ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2013, 09:41 AM   #31
pdxmotorhead
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 512
You can buy gneric oil pressure senders that have both a switch-to-ground and the standard resistive terminal on them.. Oo if you found a hot with on ignition point and ran from there to an LED and piggybacked it on the switch it should light and not require cutting anything in.. And it would leave the original system functioning giving you redundant tell tales..

If you put a LED in series you drop the voltage , could screw with the logic in the speedo because they likely did something silly ,, near as I can tell KTM hires BMW Auto division to do their electrics... 950 has too many fuses.. My BMW 330xi has 85 fuses.. LOL

Dave
__________________
Guns are like parachutes
If you need one and don't have it
You will never need one again
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 04:44 PM   #32
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxmotorhead View Post
You can buy gneric oil pressure senders that have both a switch-to-ground and the standard resistive terminal on them.. Oo if you found a hot with on ignition point and ran from there to an LED and piggybacked it on the switch it should light and not require cutting anything in.. And it would leave the original system functioning giving you redundant tell tales..

If you put a LED in series you drop the voltage , could screw with the logic in the speedo because they likely did something silly ,, near as I can tell KTM hires BMW Auto division to do their electrics... 950 has too many fuses.. My BMW 330xi has 85 fuses.. LOL

Dave
Oh I like that! Not cutting in is better. Yes that would be the ACC2 which is switched. Through the LED and piggy back onto the oil pressure switch as you suggest and you have 2 seperate warning lights! Being an LED it will only take a tiny wire all the way to the switch so no big deal.
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 04:01 PM   #33
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICERIDER View Post
Oh I like that! Not cutting in is better. Yes that would be the ACC2 which is switched. Through the LED and piggy back onto the oil pressure switch as you suggest and you have 2 seperate warning lights! Being an LED it will only take a tiny wire all the way to the switch so no big deal.
Well, I did eventually get around to doing the Oil pressure warning light repeater on my Erzberg.

I got a nice bright LED red light from Ebay and popped it into the centre water drain hole on the SE mask. Found a switched feed so I put one wire there. Ran the other tiny single wire down to the Oil Pressure Switch connector on the LH side and crimped into that.

So I have effectively connected the LED in parallel with the OEM Oil Pressure Warning Light with no ill-effects to the warning panel.

It's not an exact repeat because it isn't switched by the RH handlebar engine on/off switch. This switch powers the OEM light wheras my LED comes on with the key, but the light does what the OEM does regarding pressure.

Here it is in bright sunlight.

__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014