ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2013, 10:20 AM   #2386
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by stormdog View Post
Not realy a tunecu question but I thought maybe one of you guys might be able to enlighten me on how the fueling system "thinks"
when I am hooked up to tunecu and the bike is idling ,the injection pulse for the front cylinder drifts higher in comparision to the rear cylinder, which stays constant. at the same time I see a drop in the front cylinder O2 sensor volts to near zero. the bike then farts and every thing starts over in about a 30 second loop.
So my question is what controls the front cylinders fueling pulse independently from the rear? I have put in new O2 sensors and there is no broken wires. I have had the injectors cleaned. I have set the TPS to its correct value and done a couple of 15 minute resets.
Well the ECU controls both cylinders from separate tables for all parameters. This is done because the two cylinders (even though water cooled) operate at different temperatures and load factors which are determined in part by the physical location of the cylinders and the angle between the cylinders.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:54 PM   #2387
stormdog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Almost Southern Oregon
Oddometer: 307
Dirtjack
Thanks yes it makes sense that the maps are different. But at idle my rear cylinders injection pulse is around 2.100 to 2.500 and its O2 sensor stays close to the .865 to .930 range The front cylinders pulse will start around .020 higher then it will climb to 1.2 higher at the same time my O2 sensor drops from .8 volts to .025 or zero volts. This corresponds with a noticably rougher engine idle a cough, fart and then the idle smooths out and the two cylinders readings come close to matching then the cycle repeats. So I believe the volts from the sensor tell the ecu what to pulse but something in the chain of command so to speak is not synced and the injector and O2 sesor are chasing each other?? but what and why??
stormdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 10:33 PM   #2388
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,804
Hi StormDog,
Sounds like the throttle bodies just aren't sync'd.

What about the front/rear manifold pressure sensors? What do they read when the ign is on and the engine is not running? How does that compare to the Atmos Pressure sensor? How about when the engine is running, is one manifold sensor way off?

Which map? Remind us of the year 07-08, or later?

Have you tried down loading the map again, with the 15 min idle? May just have a bad down load.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:35 AM   #2389
stormdog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Almost Southern Oregon
Oddometer: 307
Zuber I sent you a PM before I read this post.
it has the stock 2010 map, I will check the manifold pressure etc and post back in a while Thanks
stormdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 11:12 AM   #2390
stormdog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Almost Southern Oregon
Oddometer: 307
Manifold pressure cold
Manifold cold. 1015 hpa 3.65v. 3.64v.

Barometric pressure cold
1009. 3.64
Hot readings
Barometric stayed close to 1011

I am not quit understanding my hot readings for the manifold
The pressure roamed up and down between 370 and 400
When it got close to 400 was when the engine was running rough
The two voltage readings ran up and down from1.9 to3.2 they didn't seem to follow each other the left would read 1.6 the right would be 3.04 then the left would be 2.9 and the right would be1.68
On first start up it will will throw a code po150 sensor 2 circuit malfunction but I put in a new sensor and still get the code
stormdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 01:36 PM   #2391
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,316
CPR Fab Map

I'm using the CPR 07/08 2to1 2% leaner map.

While my bike was running and preforming quite well, since I had the Rottwieller intake, thought I'd try their mapping.

It does smooth the bike out a little better, but I have a slight bog at 3700 to 3900 RPM's. Do I:

1) Reload the same map or the 1% map from CPR??

2) Load a completely different or the former map??

3) Since I do like this map, should I be able to tweek this map and
eliminate the bog?? And if so, how??

Thanks,
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:42 PM   #2392
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,003
As I've posted before,
I'm running a map made from copying the F L and F/L switching
tables from the 2011 Rott with 2 to 1 thanks nils map

into the stock map from my '08 990 with Rott air and 2to1 exhaust.
The bike is perfect, with no problems thru out the rev range to rev limiter.
of course all the ectomies are done.

I've just installed the same map into another '08 with dual exhausts and
the Rott air. this bike, an old one of mine with 48,000 mi. runs superb.
I'd been chasing a excellent throttle response on this bike since I bought
it new in '08, it's the best it's ever been.

Short of having Nils dyno the bikes I'm satisfied with how the perform.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
é senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:54 PM   #2393
RoundOz
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 969
where?

