ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2013, 04:57 PM   #16
NICO
NWGS's pwner!1!!1!
 
NICO's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Oddometer: 24,680
Would an overfill cause the oil to foam, limiting the pump's ability to circulate it?
NICO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 05:31 PM   #17
joexr
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: S.E.
Oddometer: 3,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICO View Post
Would an overfill cause the oil to foam, limiting the pump's ability to circulate it?
Possibly. I could also be belching oil into the airbox and filter.
joexr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 05:58 PM   #18
Stan_R80/7
Beastly Gnarly
 
Stan_R80/7's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: VA
Oddometer: 1,272
How to check the oil level on the DRZ400: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LSHrXfwa5W8

If the oil level is above the upper level mark on the dipstick then the engine has too much oil.
Stan_R80/7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:59 PM   #19
kartl
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICO View Post
Would an overfill cause the oil to foam, limiting the pump's ability to circulate it?
I would say yes that is very possible and due to this it can also increase the pressure that can cause internal damage. Running to much oil is almost the same with running with out oil at all.
kartl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:31 PM   #20
viverrid
not dead yet
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Western Mass
Oddometer: 30,482
DRZ is dry sump and nothing to do with hydraulic valves or hydraulically driven variable timing.

The bike needs to be recently run to check the oil level. The dipstick is way up on the frame that acts as the oil tank. It is not down on the case.
__________________
Advanced pancreatic cancer found 04/2010. Have outlived +/- 97% of patients with this diagnosis, but 08/2013 cancer now in liver, vascular system and lungs with 20+ lung tumors. Sick/weak sometimes, not riding much. No more treatments & now under Hospice care.
viverrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:37 PM   #21
*Gmoney*
don't look here
 
*Gmoney*'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Where I want to be
Oddometer: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICO View Post
Would an overfill cause the oil to foam?
Its got Rabies!
*Gmoney* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 07:08 PM   #22
KeithinSC
Beastly Adventurer
 
KeithinSC's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Sandhills of SC
Oddometer: 1,335
Did you remember there are 2 O rings around the filter? One about .5" dia, the other about 2" dia.

Lay the bike on its' side (no spill method) and take the filter cover and filter out again. Make sure they are there and didn't get sucked into the engine.
KeithinSC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 10:46 PM   #23
RidingAgin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RidingAgin's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of WA Cascades.
Oddometer: 397
Did you get water mixed in with the oil? That would get it to foam. DAMHIK.

If it is foaming, I would drain and put new oil in. Start fresh.

__________________
08 R1200GS, 11 F650GS twin
RidingAgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 04:51 AM   #24
Fixnfly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Fixnfly's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: SWPA
Oddometer: 320
I wish The OP would get back in this conversation....
An update sure would be nice.
__________________
01 DRZ400S 93 GSXR750 13 Z1000
Fixnfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 06:32 AM   #25
Waco
Renegade Sickle Hound
 
Waco's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fixnfly View Post
I wish The OP would get back in this conversation....
An update sure would be nice.
His bike locked up in a bad neighborhood.
__________________
Support the AMA.
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 06:40 AM   #26
uraberg
whosaberg?
 
uraberg's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Oddometer: 689
Draining, and filling to listed capacity without measuring is never a good idea. This is how places like Jiffylube always overfill your car.
uraberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 11:51 AM   #27
Cogswell
Spudly Adventurer
 
Cogswell's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Riding with my pal Richard Cranium
Oddometer: 4,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by viverrid View Post
DRZ is dry sump and nothing to do with hydraulic valves or hydraulically driven variable timing.

The bike needs to be recently run to check the oil level. The dipstick is way up on the frame that acts as the oil tank. It is not down on the case.
Correct, also a dry sump engine will not foam the oil as the crank is not splashing about in it.


Mike
__________________
Cogswell Rides To Big Bend
See my airhead project here
Time Warp Vintage Motorcycle Club
The good thing is, your damn motor can't read. If it says oil on the container, it's pretty much OK to dump in there.... ED.
Cogswell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:42 PM   #28
1greenmachine
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: green bay, wi
Oddometer: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICO View Post
Would an overfill cause the oil to foam, limiting the pump's ability to circulate it?
A overfill will let the crank hit the oil and windage it which will flow the same but not lubricate like its suppose to.
1greenmachine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:22 PM   #29
Waco
Renegade Sickle Hound
 
Waco's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by uraberg View Post
Draining, and filling to listed capacity without measuring is never a good idea. This is how places like Jiffylube always overfill your car.
What do you do? Fill it partially, warm the engine, check the oil, and add some more? I've only done that when the capacity was unknown. If it says 3.75 qt, I'm pouring in 3.75 qt.
__________________
Support the AMA.
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 03:49 PM   #30
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waco View Post
What do you do? Fill it partially, warm the engine, check the oil, and add some more? I've only done that when the capacity was unknown. If it says 3.75 qt, I'm pouring in 3.75 qt.

I drain frame and pan, change filter, the dump in 2 quarts. The extra 200ml our whatever burns off sob enough anyway. ;)
__________________
scrolling through the words to get to the pictures is cool, but i'm really just here for the tracks and waypoints... post some ok ?
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014