ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 09:27 PM   #1
Smitty53 OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 11
Adjusting the throttle cable

Can anyone post/send me the procedure for adjusting the throttle cable on FI models? I would certainly appreciate it. I've read that others have successfully winged it, but I'd like give it a go with TuneECU.

My shop manual (2003-2011) referred me to a procedure in chapter 2 and then very nicely neglected to include it.
__________________
"Have been unavoidably detained by the world.
Expect us when you see us."
Neil Gaiman
Smitty53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:37 PM   #2
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 743
Are you speaking of the round pull / release cable adjusters or something different?

throttle "play" can be adjusted really easy with your fingers on these right up by the grips.
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:42 PM   #3
Vicks
I love sand !!!
 
Vicks's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE
Oddometer: 2,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty53 View Post
Can anyone post/send me the procedure for adjusting the throttle cable on FI models? I would certainly appreciate it. I've read that others have successfully winged it, but I'd like give it a go with TuneECU.

My shop manual (2003-2011) referred me to a procedure in chapter 2 and then very nicely neglected to include it.
been discussed many times on the forum. A google search will be of help ....

here
__________________
'07 KTM Adv990S - Gone to a good home
'10 KTM 530Exc-Rally, some items for sale
No myriad hues of laser lights, no bottles that are oozing with nectars from heaven
No beautiful body soft and warm to the touch but, i have a very small desire
Give me a dark... long... winding road, three gears to go and my Hellas on fire !!
Vicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 04:37 PM   #4
Smitty53 OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 11
Found it, thanks Vicks. I'd already read most of those Google results and was hoping for something more detailed, but the actual version isn't much better. Apparently KTM took it out of later editions of the shop manual.

For future reference, the 2010 and later owner's manuals list the procedure.

Chrish4ku, those are the adjusters I was talking about. KTM wants you to use their diagnostics tool—or TuneECU, though I don't imagine they want that—to set the throttle stepper motor to the basic (fully closed) position. After that, adjust the play in the cable. Some people have no issues when adjusting without the computer, but it seems others get stalling issues or other oddities. YMMV, I guess.
__________________
"Have been unavoidably detained by the world.
Expect us when you see us."
Neil Gaiman
Smitty53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:30 PM   #5
Torquemada
Adventurer
 
Torquemada's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: TX
Oddometer: 26
A little tricky but it works http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=567423
Torquemada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:35 PM   #6
KTM Pilot
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTM Pilot's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Oddometer: 433
I have problems as well

Adjusted the throtle cables (before reading this), bike then had a hesitation at about the 4K rpm mark - but was rideable.

Read the above (and links) and hooked up Tune ECU to the bike -
Selected 'adjust throttle cables' it then instructs you to turn the ignition off (I did at the key).

I adjusted throtle cable (pull only).

In the interim Tune ECU reported that the connection had been lost.
I restored the connection.

What should I do now?? Tune ECU does not seem to recognise that I'm back from throtle cable adjustment for it to finish what ever it needs to do.
The bike runs worse than ever - it now stalls from idle...
__________________
Smugmug $5 discount coupon # 2ucrtCWwf7D7A
KTM Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 08:30 PM   #7
Smitty53 OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM Pilot View Post
Adjusted the throtle cables (before reading this), bike then had a hesitation at about the 4K rpm mark - but was rideable.

Read the above (and links) and hooked up Tune ECU to the bike -
Selected 'adjust throttle cables' it then instructs you to turn the ignition off (I did at the key).

I adjusted throtle cable (pull only).

In the interim Tune ECU reported that the connection had been lost.
I restored the connection.

What should I do now?? Tune ECU does not seem to recognise that I'm back from throtle cable adjustment for it to finish what ever it needs to do.
The bike runs worse than ever - it now stalls from idle...
KTM Pilot, were you able to get your throttle cables sorted? My apologies for the incredibly late follow up.
__________________
"Have been unavoidably detained by the world.
Expect us when you see us."
Neil Gaiman
Smitty53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014