ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2013, 09:33 PM   #1
baachor OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Costa Mesa,CA
Oddometer: 63
XR650R fires when cold

Hi,

I bought this bike recently and it starts having issues when starting. It fires in low RPM and engine even shots off when I rev it bit while warming up. It actually died on me on STOP sign today.

What could be the problem?Things I changed:

- I'm using 91 gas. (not sure what original owner used)
- There used to be this terrible "peace of nothing" instead of original backfire screen in air box,and original foam.
(so I put in backfire screen from XR's only and UNI) I have tried to put in back original peace of s*** with stock foam and still fires.
- Changed spark plug but it did it before anyway

Also I found there is this inline fuel filter instead of one in tank.

Or could it be higher humidity we have here in California now?

Or do I need to adjust needles? (haven't wholly cleaned carb yet,just cleaned it bit on bottom-no dirt)

Rest of RPMs are fine when I ride,it's mainly low RPM.

Stock carb
T4 pipe
Half choke

It doesn't start easy (even previous owner had trouble),maybe it's just me
baachor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 09:47 PM   #2
cognugget
n00b
 
cognugget's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Washington State
Oddometer: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by baachor View Post
Hi,

I bought this bike recently and it starts having issues when starting. It fires in low RPM and engine even shots off when I rev it bit while warming up. It actually died on me on STOP sign today.

What could be the problem?Things I changed:

- I'm using 91 gas. (not sure what original owner used)
- There used to be this terrible "peace of nothing" instead of original backfire screen in air box,and original foam.
(so I put in backfire screen from XR's only and UNI) I have tried to put in back original peace of s*** with stock foam and still fires.
- Changed spark plug but it did it before anyway

Also I found there is this inline fuel filter instead of one in tank.

Or could it be higher humidity we have here in California now?

Or do I need to adjust needles? (haven't wholly cleaned carb yet,just cleaned it bit on bottom-no dirt)

Rest of RPMs are fine when I ride,it's mainly low RPM.

Stock carb
T4 pipe
Half choke

It doesn't start easy (even previous owner had trouble),maybe it's just me
what jets. Mine takes 1 kick full choke then 1 kick half choke to fire when cold.
__________________
Plated XR650R
cognugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 11:13 PM   #3
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
After having my XR for a few years I'll start this one off...

Any new XR should have the following done.

1) check and adjust valves
2) detail strip and clean the carb thoroughly. Ensure all jets are clean, ALL passages clear. Measure float level, adjust if necessary. Record all jet and needle settings.

Once the above had been done report back and we can talk. It's a big crap shoot until the above is done.

Best of luck
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 11:14 PM   #4
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Oh and also confirm if you are running the restricted carb manifold...
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 01:53 PM   #5
baachor OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Costa Mesa,CA
Oddometer: 63
Hi Sintax,

I'm going to clean all right now. I did valves yesterday again and seems like one of exhaust valves were too tight with no free play.FIxed that.Going to check it again just in case.And will post all details you wanted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
After having my XR for a few years I'll start this one off...

Any new XR should have the following done.

1) check and adjust valves
2) detail strip and clean the carb thoroughly. Ensure all jets are clean, ALL passages clear. Measure float level, adjust if necessary. Record all jet and needle settings.

Once the above had been done report back and we can talk. It's a big crap shoot until the above is done.

Best of luck
I don't know what that means.Sorry I'm new at R.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
Oh and also confirm if you are running the restricted carb manifold...
baachor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:06 PM   #6
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by baachor View Post
Hi Sintax,

I'm going to clean all right now. I did valves yesterday again and seems like one of exhaust valves were too tight with no free play.FIxed that.Going to check it again just in case.And will post all details you wanted.



I don't know what that means.Sorry I'm new at R.

Good man! make sure its spotless.

For the XR there were 2 intake manifolds produced. One that was used on smog equipment bikes are "restricted" they have a smaller intake size where as the HRC part, is opened up and has much better flow. This is a normal upgrade done during the "uncorking" procedure.


Here is a pic of the restricted...




And here is the unrestricted....




BTW, where in SoCal are you? I'm in Riverside.
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:34 PM   #7
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
If you still have the problem check your stator or excited coil thingy. My xr600 did the same thing and I put a new stator Assy in and back to one kick starting hot or cold.
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 05:29 PM   #8
baachor OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Costa Mesa,CA
Oddometer: 63
Hi sintax,

it took me extra time as I couldn't unscrew the link arm screw,had to use Dremel (gotta need new screw in there)
So here we go:
1. manifold is unrestricted
2. jets are: pilot 68S, main 170,throttle needle in middle (3th) position,pilot screw in 7 full turns
3. spottles

I live in Costa Mesa. You are close

Thank You for helping,I appreciate it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
Good man! make sure its spotless.

