ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 07:50 PM   #1
Decepticon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Decepticon's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Oddometer: 108
Question KTM 990 Adventure Problem With Ralenti

Hi Everyone!

I am new in this page and I wanted to start posting with a different topic, but my anxiety grew stronger than my patience.

Last friday I left my KaTy M. in the garaje, aproximately 30 km before gas reserve signal. Wednesday I came back to ride it but the bike was very hard to start. If i gassed it, it ran, but she could not sustain the engine running at ralenti, at 1500 RPM.

I could make it to my job with her, turning off at every traffic light. I drove enough to need a gas fill . When I stopped to refill (only one tank) I moved the wires and connectors of the gas pump. I restarted it and she sustained ralenti at 1000 RPM. I filled the tank and ran away.

But the problem wasn´t that. The battery died because of the multiple start overs and traffic lights in the city. The electrician doesn´t know what the problem should be, and I think he is too lazy to discover. I want to do it myself.

Things you should know: In my country the best gas is 92 octane, and regular is 87. I fill it indistinctively with both and the performance is the same. The Injection mapping is disconnected to deal with that thrashy gas here.

Thanks for any hint.
Decepticon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:37 PM   #2
Deuce
Crazy Canuck
 
Deuce's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver Island, Bitchin' Columbia, Canada
Oddometer: 2,755
Most likely you need new fuel filters. In the left tank. How many KM's on your bike?
__________________
I'm not lost for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.
-- Winnie the Pooh
Deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:50 PM   #3
jfink
Can't get there from here
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: League City, Texas
Oddometer: 108
Fuel filters, exactly the problem. I had the same problem in Argentina and then again in Colombia in Cucuta. It gets expensive replacing these filters.
__________________
Joe

2014 KTM 500 Exc, 2011 KTM 990 Adventure Dakar, 2004 Goldwing

The End of the World at the End of the World
jfink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:04 PM   #4
Decepticon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Decepticon's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Oddometer: 108
47000 km. But why Doesn´t the FI Sensor appears in the display? if the pump is clogged, the pressure is not the adequate and the fuel injection should not work properly

Decepticon screwed with this post 08-24-2013 at 04:43 AM
Decepticon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 09:14 AM   #5
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,477
There is no fuel pressure meter in the fuel line............. so the Fi system does not know the pressure is low....... so there is no code for low pressure.
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:24 PM   #6
Decepticon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Decepticon's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Oddometer: 108
Bluhduh Another option?

I did a cleaning/checking operation on the fuel pump. Nothing seems to be clogged or damaged. There was dirt in the base, but nothing out of normal.

The engine now starts well, most of the times. But when riding, the bike looses the notion of ralenti and turns off. If I turn the switch or restart the system with the STOP ENGINE Button, the bike returns to normal, apparently.

I think I have to send her to a scan in a KTM autorized service.
Decepticon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:17 PM   #7
Deuce
Crazy Canuck
 
Deuce's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver Island, Bitchin' Columbia, Canada
Oddometer: 2,755
One more time!

Fuel filters
__________________
I'm not lost for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.
-- Winnie the Pooh
Deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 01:44 PM   #8
johnyred
Johnyred
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 16
Probably bad TPS
Look at this thread
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=701742
johnyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:15 PM   #9
Decepticon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Decepticon's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Oddometer: 108
It is not the fuel pump. Mechanic just checked that

Today or maybe tomorrow the guy who charges a lot for his work shall tell me the real problem.

Thanks guys for the help. I will inform you
Decepticon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:56 PM   #10
Decepticon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Decepticon's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Oddometer: 108
Pissed HELP MEEEE!!! I have no patience with authorized service Dealers

Summing up:

1. Checked Battery.
2. Checked Battery Charger.
3. Checked Fuel Pump twice, one by me, second by the Mechanic.

Next steps done by mechanic
4. TPS adjusted. Reassembling. Test drive. She doesn´t stall, but accelerates with no throttle. Very dangerous.
5. TPS re-adjusted. Same step 4.

He´s going to prove another TPS (finally!! what took him so long?)

As I advised, he is going to check on the clutch sensor.

THE QUESTION IS: If all of that thingies are good, What should I be loooking for and where? A priest, a Shaman? a dwarf inside the ECU?

Is like this problem thread, but after re-adjusting of TPS is not anymore:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...8&postcount=13
Decepticon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:50 PM   #11
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,140
It seems that your stepper motor is going crazy. A throttle body swap might just fix the problem. Or you could change the stepper...
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:51 PM   #12
Katoom72
Studly Adventurer
 
Katoom72's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decepticon View Post
Summing up:

1. Checked Battery.
2. Checked Battery Charger.
3. Checked Fuel Pump twice, one by me, second by the Mechanic.

Next steps done by mechanic
4. TPS adjusted. Reassembling. Test drive. She doesn´t stall, but accelerates with no throttle. Very dangerous.
5. TPS re-adjusted. Same step 4.

He´s going to prove another TPS (finally!! what took him so long?)

As I advised, he is going to check on the clutch sensor.

THE QUESTION IS: If all of that thingies are good, What should I be loooking for and where? A priest, a Shaman? a dwarf inside the ECU?

Is like this problem thread, but after re-adjusting of TPS is not anymore:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...8&postcount=13
No need to play World of Warcraft to repair a 990. Did the dealer (or you) check the stepper motor? Is the bike accelerating fast like you pull the throttle or is the rpm rising slowly?

edit: seems the person above me thinks about the same problem.
__________________
Now:
'03 KTM 250sx -- '05 KTM Adventure 950
Before:
'00 KTM 250sx -- '03 KTM 450sx -- '03 Yamaha R6 -- '08 KTM SuperDuke R --- '13 KTM 690 enduro R
Katoom72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 04:09 PM   #13
Decepticon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Decepticon's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Oddometer: 108
Question Stepper Motor

When you release the throttle the bike stays at 3000 RPM and then slowly lowers down to idle. just when riding. otherwise is good
Decepticon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 06:13 PM   #14
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decepticon View Post
When you release the throttle the bike stays at 3000 RPM and then slowly lowers down to idle. just when riding. otherwise is good
The stepper motor is on the throttle body and it sounds like it's the culprit to me at this point
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:20 PM   #15
shawty950
Gnarly Adventurer
 
shawty950's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Brisbane Australia
Oddometer: 242
Using Tuneecu, ON my 07, when I stuff with the TPS, I have to do the "Adjust Throttle Cable" on the "Tests" tab, double click to reset the stepper motor otherwise it does as you have described. ie Idles OK, then when riding sits on 4000rpm...when you pul the clutch it takes about 10 - 20 seconds for the idle to come down again.

If you do not have TuneECU then the KTM diagnostic tool should have the same procedure.
shawty950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014