ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
JRod152 OP
will work for tires
 
JRod152's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KC, KS... flat&boringville
Oddometer: 209
Euro switch for 950SE???

I'm stumped.

I ordered a KTM Euro switch (P/N: 60011074000) to put on my SE. I want to have the ability to turn the headlight off. I also plan to wire in my aux. lights as shown here by dad2bike to eliminate another thing on the handlebar.

I assumed this was gonna be plug & play. Turns out the molex connection that controls the existing right hand switch is a flat 4 pin. The new euro switch I have is a 9 pin molex connection w/ 7 pins existing... not exactly plug & play.





Two Moto Kiwis posted here about how it works for their SE.

Officially stumped.
__________________
"Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have"
JRod152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 05:19 PM   #2
Sheep Shagger
Show me your fleece
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Where men are men and sheep get nervous
Oddometer: 2,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRod152 View Post
I'm stumped.

I ordered a KTM Euro switch (P/N: 60011074000) to put on my SE. I want to have the ability to turn the headlight off. I also plan to wire in my aux. lights as shown here by dad2bike to eliminate another thing on the handlebar.

I assumed this was gonna be plug & play. Turns out the molex connection that controls the existing right hand switch is a flat 4 pin. The new euro switch I have is a 9 pin molex connection w/ 7 pins existing... not exactly plug & play.





Two Moto Kiwis posted here about how it works for their SE.

Officially stumped.

The light control on the SE is from the left side switchgear, the ignition is right. so you can use the light control switch from an euro KTM exc, or you will probably need to create an adapter for the Adv switch you have.
Do you have a wiring diagram to study, you may get away with re-pinning.
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:29 PM   #3
JRod152 OP
will work for tires
 
JRod152's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KC, KS... flat&boringville
Oddometer: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheep Shagger View Post
The light control on the SE is from the left side switchgear, the ignition is right. so you can use the light control switch from an euro KTM exc, or you will probably need to create an adapter for the Adv switch you have.
Do you have a wiring diagram to study, you may get away with re-pinning.
Aaahhhh...

Like this?The pics in this KTM talk thread show the exact molex config. I need!





Sicass Racing EXC switch

I havent found the OEM KTM part # yet, but Sicass might be a decent way to go.

Thanks for the input... I thought I'd gone crazy.
__________________
"Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have"
JRod152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:51 PM   #4
traveltoad
Aaron S
 
traveltoad's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: San Fernando Valley
Oddometer: 6,565
I have the Sicass on my SE and it has worked flawlessly.
traveltoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 01:48 PM   #5
Sheep Shagger
Show me your fleece
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Where men are men and sheep get nervous
Oddometer: 2,057
The euro SE has the same switch as well BTW.

I *THINK* it's Part# 50311070000 or 50311070100



I have one on my EXC, it's a great option as it's so small, not big and clunky like all the others. But it does require pulling apart and cleaning the contacts once a year or so.
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:50 AM   #6
TrentW
MMmmmm....
 
TrentW's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Wellington
Oddometer: 86
I had the same issue when fitting the euro switch to my SE. From memory, I think I simply removed the terminals from the supplied molex connector and fitted them into the SE's original connectors.

The terminals have a small tab that you need to tweak out of the way before you pull the terminal out of the connector.

Just make sure you make a note of which wires go where before removing the terminals from the connectors

I also replaced the L/H switch block at the same time as my SE had the same switch block as Sheep Shagger's pic. If I hadn't done that I would have had 2 kill switches and 2 light switches (and the horn button location was really pi$$ing me off!)

Not really plug and play... But not a difficult mod either.

TrentW screwed with this post 08-24-2013 at 02:57 AM
TrentW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:58 AM   #7
wilso122
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: London, Blighty
Oddometer: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheep Shagger View Post
The euro SE has the same switch as well BTW.

I *THINK* it's Part# 50311070000 or 50311070100



I have one on my EXC, it's a great option as it's so small, not big and clunky like all the others. But it does require pulling apart and cleaning the contacts once a year or so.
If your switch is like this one underneath on the rhs of the picture is a grommet, take the cap off, the the switch (careful with the wires), file grommet off, out back on and hey presto three way switch with off

Will see if I can find the pics.

Oh and whilst your there flip it, carefully, so you have a thumb operated kill switch and horn.
__________________
525 exc rally lite project

950superenduro.com For those who own the best bike!
wilso122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:24 PM   #8
Two Moto Kiwis
Homeless Somewhere
 
Two Moto Kiwis's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Wanaka, New Zealand, Currently RTWing
Oddometer: 3,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRod152 View Post
I'm stumped.