For the XR there were 2 intake manifolds produced. One that was used on smog equipment bikes are "restricted" they have a smaller intake size where as the HRC part, is opened up and has much better flow. This is a normal upgrade done during the "uncorking" procedure.

BTW, where in SoCal are you? I'm in Riverside.
kubiak,
I'm actually in process of getting rewound one from BD as it is stock stator
So that would fix that if it is the issue.

Thanx

Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
If you still have the problem check your stator or excited coil thingy. My xr600 did the same thing and I put a new stator Assy in and back to one kick starting hot or cold.

baachor screwed with this post 07-12-2013 at 05:52 PM Reason: fix
baachor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:00 PM   #9
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by baachor View Post
Hi sintax,

it took me extra time as I couldn't unscrew the link arm screw,had to use Dremel (gotta need new screw in there)
So here we go:
1. manifold is unrestricted
2. jets are: pilot 68S, main 170,throttle needle in middle (3th) position,pilot screw in 7 full turns
3. spottles

I live in Costa Mesa. You are close

Thank You for helping,I appreciate it!



kubiak,
I'm actually in process of getting rewound one from BD as it is stock stator
So that would fix that if it is the issue.

Thanx
thats good about the stator. let us know how its going.
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:20 PM   #10
baachor OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Costa Mesa,CA
Oddometer: 63
Yea, it needs it. Lot of work,all is stock except tail and LED blinkers (which won't flash even with LED flasher=one of many reasons it needs new stator)
Did you rewind yours?

Btw,I found this piece felt from carb while I was getting needle jet off. It is rusty and tiny. What the heck? Where it came from? It is rusty so assuming it's not from inside,but it felt when I was poking needle jet off with long stick from top. wierd

I noticed #17 between needle jet #3 and needle jet holder #21 is missing on schema. Is this it?




Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
thats good about the stator. let us know how its going.

baachor screwed with this post 07-12-2013 at 06:29 PM Reason: added
baachor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:55 PM   #11
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by baachor View Post
Yea, it needs it. Lot of work,all is stock except tail and LED blinkers (which won't flash even with LED flasher=one of many reasons it needs new stator)
Did you rewind yours?

Btw,I found this piece felt from carb while I was getting needle jet off. It is rusty and tiny. What the heck? Where it came from? It is rusty so assuming it's not from inside,but it felt when I was poking needle jet off with long stick from top. wierd

I noticed #17 between needle jet #3 and needle jet holder #21 is missing on schema. Is this it?


i got a 200 watt ricky stator for my old xr. the symtoms i was having was it would start in the morning no problem but after i stopped when it was hot it wouldnt restart till i let it cool down about an hour or so. it also had a low speed misfire. after the new stator everything was great.
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:10 PM   #12
baachor OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Costa Mesa,CA
Oddometer: 63
That's strange that stator would do that.

I was about to send my for rewinding today,but waiting what sintax thinks is my problem.Then I will put it all together and try it out tomorrow after work.
And send stator out on Monday. Then electric journey starts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
i got a 200 watt ricky stator for my old xr. the symtoms i was having was it would start in the morning no problem but after i stopped when it was hot it wouldnt restart till i let it cool down about an hour or so. it also had a low speed misfire. after the new stator everything was great.
baachor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:33 PM   #13
Trl Rdr
Big Red Bird
 
Trl Rdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE - The Tax me state
Oddometer: 2,027
Question? I got a new stator, no rewind.
If you send one in for a rewind do they check the windings for the ignition? Or do you get the same one back with new lighting coils and your old Ignition coils?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2 XR650r(s) 2001 & 2002 Plated
GL18HPM9 Titanium (Gold Wing)
CRF230F for the tight shit!
Baja Mexico Trail Ride Report
Big Bend Ranch Drive and Ride Report
Trl Rdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:39 PM   #14
baachor OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Costa Mesa,CA
Oddometer: 63
I'm not sure. Good question. Might call them up and find out. They are closed for weekend. BajaDesigns

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
Question? I got a new stator, no rewind.
If you send one in for a rewind do they check the windings for the ignition? Or do you get the same one back with new lighting coils and your old Ignition coils?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
baachor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:56 PM   #15
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
Question? I got a new stator, no rewind.
If you send one in for a rewind do they check the windings for the ignition? Or do you get the same one back with new lighting coils and your old Ignition coils?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
Im not sure on that one but i bought the new stator from ricky stator and it came ready to bolt on with new windings and two new exciter coils. the exciter coil is what went bad on my xr. my stock xr stator had one exciter coil and i got the new one in the mail and it had two on it. i called them and they said bolt it on its the updated one. so i did and it was perfect.
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014