ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2014, 02:28 PM   #1
fhammond OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Bay Area, U.S.
Oddometer: 245
Installing BMW Navigator V GPS on KTM 1190

I bought an 1190 R last week and wanted to mount a new BMW Navigator V GPS to it. I purchased the Nav V because I get a good discount from a local BMW dealer and I like the GPS: itís got the functions I want off-road and a four-button cradle thatís easy to use when riding.

Since the 1190 R and Nav V is a new combo, I thought Iíd share how I put it together. I did the installation last night and itís working really well.

The Nav Vís cradle has a split cable with two sockets at the end: a plug for power and one to plug in to a 2014 BMW GS or RT, so that the GPS can use the controller on the handle bars (which Iíve gotta admit is pretty cool!) The controller cable wonít work on the 1190 and the cradleís power connector isnít compatible with the KTMís accessory power connector.

Fortunately, BMW sells a cable with a female plug one end and bare wires on the other end. It is BMW part number 83 30 0 413 586 and looks like this (the yellow cable on the left; there's another view of it here):



Three wires come into the back of this connector, arranged in a triangular pattern (i.e,. the outer two wires come into the connector at the same level, while the middle one is slightly higher). The wires are all the same color but if youíre looking at the back of the connector, with the top of the ďtriangleĒ pointed up, the outer cable on the right is ground, the outer cable on the left is power and the middle cable is unused.

The KTMís accessory cable uses blue (eight gauge) spade connectors, so I crimped two of these onto the ends of the BMW cable.

The 1190ís accessory power is a little tricky to find: itís located under the cigarette adapter to the left of the instruments. Iíve read on Adv about some people removing a bunch of panels to get to the accessory power area but I found that this wasnít necessary. I used a small telescoping mirror to get a good look at the underside of the accessory area and found that there was a gap small enough to get my fingers into (and it seems like the gap is designed to do this). I was able to pull out the two pairs of accessory cables.

The pairs are labelled ACC1 and ACC2. ACC1 supplies power constantly and ACC2 is keyed to the ignition. I plugged the spade connectors from my BMW cable into ACC2 and the GPS powered up successfully when I turned the ignition on. Here's how it looked before I finished the wiring; the BMW connector is at the bottom of the picture, attached to the yellow cable.



To mount the GPS to the bike, I used three RAM products:
  • Plate and 1Ē ball that attaches to back of the Navigator V cradle (RAM-B-347U)
  • One inch long arm with ball sockets on each end (RAM-B-201U-A)
  • Handlebar clamp base that replaces one of the bolts on the handlebars with a bolt that has a 1Ē ball on the top. (RAM-B-367U) And, if youíre getting all picky, the repair manual says the handlebar bolt should be torqued to 20 NM.

Iíve used this setup on another bike and it works really well, keeping the GPS out of the way while still being visible. Oh, one annoying thing is that the RAM plate for the GPS cradle doesnít come with any connecting bolts. Fortunately, I had this already from another project; if I figure out the right RAM part number for the bolt set, Iíll update this post.

Lastly, I zip tied all the wiring and gently pushed the whole coil back through the gap and into the space under the cigarette lighter. It fit without any problems but I also shortened the yellow BMW cable or even just used the cradle's built in connector and cut off the BMW connector, replacing it with spade connectors. However, I wanted to keep the cradle intact and the approach I took worked ok.

I hope someone finds these instructions useful; hereís the final result:


fhammond screwed with this post 01-13-2014 at 07:09 PM
fhammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 06:15 PM   #2
PatSmith
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento
Oddometer: 394
Thank you so much. I took my BMW Nav IV of my GSA and want to put it on my 1190 but assumed the wiring was going to be a problem.
Do you recall if the connector that you bought has round pins of flat connectors. My Nav wiring harness has round pins.
__________________
09 GSA
11 F800gs
PatSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:06 PM   #3
fhammond OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Bay Area, U.S.
Oddometer: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatSmith View Post
Thank you so much. I took my BMW Nav IV of my GSA and want to put it on my 1190 but assumed the wiring was going to be a problem.
Do you recall if the connector that you bought has round pins of flat connectors. My Nav wiring harness has round pins.
The BMW connector I purchased - the one with the three yellow wires - is a female connector with square connectors for the small pins in the Navigator V's cradle cable.

Here's a close up picture of that cable, courtesy of Schtum, who responded to me in another thread on the same subject:



Can you post a picture of the cable on the Nav IV's cradle? Does it look like this?



