ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2013, 01:37 AM   #691
despistao
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Basque Country
Oddometer: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by B00001 View Post
Quick question on Nav V before I drop the better part of a grand on this thing. How big of a PITA is it to set up a route on the computer and dump it onto the navigator for a trip? What is the EASIEST way to do this?
Check Tyre software (http://www.tyretotravel.com/)

Way easier and intuitive than BaseCamp.
despistao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 04:50 AM   #692
ClearwaterBMW
The Examiner
 
ClearwaterBMW's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Clearwater, FL USA
Oddometer: 5,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by despistao View Post
Check Tyre software (http://www.tyretotravel.com/)

Way easier and intuitive than BaseCamp.
it is a windows-only program
not sure why that is
but, looks interesting
i agree that the garmin's software is NEVER intuitive
but.... they finally came out with a mac-based program

maybe tyre will, too
i hope so
thanks for suggestion
__________________
Greg
'11 R1200 GS Adventure with a DMC M72DX Sidecar
'14 R1200 GS & '14 R nineT (march, 2014)
Live life like you mean it... but take your family and friends (and DOGS) along for the "ride"
ClearwaterBMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 09:42 PM   #693
Houseelf
Adventurer
 
Houseelf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: U.S.A.,North East
Oddometer: 8
Turn by turn directions volume low

Quote:
Originally Posted by IB1 View Post
I use a Shuberth SRC system. Ith has 5 buttons. 2 for volume and it works fine. + there are plastics to guide your fingers so you know you have the right button. When filtering trough traffic I don't fettle with music or sound and keep my hands on the bars.
I only used Nav V for two days over this weekend on a two day trip, and had no time to research the issue.. It appears that the volume for the directions prompts is extremely low when paired with Schuberth SRC. The music is loud enough, the phone (iPhone) could be a little louder, but the prompts are so quite that if I don't look at the screen, I can easily miss the turn announcement. Do I miss something in the settings? Any one have the same experience?
Houseelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 12:14 AM   #694
IB1
Studly Adventurer
 
IB1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Oddometer: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Houseelf View Post
I only used Nav V for two days over this weekend on a two day trip, and had no time to research the issue.. It appears that the volume for the directions prompts is extremely low when paired with Schuberth SRC. The music is loud enough, the phone (iPhone) could be a little louder, but the prompts are so quite that if I don't look at the screen, I can easily miss the turn announcement. Do I miss something in the settings? Any one have the same experience?
The Schuberth has 2 different volume settings for 1: (mono channel) nav directions and phone and 2: (stereo sound) music.
Just increase the volume while on the phone or nav instructions, when the music resumes the volume shouldn't have changed. (that's how it works with the 660 and SRC).
__________________
Past bikes: 09 BMW F800ST
Current ride: 2013 BMW R1200GS

Yes, still a rookie
IB1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:50 AM   #695
Houseelf
Adventurer
 
Houseelf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: U.S.A.,North East
Oddometer: 8
Thanks, it works now just fine..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Houseelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:56 AM   #696
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Houseelf View Post
Thanks, it works now just fine..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There is also a separate "mixer" volume setting on the Nav V under bluetooth. There are separate controls for each kind of audio; little sliders on the screen that you can adjust.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:58 AM   #697
Houseelf
Adventurer
 
Houseelf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: U.S.A.,North East
Oddometer: 8
All mixer settings where on max.. I really had to do a separate volume adjustment on the headset controller. One has to get GPS to start giving spoken commands and make adjustments while it is still active
Houseelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 07:19 PM   #698
Surfer
Barley Adventurer
 
Surfer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Oddometer: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcParnes View Post
Thank you! I just spoke with Zagg and he suggested their protector for the Garmin Nuvi 3597. Based on JetSpeed's info it will be 1 mm short all around which is of no consequence.

Marc
Well, the 3597 protector showed up. Apparently the Zagg guy doesn't know his own product. It is 131x72, and designed to cover the display and frame around it.

Looks like a bit of a trim, but should be a perfect fit now. Just make sure you trim the bottom right off, as it has a hole in it.
Surfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 11:05 PM   #699
jolly green giant
biggles
 
jolly green giant's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Malta
Oddometer: 81
Anyone tried the 660 on the nav mount?
jolly green giant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 01:17 AM   #700
Bails
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bails's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Wollongong Australia
Oddometer: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by jolly green giant View Post
Anyone tried the 660 on the nav mount?
Yes it works fine except the whiz wheel won't work, but that isn't an issue for me. I have ordered the Nav V mainly to have better functionality not for the whiz wheel.
__________________
If it has to Be then it's up to Me!
Bikes Multi Strada 1200 BMW GSA
Bails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 04:25 AM   #701
IB1
Studly Adventurer
 
IB1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Oddometer: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails View Post
Yes it works fine except the whiz wheel won't work, but that isn't an issue for me. I have ordered the Nav V mainly to have better functionality not for the whiz wheel.
Same here, but for tax reasons I'll wait for 2014 to order it for tax reasons.
__________________
Past bikes: 09 BMW F800ST
Current ride: 2013 BMW R1200GS

Yes, still a rookie
IB1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:59 AM   #702
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,880
So, I ran into limitation of the Nav V over the weekend. I spent a bunch of time creating a fairly complex one day Route to follow. Part of the route was created from a track where I had stumbled across roads that I wanted to take again sometime. The rest I added in BaseCamp with the insert tool (pencil icon) to make it into a loop.

Apparently, imported track points become Via Points when imported to to a route. It wouldn't matter except the Nav V has an arbitrary Via Point limit of 29! So, my route was split into three routes on the Nav V! How stupid is it to not even be able to have a route in one piece for a day's ride?

Even worse, when in BaseCamp and I look at the Route detail dialog and right-click a Via Point and select "do not alert - shaping point" the software doesn't really change it to a Shaping Point, so I still hit the 29 Via Point limit.

If anyone else finds this limitation silly or frustrating, I urge you to contact both Garmin and BMW about it. Garmin built the Nav V to BMW's specs, but I suspect they never thought about this item.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 08:37 AM   #703
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,880
Well, this is really weird. I just did a test. I pushed the route to the Nav again, and it came out as a single route!

Since my initial post about this, I have exited BaseCamp and re-entered it. Is it possible that the Via Points did not actually change to Shaping Points until the application closed?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:27 AM   #704
despistao
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Basque Country
Oddometer: 80
After more than a month waiting, my Navigator V finally arrived to my dealer. Can't wait to put my hands on it.

despistao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 12:47 PM   #705
WindSailor
Studly Adventurer
 
WindSailor's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere out West
Oddometer: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto
Is it possible that the Via Points did not actually change to Shaping Points until the application closed?
Sounds like BaseCamp was still in edit mode when you uploaded the first route and didn't save the properties of the route when you first uploaded it. That would be my first guess.

I would click on another list within BaseCamp to give that item focus and then back to that route or back to the route that you had just edited and then upload it to the device. Then see if the incident is repeatable.
WindSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014