ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2013, 11:09 AM   #811
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 3,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by despistao View Post
From the official BMW GROUP press release:

"For days when the motorcycle remains in the garage, an automobile mounting kit allows the powerful GPS unit to be used as a portable navigator. A speaker and microphone are integrated into the car kit cradle to provide audio output as well as well as a hands-free cell phone feature."

https://www.press.bmwgroup.com/press...tem=node__6629

There goes another hundred and fifty smacks.
I'm starting to think that BMW thinks we're all made like that dipshit riding the bike on the Geico TV ad.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 01:07 PM   #812
Bails
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bails's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Wollongong Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullholb View Post

Just updated with Garmin maps 2014 disc of ebay all good.

As mater of interest for Australians Oztopo maps work fine as well.

Next thing is to delete US maps and a lot of files in there that you will never use.
Can you get 3D view ? I have done the same map update but no 3D view. I perfer the 3D view it seems to make the GPS a little more readable.
__________________
If it has to Be then it's up to Me!
Bikes Multi Strada 1200 BMW GSA
Bails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 02:21 PM   #813
smithdt
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Gladstone, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 80
Nth
smithdt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 04:46 PM   #814
OzOldrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
OzOldrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Holbrook NSW Australia
Oddometer: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails View Post
Can you get 3D view ? I have done the same map update but no 3D view. I perfer the 3D view it seems to make the GPS a little more readable.
Will have a look tonight, I see it's there. Tried to get blue tooth for my Sena intercom work but no luck yet, gps finds it but won't connect!

Bill
OzOldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:49 PM   #815
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails View Post
Can you get 3D view ? I have done the same map update but no 3D view. I perfer the 3D view it seems to make the GPS a little more readable.
Isn't the 3D view a separate map file from the 2D one? So maybe you don't have both files?

On my US-spec Nav V once chooses by:

Settings > Map & Vehicle > Driving Map View > select from: Track Up, North Up, or 3D. Mine offers all 3 choices.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 08:06 PM   #816
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 3,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullholb View Post
Will have a look tonight, I see it's there. Tried to get blue tooth for my Sena intercom work but no luck yet, gps finds it but won't connect!

Bill

I have heard of other problems with Sena BT devices, usually resolved by either upgrading or downgrading the firmware on the Sena.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 04:21 AM   #817
OzOldrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
OzOldrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Holbrook NSW Australia
Oddometer: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
I have heard of other problems with Sena BT devices, usually resolved by either upgrading or downgrading the firmware on the Sena.
Yeah I see one guy had it working with the latest update which I finally got 4.3 installed but still no dice. GPS finds it but wont stay connected.

Might have to try earlier software.
OzOldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 04:25 AM   #818
OzOldrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
OzOldrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Holbrook NSW Australia
Oddometer: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails View Post
Can you get 3D view ? I have done the same map update but no 3D view. I perfer the 3D view it seems to make the GPS a little more readable.
Seems I have 3D, have 3 choices for display changes a bit with each one.

Will go for a ride tomorrow to see how it goes.
OzOldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 04:33 AM   #819
Bails
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bails's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Wollongong Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullholb View Post
Seems I have 3D, have 3 choices for display changes a bit with each one.

Will go for a ride tomorrow to see how it goes.
I have the options also but they do not work. E-mailed Garmin they said will only work with maps installed on device at time of purchase. Sena works well for me.
__________________
If it has to Be then it's up to Me!
Bikes Multi Strada 1200 BMW GSA
Bails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 12:40 PM   #820
OzOldrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
OzOldrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Holbrook NSW Australia
Oddometer: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails View Post
I have the options also but they do not work. E-mailed Garmin they said will only work with maps installed on device at time of purchase. Sena works well for me.
Did you copy and past the new map files or let the disc program load them, I did the later

Just wonder if it's a setting somewhere, when I hit the Media player button it just says (an A2DP Bluetooth headset must connected to listen to music) would have thought it would still open the app

The music worked fine on my old Garmin.
OzOldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 05:00 PM   #821
Otherworld
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Otherworld's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto
Oddometer: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails View Post
I have the options also but they do not work. E-mailed Garmin they said will only work with maps installed on device at time of purchase. Sena works well for me.
myMaps on the V lists "CD North America NT 2014.30 3D" installed.
Otherworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:38 PM   #822
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,969
Can anyone actually find the maps on their Nav V with Windows Explorer?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 08:00 PM   #823
kurt1305
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Oddometer: 141
For the price of the car mount, I'm going to buy a dedicated GPS unit for my car. Much lighter and I don't have to move it back and forth.
kurt1305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 12:19 AM   #824
OzOldrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
OzOldrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Holbrook NSW Australia
Oddometer: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Can anyone actually find the maps on their Nav V with Windows Explorer?
Yes if you unlock gps, have a look at post #808.

Bill

OzOldrider screwed with this post 12-14-2013 at 04:03 AM
OzOldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 05:43 AM   #825
Bails
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bails's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Wollongong Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullholb View Post
Did you copy and past the new map files or let the disc program load them, I did the later

Just wonder if it's a setting somewhere, when I hit the Media player button it just says (an A2DP Bluetooth headset must connected to listen to music) would have thought it would still open the app

The music worked fine on my old Garmin.
I copied and Pasted but did the 3D and the CN Map, the maps show up as being used but the GPS does not display in 3D even though selected.
__________________
If it has to Be then it's up to Me!
Bikes Multi Strada 1200 BMW GSA
Bails is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014