ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2014, 03:11 AM   #61
Pete640
I hate sand.......
 
Pete640's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Sanding something in the shed...
Oddometer: 1,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sumi View Post
Would it be possible to fit a 990 pump in a 950 tank (by cutting the tank?)
I'd say no.

No recess for the seal and no real way of fastening it either?
__________________
Pete
For those who sit at home and dream-let them...Meoni
Pete640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 07:11 AM   #62
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell View Post
Mousitsas, I think you're best to buy everything at once from a single bike, as opposed to trying to piece a system together. I think an SM990 or SD990 is the best starting point. I started with a 2010 SDR...
Interesting thread. Does this mean you're using the SM/SD dash/instruments also? Or is the wiring harness connector backward compatible to the original bikes dash? I'm guessing it's not.
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 07:16 AM   #63
PowerCell
SE990R
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybrit View Post
Interesting thread. Does this mean you're using the SM/SD dash/instruments also? Or is the wiring harness connector backward compatible to the original bikes dash? I'm guessing it's not.


It's a dirt bike so I don't use any of the stock stuff. I have a Trailtech Voyager for all my dash/nav needs


.
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 07:49 AM   #64
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell View Post
It's a dirt bike so I don't use any of the stock stuff. I have a Trailtech Voyager for all my dash/nav needs

.
I was thinking more if someone did similar to an Adventure (using the SD/SM harness). I'm guessing Ken(Head2Wind)'s 990 harness was an 07 on his SD/ADV build as the 07 990 speedo/tach is common to the 950.
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 08:09 AM   #65
PowerCell
SE990R
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybrit View Post
I was thinking more if someone did similar to an Adventure (using the SD/SM harness). I'm guessing Ken(Head2Wind)'s 990 harness was an 07 on his SD/ADV build as the 07 990 speedo/tach is common to the 950.

I see where you're going, and that's an interesting question. Can you plug an Adventure cluster into an SM/SD harness. Maybe someone here with both will be able to check it out and pipe in with the results.


.
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 08:38 AM   #66
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell View Post
I see where you're going, and that's an interesting question. Can you plug an Adventure cluster into an SM/SD harness. Maybe someone here with both will be able to check it out and pipe in with the results.
There are of course two different Adv clusters also. Changed in 2009, same year as the larger intakes (adv wiring harness changed also). Sounds like lots of permutations
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 09:21 AM   #67
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by DELTATANGO View Post
How much is a 950 harness from KTM?
Not entirely sure how the above relates to the thread but I have a spare 950 adv wiring harness and cdi/ecu/black box ..... in case anyone is looking. Obviously carbed bikes not FI.

crazybrit screwed with this post 01-18-2014 at 06:06 PM
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 09:33 AM   #68
LocuL
Gnarly Infantry
 
LocuL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Denmark - Jutland
Oddometer: 1,167
External Fuelpump Mr Powercell. Please tell. I would like to know the option.
__________________
KTM 950(1190) Adv-s, Soon to be Project 1190
KTM 530 EXC-R 08
LocuL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 10:33 AM   #69
Dan950ser OP
NW Shredder
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Oddometer: 410
I'm going to run the walbro pump details to come on the exact setup. It will be filtered before and after the pump. I am also hoping to run the 2010 ADV dash with the SD harness but don't know if it will work for sure as the harness is in route now. Ken(Head2Wind) seems to think it should work fine. Engine, dash, and the rest of the little bits showed up yesterday. I work all weekend but will post pics ASAP. If anyone wants to convert there bike to carbs let me know.
__________________
2007 KTM 990 SuperDuperEnduroR

2014 KTM 250 XC-W

Dan950ser screwed with this post 01-18-2014 at 11:10 AM
Dan950ser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 04:08 PM   #70
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by mousitsas View Post
The filters before the pump are teabag style and they are prone to collapse reducing the flow within the pump leading to overheating and destroying it.
A spring can be inserted inside the drainage suction filter to work as a spacer, keeping the two flat sides apart, while allowing fuel to flow freely. So collapse can be avoided.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 05:55 PM   #71
crankshaft
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 13,974
I have an SE CDI box and a complete carb set up from a 950 SE if anyone is looking. The carbs have been jetted for the CPR system using Ken's jetting magic.

I can take a picture of the SMR harness plug for the cluster if anyone needs to see what it looks like.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 06:02 PM   #72
Two Moto Kiwis
Homeless Somewhere
 
Two Moto Kiwis's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Wanaka, New Zealand, Currently RTWing
Oddometer: 3,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
I have an SE CDI box and a complete carb set up from a 950 SE if anyone is looking. The carbs have been jetted for the CPR system using Ken's jetting magic.
I have been wondering about the CDI box on ours as when we pull the brown wire it really stuffs the bike up, wonder if we have an issue with ours?
__________________
Andi (oveja negra) & Ellen (chica amarilla)...Two Moto Kiwi Grüvers .....riding Maya somewhere ..Una Chimba
Two Moto Kiwis Home Page ..Danger Is Real ... Fear Is Optional
For More Of Two Moto Kiwis Photos
....Where The Hell Are We .. Spot Us
Two Moto Kiwis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 09:44 PM   #73
Pete640
I hate sand.......
 
Pete640's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Sanding something in the shed...
Oddometer: 1,585
Ive had a good look at the SM's wiring layout and all of the under seat wiring (fuse/cdi/battery/etc) will fit into the storage area on the 950s (Adv) without too many problems. Infact its a better setup leaving room for a better arrangement of nav gear.
Now its just to confirm an external fuel pump or buy a 990 lh tank.???
__________________
Pete
For those who sit at home and dream-let them...Meoni
Pete640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 11:01 PM   #74
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete640 View Post
Ive had a good look at the SM's wiring layout and all of the under seat wiring (fuse/cdi/battery/etc) will fit into the storage area on the 950s (Adv) without too many problems. Infact its a better setup leaving room for a better arrangement of nav gear.
Now its just to confirm an external fuel pump or buy a 990 lh tank.???
A external pump ultimately IMO would be a better setup, however you will need to make sure that you are delivering the correct pressure (51PSI aka 3.5BAR). A 990 tank and pump will get you up and running. I ended up going with a set of 990 tanks and a SD pump because it just cost less through bartering and trading. I also wanted to have a 990 tank/pump setup for development.
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 11:20 PM   #75
Pete640
I hate sand.......
 
Pete640's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Sanding something in the shed...
Oddometer: 1,585
KTM610 07 088 200B4 PUMP WITHOUT RESERVE INDICATOR09SM
KTM610 07 088 100B4 PUMP WITHOUT RESERVE INDICATOR09ADV


Does anyone know if there is any physical difference between the 2 different part #s for the above fuel pumps. As I already have a fuel pump in the SM it would be a bonus if I didnt have to purchase another.
Having said that Id still prefer an external setup. Finding a compact 51psi (3.5 bar) pump is easier said than done tho..... If you have a car and plenty of room your set tho...
__________________
Pete
For those who sit at home and dream-let them...Meoni
Pete640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014