed it and it was close enough.

Joe
__________________
2007 R1200GS ADV, 1978 R100T, 2009 FJR
JStancampiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 12:21 AM   #90
ngng
Adventurer
 
ngng's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Cupertino, CA
Oddometer: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by JStancampiano View Post
Latest software beta for GS911 can calibrate fuel strip. That being said, many have just changed it and it was close enough.

Joe
Calibrate, or disable?
__________________
06 DRZ400SM | 07 Race R6 | 08 1198S | 09 R1200GSA

…and those are just the bikes
ngng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014