Two Moto Kiwis posted here about how it works for their SE.

Officially stumped.
Heya JRod152

The previous owner did all the wiring etc for the Euro switch so I have to be honest and say I can't help....yet

Next few days we will be in Medellin and pulling Maya apart to do a valve check and I am going to cut and switch the neg wire on our headlight to disable the main headlight and leave the LEDS running.

I can trace and take photos if that helps, will probably be end of the week

Let me know, sorry I am not yee ol knowledgeable one on this.
__________________
Andi (oveja negra) & Ellen (chica amarilla)...Two Moto Kiwi Grüvers .....riding Maya somewhere ..Una Chimba
Two Moto Kiwis Home Page ..Danger Is Real ... Fear Is Optional
For More Of Two Moto Kiwis Photos
....Where The Hell Are We .. Spot Us
Two Moto Kiwis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 01:24 PM   #9
JRod152 OP
will work for tires
 
JRod152's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KC, KS... flat&boringville
Oddometer: 209
Sounds great! Thanks a bunch for the info, especially considering your travels.

Don't rush for my sake, but if you get some pics of your setup, that'd be cool.
__________________
"Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have"
JRod152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 04:12 PM   #10
Two Moto Kiwis
Homeless Somewhere
 
Two Moto Kiwis's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Wanaka, New Zealand, Currently RTWing
Oddometer: 3,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRod152 View Post
Sounds great! Thanks a bunch for the info, especially considering your travels.

Don't rush for my sake, but if you get some pics of your setup, that'd be cool.
No prob, pmed ya back too, will have some info end of the weekish when we hit civilization and services
__________________
Andi (oveja negra) & Ellen (chica amarilla)...Two Moto Kiwi Grüvers .....riding Maya somewhere ..Una Chimba
Two Moto Kiwis Home Page ..Danger Is Real ... Fear Is Optional
For More Of Two Moto Kiwis Photos
....Where The Hell Are We .. Spot Us
Two Moto Kiwis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:46 PM   #11
Two Moto Kiwis
Homeless Somewhere
 
Two Moto Kiwis's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Wanaka, New Zealand, Currently RTWing
Oddometer: 3,405
OK, not sure I am going to be of any real help to be honest, I am no electrical geek but can do the basics but this I am unsure of.

The first photos are from Guatape, Colombia yesterday, the next photos are from when we broke a wire of in Flores Guatemala.

These looking forward on the left hand side



The white wire is our repair as we could not get the fitting in the box





Looking down from the top



These looking from the front to the blocks on the true left hand side, note some wire are lopped etc so it is w a y above me.



The broken red wire comes from the RHS euro switch and is part of the engine on / off circuit, the rest of the wiring is headlight stuff



I tried tracing it back but it goes into a wod of wires in all directions, it is a birds next in there so I have cable tied a lot up but will get back in there one afternoon again this time with rum as well, I can see I can plug and unplug to detangle things a bit.

So I did my job, cut the negative wire to the headlight and fitted a simple off/on switch, I wanted a warning light to tell me when the headlight was off but that was too much for me.

The switch works perfectly to turn off the main headlight and leave the LEDS running, this mean nearly full power goes to the fans, the audibly run much faster without the headlight on.

Now the funny part, when I turn the headlight off the main beam indicator light comes on!!!

I can't figure that out, anyway, looks like I got my indicator light
__________________
Andi (oveja negra) & Ellen (chica amarilla)...Two Moto Kiwi Grüvers .....riding Maya somewhere ..Una Chimba
Two Moto Kiwis Home Page ..Danger Is Real ... Fear Is Optional
For More Of Two Moto Kiwis Photos
....Where The Hell Are We .. Spot Us
Two Moto Kiwis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:30 AM   #12
JRod152 OP
will work for tires
 
JRod152's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KC, KS... flat&boringville
Oddometer: 209
Thanks for the pics, Andi! I appreciate you checking back in w/ the info. You definitely have something different going on in there than me.

I think I'm gonna go the route of the Sicass Racing switch. FWIW... if any of you do this in the future & want it to be plug & play, get Sicass Part #: 26-042 2007-13 EXC Multi-Function Bar Switch. The other switch (26-040) is a universal switch that does not have the KTM matching molex connections, so you will have to wire it in, FYI.

Thanks everyone for the info.
__________________
"Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have"
JRod152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014