ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2013, 08:34 AM   #1
True North OP
Adventurer
 
True North's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Savage,MN weekends in Park Rapids,MN
Oddometer: 19
Thumbs down broken 276

Can a 276 with a broken screen be repaired? Garmin no longer does it.
True North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 11:51 AM   #2
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
I've not been inside of one of those units, but i'm guessing its just a ribbon cable to a mainboard. Maybe if you find a replacement screen, or buy a junked unit with a good screen you could swap em?

I dont think it could get anymore broken? Give it a shot.

Worse comes to worse, pre-order a Garmin Monterra
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 04:23 AM   #3
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,879
If you can find the parts, you could repair it.

Look at the thread on how to replace the internal battery for instructions on how to disassemble the unit.

Don't quite know what you mean by broken screen. If you are talking broken glass, that might be easier to source than the LCD. I'm trying to remember if someone at some point found a source for the glass and the display, but I couldn't find the reference.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 02:10 PM   #4
True North OP
Adventurer
 
True North's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Savage,MN weekends in Park Rapids,MN
Oddometer: 19
Both the LCD and glass are broken. I replaced it with a Montana but hate to see a 276 die.
True North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 11:08 AM   #5
mexipike
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 411
screen swap

I had a BmW nav I or II i don't recall. I think it was the garmin streetpilot 2610 or something. I bought one off ebay for like 20 bucks and swapped the screen. I posted a thread here but no one had any tips so I just did it. Took me about a half hour and everything was straight forward. I am not an "electronics guy" or anything like that and I found it easy. Just do it.
mexipike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 12:41 AM   #6
Bengt Phorks
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by True North View Post
Can a 276 with a broken screen be repaired? Garmin no longer does it.
Here is a place that will fix it: http://satnavrepairservice.com/repai...pair/1523.html.

Ebay has parts for it too.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/GLASS-Garmin...-/261111713212

http://www.ebay.com/sch/garmin_parts...rksid=p2047675

Keep it if you can, it is a good GPS.
Bengt Phorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 08:01 PM   #7
Ride4Coffee
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Ride4Coffee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 205
Try portatronics

I just sent my broken 376c to portatronics in NY.

They may be able to fix it. However, YMMV.

In my case, they said that, since everything else was working fine, it must be the motherboard, which they can replace for $640. I respectfully declined and asked for it to be sent back.

And a-shopping I go....
__________________
IBA# 57940
Need the 90mm bolt for your Kaoko?
Ride4Coffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014