Where is this map found:
"2011 Rott with 2 to 1 thanks nils map"

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
As I've posted before,
I'm running a map made from copying the F L and F/L switching
tables from the 2011 Rott with 2 to 1 thanks nils map

into the stock map from my '08 990 with Rott air and 2to1 exhaust.
The bike is perfect, with no problems thru out the rev range to rev limiter.
of course all the ectomies are done.

I've just installed the same map into another '08 with dual exhausts and
the Rott air. this bike, an old one of mine with 48,000 mi. runs superb.
I'd been chasing a excellent throttle response on this bike since I bought
it new in '08, it's the best it's ever been.

Short of having Nils dyno the bikes I'm satisfied with how the perform.

Max
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:46 PM   #2394
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by stormdog View Post

On first start up it will will throw a code po150 sensor 2 circuit malfunction but I put in a new sensor and still get the code
Seems that the sensors are ok, but you have a wiring problem between the front sensor and the ECU. Carefully check out the connectors, often they will push back out of the holding block. Look at the voltages, engine off and wiggle the connectors and wires. Check all grounds, really flaky stuff comes from bad grounds.

Also, check the jets where the sensor's hoses connect to the manifolds. There are small jets inside that can easily get clogged and prevent the pressure reaching the sensor.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:21 AM   #2395
stormdog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Almost Southern Oregon
Oddometer: 307
Thanks
I checked the connectors and jets already but will check them and the grounds again. The thing I have trouble wrapping my brain around is how rhythmic and repeatable the symptoms are. A ground or bad wire would be more random I would think.
It sucks being an old analog guy in a digital world
stormdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:22 AM   #2396
ADVill
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: West Tn, USA
Oddometer: 604
IS there a list of people that have Tune ECU on this site? Is it OK to just make a general post to ask if there is someone in my area that has it and knows what they are doing? Best to ask in this thread or just a separate thread in OC?
Snatchy throttle driving me a little bonkers. Smooth every where except the no throttle/throttle junction.

Thanks.
__________________
'08 990 Adventure Orange of course
'00 520 EXC
'14 500 XCW
ADVill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:37 AM   #2397
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoundOz View Post
Where is this map found:
"2011 Rott with 2 to 1 thanks nils map"
It's in the TuneECU library.
There is also a link to it from the CPR Fab site.
It was built by Nils for a inmate here.

There's some posts about the map in the Rottweiler
thread.

Compare the F and L tables with the stock '08 map.
You'll see them richened up slightly.

First I just loaded the F tables and the bike ran well, but at low throttle
openings it not as smooth as I wanted.
I then added the L tables and the F/L switching. Both '08's I've loaded it
too run excellent.

I also tried copying the ignition maps and the bike would barely run.
Just for laughs I tried loading the full 2011 map. The ECU bricked
and the bike was dead.
But the brilliant Alain, who has created TuneECU, has included a
recovery program which pops up and asks if you want to run it.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
é senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:02 AM   #2398
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
I also tried copying the ignition maps and the bike would barely run.
Thanks for your timely post. I was going to try that today. You saved me some time.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 10:40 AM   #2399
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,785
Hi guys. I'm new to tuning. I have a 2012 990 Adv R. I plan on ordering the tuning cable from CJ Designs. However, before I do I have a couple of questions.

1) I have a MacBook Pro running Windows 7 under Parallels. I have Tune ECU installed and it seems to be opening up fine. I'm just wondering if it will actually work with the cable. Is there anyone out there with MacBook Pro/Parallels/Tune ECU experience?

2) What drivers do I need to install for the CJ Designs cable?


Thanks!
__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:08 PM   #2400
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Griz View Post
Hi guys. I'm new to tuning. I have a 2012 990 Adv R. I plan on ordering the tuning cable from CJ Designs. However, before I do I have a couple of questions.

1) I have a MacBook Pro running Windows 7 under Parallels. I have Tune ECU installed and it seems to be opening up fine. I'm just wondering if it will actually work with the cable. Is there anyone out there with MacBook Pro/Parallels/Tune ECU experience?

2) What drivers do I need to install for the CJ Designs cable?


Thanks!
Griz, I use Mac's too. I don't use Parallels anymore, but I do use VirtualBox from Oracle (distributed under the GNU license at no cost to users). TuneECU works fine in that environment once you assign a virtual serial or USB device to the FTDI ODBII gizmo. I use a 64 bit Win7 seven system (because I had it) and the installation/operation is pretty much what the manuals describe.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014