ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 09:25 PM   #1
Hazman27 OP
The Haz
 
Hazman27's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Oddometer: 577
easier way 60csx?

So I want to send a gpx file map from central forum to my 60csx, when I open the gpx file may computer says cannot open... God, I just need a 1,2,3,4,5, steps to follow. this is real close to the last time for this.
Hazman27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:07 PM   #2
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,354
Maybe share what software you are trying to open the file with and post a link to the file.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:00 AM   #3
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,830
I would use Mapsource to do this.
If you don't have it try to get it or download Basecamp from Garmin.

Connect your 60csx to the computer via a USB port
(if this is the first time you might have to go thru some driver installation windows.)
Open the file in Mapsource or Basecamp

In Mapsource use the icon showing an arrow to the GPS unit. You might have to hit the Find Device button the first time.

Haven't done it in Basecamp. You use the File\Import into List command to get the file into Basecamp. Then I would right click on the file ("List") and select "Send To" and then select the GPS unit from the resulting list.

You can put the 60 in disc mode and send the gpx file to it, but the unit will not recognize it as having track/route/waypoint information.

You have to use the special transfer protocol in Mapsource and I assume Basecamp.



.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:21 AM   #4
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
You have to use the special transfer protocol in Mapsource and I assume Basecamp.

Not sure this is correct. While I use MapSource and BaseCamp there are many other utilities which can open GPX files and format them for loading to a 60. Maps are another matter.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 01:29 PM   #5
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnut View Post
Not sure this is correct. While I use MapSource and BaseCamp there are many other utilities which can open GPX files and format them for loading to a 60. Maps are another matter.

Bruce
Sorry I should have been clearer. When I said special protocol I was talking about how route/track/waypoint data is sent to the 60. Not about handling the input gpx file.

I was trying to emphasize that you cannot just copy a gpx file to the 60 and expect the 60 to recognize tracks and stuff.

Maybe another term would be better, but I tend to think of the way Mapsource sends track data to this class of GPS units as a special protocol.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:37 PM   #6
Hazman27 OP
The Haz
 
Hazman27's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Oddometer: 577
response

OK, Got it, jeezus, my usb to mini usb cord had been nicked, I presume by either one of two boys who like to use it for their Nintendo(s). I have opened, saved, transferred before. It was just not doing right this time, so I had to get out the manual and start all over. process of elimination had me beyond frustration. Now the problem is that city nav is not showing the streets on the gps screen anymore, hmmm.

Lastly, has anyone tried to link two 60s' via mini to mini usb to transfer files?
Hazman27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:50 PM   #7
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazman27 View Post
Now the problem is that city nav is not showing the streets on the gps screen anymore, hmmm.

Lastly, has anyone tried to link two 60s' via mini to mini usb to transfer files?

I recall Garmin have a Garmin to Garmin interface but have never heard of anyone doing it with a 60/76, Countdown would be the one to ask.

Losing street detail in CN doesn't sound good, check the usual things like zooming out to see the map tiles, checking that CN is set to show and detail level is "Highest".

If I have any question regarding communication I use the tool to "Get Unit ID".

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 08:35 AM   #8
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Same answer: it was on lod units via serial port I think and now on new uinits via wireless. Can't transfer between units on 50/76.

When you did download, did you have "Maps" checked? If so I assume it would erase what was there and then download nothing.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014