I'd thought the cradles were the same between the Nav IV and Nav V but it looks like maybe they are not. A BMW dealer should be able to help; all you need is a cable that has a female connector for the Nav IV on one end and bare wires on the other.
fhammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:36 PM   #4
PatSmith
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento
Oddometer: 394
I'm technology challenged and have never tried to post pictures here.
I just looked at my two connectors and they look the same as the ones you pictured here. My power connector is the two pin connector with the black housing. Is your power connector 2 pin?
__________________
09 GSA
11 F800gs
PatSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 08:24 PM   #5
PatSmith
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento
Oddometer: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatSmith View Post
I'm technology challenged and have never tried to post pictures here.
I just looked at my two connectors and they look the same as the ones you pictured here. My power connector is the two pin connector with the black housing. Is your power connector 2 pin?
I looked again to see if the other connector is 3 pin and it is a 3 pin connector. Odd that when connecting to the bmw, I used the 2 pin connector but for the KTM i need the 3 pin.
__________________
09 GSA
11 F800gs
PatSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 08:27 PM   #6
PatSmith
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento
Oddometer: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatSmith View Post
I looked again to see if the other connector is 3 pin and it is a 3 pin connector. Odd that when connecting to the bmw, I used the 2 pin connector but for the KTM i need the 3 pin.

Ok, wiring is always a challenge to me, but i think i figured it out with this information.

"Three wires come into the back of this connector, arranged in a triangular pattern (i.e,. the outer two wires come into the connector at the same level, while the middle one is slightly higher). The wires are all the same color but if youíre looking at the back of the connector, with the top of the ďtriangleĒ pointed up, the outer cable on the right is ground, the outer cable on the left is power and the middle cable is unused. "
__________________
09 GSA
11 F800gs
PatSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 10:53 AM   #7
PatSmith
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento
Oddometer: 394
Wiring Harness

Thanks for the part number for the harness. I ordered it today from A&S.
__________________
09 GSA
11 F800gs
PatSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 11:27 AM   #8
Jensdccom
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Belgium, Europe
Oddometer: 57
I'm sorry but I'm not familiar with the "Spade connector blue eight gauge". What would it be in Europe? You have a lot of different measurements
Jensdccom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 08:33 PM   #9
fhammond OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Bay Area, U.S.
Oddometer: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jensdccom View Post
I'm sorry but I'm not familiar with the "Spade connector blue eight gauge". What would it be in Europe? You have a lot of different measurements
There's a link in my first post that shows what the spade connector looks like. Here it is again:



The picture shows the female connector. This is what the bike has - at least in the US. You need to purchase the male connector to plug in the GPS.
fhammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 10:54 PM   #10
dgardel
Orange contaminated
 
dgardel's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Venice, Italy
Oddometer: 55


(J2-1) Brown = ground
(J2-2) Blue/Green = Speed Pulse (only for BMW)
(J2-3) Red/White = 12V (suggest to ACC2 switched power cable)


J1 is the CANBUS connection for the "dialogue" from bike and navi (Navi display motorbike infos like ext. Temp., error messages.....) on K 1600 GT / GTL


see here


__________________
Daniele (Italy)

KTM 1190 Adventure S Gray

dgardel screwed with this post 01-18-2014 at 11:18 PM
dgardel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 01:55 AM   #11
Jensdccom
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Belgium, Europe
Oddometer: 57
My dealer attached the heated grips to ACC2 as they need to be switched. Otherwise they would kill my battery. I would like to attach my GPS also to a switched pair. What would you guys do? Cut into the wires in the front of the bike (use the same acc2 as the heated grips) or use the ACC2 under the seat?

Ty!
Jensdccom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 06:15 AM   #12
dgardel
Orange contaminated
 
dgardel's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Venice, Italy
Oddometer: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jensdccom View Post
My dealer attached the heated grips to ACC2 as they need to be switched. Otherwise they would kill my battery. I would like to attach my GPS also to a switched pair. What would you guys do? Cut into the wires in the front of the bike (use the same acc2 as the heated grips) or use the ACC2 under the seat?

Ty!
heated grips have the X28 dedicated connectors, not the "generic" ACC2 (also for the temp regolation)

__________________
Daniele (Italy)

KTM 1190 Adventure S Gray

dgardel screwed with this post 01-20-2014 at 06:23 AM
dgardel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014